We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Stay if you must but do not plan to eat here” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
Ranked #6 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay if you must but do not plan to eat here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was our second time at this hotel and we will not be back. We stayed in the least charming part of the hotel, Tazewell Hall, which is the same rate as the much nicer main building. Our room service breakfast was one hour late. Room service dinner and the buffet dinner in the restaurant were both very poor quality. The only good thing about our visit is that the rooms were quiet so sleeping was not a problem. Would not recommend this hotel. It is not worth the room rate.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Tazewell annex. It is the least charming of all the buildings and not worth the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    489
    191
    63
    31
See reviews for
635
603
48
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Clean, close and cool. We just came down for the weekend and are pretty tough customers to please. Hotel staff was super friendly and the place was very clean. Just steps from all Williamsburg has to offer. Park the car and forget it. Short drive to other locals, Yorktown and Jamestown. Great trip we are already planning our return. Pricey but worth it in my book.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 5 stayed one night at the Lodge in April. The best part was the room size! The room was spacious even when the pull-out sofa was pulled out. We enjoyed a comfortable night sleep. We had a yummy dinner in the lounge area in the evening, and had a good breakfast buffet in the morning. We had to go outside and across a courtyard to get to the restaurants, which was easy to do although not preferable.
If you are trying to figure out where to stay in Williamsburg, this is a good option but it is not the best. We spent the next 3 nights staying in one of the colonial houses; the Brick Shop House. I will review that separately, but I must say that if you can spare the expense; it was an amazing experience for our family. Regardless of which Williamsburg property you choose, I recommend staying close to all the action. In some towns it pays to stay a little further away from the action to save $ for lodging, but in the case of Williamsburg I would not recommend anything off property. The convenience, the discount on tickets, and the immersion into the time period make it worth the extra money you pay for a room ( in the end there is probably little difference in cost with comparable hotels).
In summary, stay in a Colonial Williamsburg property, the Lodge is a strong choice, but it is not the best choice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liltrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I travel to Colonial Williamsburg several times a year. Each season is the perfect time to visit. Springtime with flowers and lambs. Summer with fireworks, concerts etc. Fall with the changing leaves and Thanksgiving, and finally the holiday and winter season. I love Williamsburg at holiday time. The decorations are so beautiful, fires in cresetts and the fireplace at the Lodge lounge. And a snowfall in Williamsburg is magical. Celebrating the New Year in Williamsburg is wonderful because everything is open and you don't have to get in your car to partake in all the festivities. There are so many wonderful restaurants in the restored area and again you never need to drive anywhere else. If you are a shopper there are wonderful shops. All in all Williamsburg is one of my all time favorite places to visit and I love sharing it with family and friends. The Lodge has wonderful accomodations and a drink on the terrace behind the Williamsburg Inn is a great place to relax. Go and enjoy your visit anytime of the year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here for a work convention. This is a large facility. Love the historic period decor. Very polite and helpful staff. Would recommend it for any large event (conference, wedding, receptions, etc). Just a block from the colonial Williamsburg area with tours, shopping, and restaurants. Shuttles come by all day.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Apello

Helpful?
Thank Beverly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We recently stayed at the Williamsburg Lodge when visiting the College of William & Mary. We were welcomed warmly by the staff and found the accommodations to be quite comfortable. You can't beat the location. It was great to be only steps away from the College and other historic sites. We loved the convenience which allowed us to pack a lot into a short weekend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoMauka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We really enjoyed the location and hospitality at the lodge. The food was delicious and nicely presented and the staff was great. It was a wonderful experience overall. Experiencing the historical presentations only a short distance away was priceless!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Property: Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
Address: 310 South England Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern lodging located on-site in Colonial Williamsburg. Enjoy a relaxing hotel escape in the heart of the Revolutionary City. Just steps from the action, the inviting lodge boasts a world-class restaurant and convenient access to spa and golf recreation amenities. Admission ticket discounts and special daily events are just the beginning of the exclusive benefits you'll enjoy as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing