We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bluegreen Parkside Williamsburg, Ascend Resort Collection
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2009

We just got back from a 2 night stay at Parkside and it was a really nice experience. The room was clean and spacious. The kitchen was stocked with an possible items you may need. We were using the sofa bed so we called down to request an additional blanket and pillow cases. They were bought up right away. The bathrooms were clean and a nice size, with big tubs. The lady in the office was friendly and helpful, even suggesting a nice mexican place to eat when we asked for a good suggestion.
The only 2 negatives were that 1. The pool wasn't done. Not a big deal for us since we spent the days at Busch Gardens, but may be a big deal this summer for guests who want one. 2. Kind of remote. Nothing is in walking distance so you have to drive to eat or get anything you may have forgotten. Also not a big deal, but it is nice to be able to walk to dinner and have a few drinks, without haveing to worry about a designated driver for the evening. Neither of those are too big of a deal and wouldn't keep me from returning.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reddleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Bluegreen Parkside Williamsburg, Ascend Resort Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 127 of 127 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2009

We took a chance with the Parkside Resort, even though there were very few reviews and very few pictures. It was well worth the gamble! First, the location is perfect for Busch Gardens visits --- it's a 5 minute drive to the park and you can view rides from your room.

On the possible downsides, the property is new and still unfinished. The pool area looks like it will be nice, but it's not done yet. That was not a big deal for us as it was very chilly in early April.

The check-in is a bit unusual --- in a lower apartment --- but it was fast, efficient and friendly. We rented a 2 bedroom/2bathroom condo --- it was beautiful! Clean, new, and very well furnished --- beds were very comfortable and everything needed was included (except laundry detergent). With two teenagers in tow, we had more than enough space --- three TV's with DVD players, free wifi, and two huge garden tubs. There's also a great porch/deck which overlooks Busch Gardens and is complete with table & chairs. We were on the third floor, but there's an elevator and luggage carts which made arriving and leaving easy.

The hotel is more of a timeshare or condo than hotel and there's not daily maid service --- but they do pick your trash up at your room and with a washer/dryer and dishwasher, I didn't feel the need to have a maid. They also provide extra linens, pillows, blankets and towels. Another post on the hotel mentioned the lack of soap, etc. They do not provide shampoo and conditioner --- but there were several mini soap bars and shower gels, and dishwashing detergent and dishwasher tabs were provided.

Overall, we absolutely LOVED the Parkside and will definitely stay there again. Another word of caution though --- if you're not used to trains, it is right across from a very busy set of tracks and they run all night. For the price though (around $160 a night), you cannot beat such a beautiful, clean and new property that is so close to historic Williamsburg and Busch Gardens!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bassigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2009

This a brand new timeshare resort about equal distance from Williamsburg, Yorktown, and Jamestown. It's very close to Busch gardens. The resort backs up to the Williamsburg Country Club golf course. We had a 2 bedroom and it was beautiful and spacious. The property is about 100 yards off a highway and about 200 yards away from railroad tracks. When the train goes by at night, it's quite noisy, especially from the front bedroom facing the highway. Also, the front bedroom gets flooded with light at night from all the halogen lights on the highway side of the building. I had to put a blanket up on the windows to darken it. Very nice kitchen, spacious living room, and flat panel TV on the wall, but no HD TV. The pool area was under construction and not quite complete, but it will be quite nice and large. I would stay at this property again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jbasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

There was no sign to mark the hotel so when we arrived at 8 pm we drove right past it. The lady who checked us in was nice. Also, the only amenity that is open is the pool (which is actually closed for the season.) The bar and restaurant and mini golf are not open. When I called to ask about the resort no one mentioned that only one building was open and the listed amenities were not available. We were told the front desk closed at 11pm but if we had any emergencies to call the number by the phone in the room. The second night we were there the electricity went out around 530am and we were unable to reach anyone at the maintenance number provided so we had to just sit and wait. When we got a hold of the general manager he sent up an employee to talk to us who told me she would make accommodations for us to finish drying our laundry (it was still wet in the dryer), but she never came back. She was rude when dealing with me and I remained calm while talking to her. When we checked out we mentioned that we tried to call the maintenance number and that we were unable to reach anyone (it didn’t even go to a recording) and the same girl from the morning told me that I was incorrect and you couldn’t reach anyone. She was rude again.

I feel the room was over priced since there were no amenities. I also felt the employees were rude. Over all waking up in the middle of the night in a hotel with no power is also a bad experience.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missjackywhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: "Die Ecksuiten sind geräumig und sonnig". Es gibt in jeder Wohnung Waschmaschine und Trock...
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GeorgeHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg
3.3 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations Patrick Henry Sqr, Ascend Resort Collection
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area
8.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluegreen Parkside Williamsburg, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluegreen Parkside Williamsburg, Ascend Resort Collection

Address: 1827 Merrimac Trl, Williamsburg, VA 23185-5905 (Formerly Parkside Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range: $123 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluegreen Parkside Williamsburg, Ascend Resort Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Bluegreen Parkside Williamsburg, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing