We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location and the pillows are perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Our room in Nicholas Hall was spacious, with perfect pillows in the comfy beds. Huge bathroom. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. It is a great value considering the free parking, free wireless, Keurig coffeemaker, refrigerator, and the discount tickets to Colonial Williamsburg. They were only $31 for our whole stay, much cheaper than buying online. Perfect location for visiting Willisburg...shuttle stop is right outside.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,627 - 1,633 of 2,159 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here last weekend, and while we are from the local area, you never get tired of such a special area. Stayed at the Williamsburg Lodge, and got a corner room in the Tyler building which is a newer building. Note, ask for an outside view, or you will be staring at your neighbors in the building across the small grassed alley. Anyway, the room was nice, but I felt that 285 a night was steep, but I guess you are paying for history too. Maybe since we are locals the price seemed steep because we have seen it all before. If it was your first time, you probably would think it was worth it, to be fair.

There was no makeup mirror in the room, which my wife was needing when she got dressed. The biggest issue we had was the pillows. Incredibly hard, and fat. Your head stuck up a good 4-6 inches above your body, it seemed. I couldn't take it and got up in the middle of the night and grabbed a handful of clothes from my suitcase for a makeshift pillow. When I woke up the next morning, my wife was sleeping on a pile of towels. When you pay that much for a room you shouldn't have to wake up with your face in a pile of your clean underwear with nothing but a stiff neck to show for it! I do not know if they offer a different kind of pillow, but if it matters to you, you should ask.

Pool, and fitness facilities are excellent. Indoor, and outdoor heated pools, and jacuzzi. Staff nice and friendly. My wife had breakfast at Traditions (buffet) and got rubbery eggs with yolks broken by the on site cook. She thought it was overpriced and not great.

We ate dinner at Shields Tavern. Fun, historical, and food ok. You get a lot of atmosphere, and an average meal.

Nice place, but do have some pillow talk with the front desk on checkin, or bring your own!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beach2mountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed in one of the Historical houses just outside the Williamsburg Inn. The "Tavern" we stayed in accommodated Thomas Jefferson when he attended Law School at William and Mary Collage.
If your into history, and either want to immerse yourself and or your children, this is the place to go.
We ate breakfast each of the 6 days we were there. The service, food and amenities are 5 stars. We tried each of the specialty items on the menu as well as the buffet. The food was hot, delicious and the coffee was always hot and ready.
We also attended the "Royal Tea" while we were there. The only recommendation I have toward the Chef there is that when your paying $35.00 for Tea; a tea bag is just NOT Acceptable! Otherwise, we enjoyed this experience.
All in all, we will return again because there is still so much to see and do.

Room Tip: In the event your booking a room at one of the Historical Inn's/Cabins, make sure you mention th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Every year in December, my husband takes me to Williamsburg. For many years it was the Williamsburg Inn until we had a couple unfortunate years. We decided to go back to the Lodge (we were there one year in the fall with my parents). We unfortunately got the rooms that look like dorms. Adequate but not the charm of the room we had the first time. If we had that room, the score would be higher! We always did like the Lodge seafood feast and that has never disappointed us. The lounge is great for an evening snack and glass of wine. Very relaxing and comfortable. We had a holiday package. I guess that's how they could afford the package!

Room Tip: Check but I think the rooms in the main building are the decorated and nicer rooms with a walk-out p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed there overnight, didn't eat there. The rooms were good, nothing special, but nothing to complain about. Location is great. If you're a golfer, it's across the street from Golden Horseshoe Gold Course, which is an awesome course.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JS22314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Well informed, helpful and cheerful staff. The carpet and furnishings were old and dated. The restaurant was big and breakfast was better than average. Easy walking to historic sites. We ordered wine from room service and it arrived in 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was our second time at this hotel and we will not be back. We stayed in the least charming part of the hotel, Tazewell Hall, which is the same rate as the much nicer main building. Our room service breakfast was one hour late. Room service dinner and the buffet dinner in the restaurant were both very poor quality. The only good thing about our visit is that the rooms were quiet so sleeping was not a problem. Would not recommend this hotel. It is not worth the room rate.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Tazewell annex. It is the least charming of all the buildings and not worth the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection

Address: 310 South England Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $165 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection is a relaxing escape in Colonial Williamsburg. We are a preferred choice of accommodations for travelers looking for luxury hotels in Williamsburg, Virginia. On our property, which sits in the heart of the Historic Area, you will find inviting spaces including a world-class restaurant and you can enjoy convenient access to spa and golf recreation amenities. We sit in the middle of all the action in Williamsburg, and we offer admission ticket discounts and special daily events as part of the exclusive benefits you'll enjoy as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing