We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Historic Colonial Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed at the Williamsburg Lodge a few weeks ago. Hotel was a short ride from Newport News airport which had adequate connections through Charlotte or Philadelphia. Service was friendly and helpful. Room was small but comfortable and clean. Free internet access was appreciated. Cable TV had lots of channels. Fitness center has excellent equipment. Conference facilities were comfortable and meals were very good. Walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg sights including battle on the main green. Lots of nice shops. Helpful to have a free shuttle bus to get back to the hotel when it started raining. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,603 - 1,609 of 2,159 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Service was helpful and friendly on our day stop on the way to the Outer Banks. Reasonable price with a great close to historic attaction location. The kids loved the historic themed scavenger hunt. Very worth the small additional fee.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mstalebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

came with a convention and normally have exceptional rooms. This one had mold in bath room growing in grout. The carpets looked like they had never been cleaned. Beds were nice. Biggest problem was fire alarms going off 3 mornings in a row and having to be rushed out into the heat and humidity by the fire department. Of course they sent lovely letters telling us they were sorry for the inconvenience and that they had fixed the problem.....not true as we found out at 7:30 on the third day. At the front entrance they sometimes have gentlemen to open the doors, help with luggage. I do realize they were rather hot in those stuffy uniforms but they served NO USEFUL purpose when they were stationed on the inside of the building trying to get cool. The hotel is located close to the historic area so if that is the most important thing about your stay then feel comfortable paying the big bucks to be at this facility. They had shuttle buses but would not take you to the nearby airport in Newport News. Could have been much better. The food was excellent but at those prices it should have been. Will stay elsewhere next time. Don't let the pictures fool you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is located right down the block from Colonial Williamsburg. It was about a 5 minute walk to the town- it was very convenient. The front desk was very friendly at check in.

The room was a little old, but I think they were trying to achieve that colonial look. We were in the tazewell hall. I hear that is the older part, so if you can get a room in the new updated part, I would suggest that.

The fire alarm went off Sunday and Monday morning- that was a HUGE inconvenience.

We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel or use the pool, but it did look really nice. There was a but stop right outside the door and there was also a bellhop that will drive you to local places inside the colonial parkway.

The hotel was also great when we called for a last minute reservation because we were switching from another hotel and they were able to get us in right away and book a room.

Would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank robinsj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is located directly across the street from the main part of Colonial Williamsburg. It is easy walking distance to the village, the museums and the marketplace. Guests at the hotel can purchase discount tickets to Colonial Williamsburg. Well worth it!

The hotel is laid out in a "campus" type format with multiple buildings connected with walkways. The pool is across the street.

The rooms are nice, although we felt that the furniture arrangement left a lot to be desired. We had a wooden rocking chair in our room that was pointless and just in the way. The desk chair was a "director's style" chair and not comfortable. There was a couch and side chair on the far end of the room. The tv was in an armoire that faced the bed. You could only view the TV from the sidechair or from one end of the couch, and even then the screen was blocked. And you can't see the TV at all when sitting at the desk. The really only good place to watch tv was from the bed.

They had a breakfast buffet that was a bit pricey if you got the full buffet. We went with the Continental Buffet each day for $10 and it was perfect. It included coffee AND juice, cereal, yogurt, fruit and pastries.

We didn't eat dinner at the hotel restaurant, but it looked like you needed reservations or plan to wait.

There is a nice gift shop where you can get a lot of items that are available at the Villages' gift shops.

There is also a spa that we didn't take advantage of.

I would definitely stay there again for the convenience of the location alone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justmaryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent two nights here and were very happy with the service and the location. They were paving the street in front of the hotel but we were notified well in advance and given directions on how to access the hotel parking structure. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious with wonderful amenities. The WiFi worked well and we slept comfortably in our large bed. I wish there was more room for luggage, an extra holder would have been helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms would probably be fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbgoodkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Williamsburg Lodge is huge. Rooms are fine, nothing special. Location is central to historic village. Eateries in nearby Merchant Village are expensive, noisey and crowded. We ate in a place called Trellis and the service was awful. The wait staff looked like they were on a death march. The food in the Lodge's dining room was most excellent for dinner and the prices reasonable. Inspired menu, exceptional service and good wine list. Very enjoyable for breakfast also. The bar is spacious and comfortable with live music on many evenings.

Room Tip: Ask how far your room is from the main building. Some are a hike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MLOnTheRoadAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection

Address: 310 South England Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $165 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection is a relaxing escape in Colonial Williamsburg. We are a preferred choice of accommodations for travelers looking for luxury hotels in Williamsburg, Virginia. On our property, which sits in the heart of the Historic Area, you will find inviting spaces including a world-class restaurant and you can enjoy convenient access to spa and golf recreation amenities. We sit in the middle of all the action in Williamsburg, and we offer admission ticket discounts and special daily events as part of the exclusive benefits you'll enjoy as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing