We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved War Hill”
Review of War Hill Inn

War Hill Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
War Hill Inn
Ranked #11 of 22 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 10, 2008

This place is Great, It's very quiet, on a working farm. We just came back from staying in the Jefferson Cottage, When we arrived, we were greeted and shown brochures of area, and given key to the house and cottage. The Cottage is Beautiful and very private, nice tub, stand up shower and beautiful bed. We were brought breakfast to the cabin-which was great both days, Fresh juice and milk in the mini fridge, also a coffee pot and a microwave in the room. Front porch has two rocking chairs which we enjoyed and were greeted by 2 beautiful dogs. We really enjoyed this place and will stay again the next time we are in Williamsburg. Thanks for a great time!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kristim1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 69 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2007

What a wonderful find! My wife discovered War Hill Inn by searching online and we were able to do our research using their website - [-]. It looked beautiful on the website but the pictures don't do it justice. The Inn is nestled in a tranquil setting with gorgeous oak trees framing a field populated by Angus cattle (enough to enjoy but not so many that smell is a problem). My wife and I spent several romantic starlit nights on a swing underneath the largest of the trees while the kids slept peacefully in their beds. Who knew there were so many stars? We booked the Wilson Suite which has a master suite and a second bedroom separated by a dressing room/bathroom combination - a great setup for our family of four. The kids loved being able to wake up and roam the property searching for critters and we all enjoyed the Lee's bountiful breakfasts and warm hospitality. We had easy access to historic Williamsburg and Jamestown Island. We've stayed in B&Bs from Louisiana to France and this one is a real gem! Do yourself a favor and check out War Hill Inn - I know we're glad we did.

Stayed: April 2007
2  Thank 4lags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

What a nice place to stay. The rooms were lovely. Breakfast is served at 8:30am at a large dining room table - family style. We enjoyed the company of the other visitors. If we ever return to the area, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2007

Very scenic and quiet suroundings, house plesant and clean. Lee family friendly and welcoming. Bedrooms were clean with minimal equipment. Breakfasts were probably typical local cuisine, but creame cheese, french toast sandwiches with hazelnut flavoured coffee is not to european taste first thing in the morning, so a choice would have been prefered.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Haiseyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2007

A bit disappointed with the property, it was not as nice as we expected from the web site.

But the people were friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank arisaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2007

We chose to stay at War Hill Inn because from their website, it appeared to be a peaceful retreat not far outside of Williamsburg, with lots of room to relax and roam. And it was everything we expected.

It's location was central enough for us to easily drive to visit all the attractions in the "Historic Triangle". We stayed in the Tyler Room for 6 nights, and it was private, clean and comfortable. When we awoke in the morning, we'd look out our windows to see Angus steers grazing in the meadow. When we returned from sightseeing in the early evening, we'd relax on the tree swing or walk around the grounds and down to the barn.

One thing to be aware of is that breakfast is served at 8:30 am each morning, which for us was a bit later than we would have preferred because it reduced the amount of time we could spend at the historic sites that all seem to close at 5 p.m. But never the less, we thoroughly enjoyed conversing with the other guests around the large dining room table each morning, and it became one of the highlights of our day.

If we ever return to the Williamsburg area, we will definitely stay at War Hill Inn again!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PineZanOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2007

We stayed in the Washington Cottage for one night on a business/personal trip to Williamsburg. We loved the cottage. You are on a working farm, and the owner will let you in the barn to look at the cows. The breakfast was wonderful - eggs, biscuits, sausage, yum. You are a little outside of the Historic Area and the Route 60 shuffle, (2-3 miles), and that is good. War Hill is quiet, peaceful and relaxing. Highly recommended. The staff is friendly, called to confirm our arrival and everything was ready when we arrived. If there in the summer, there are pecan trees, other fruit trees and even grape vines as you drive up. One note - when you are on Longhill Road, look carefully for the sign or you will drive past the entrance.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ralff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.7 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
4.2 mi away
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
4.2 mi away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 22 in Williamsburg
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast
3.8 mi away
The Williamsburg Manor Bed and Breakfast
4.2 mi away
Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to War Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about War Hill Inn

Address: 4560 Longhill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23188-1533
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range: $90 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing