We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeds expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exceeds expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully redone. Very clean and pretty rooms decorated in the colonial period, of course. Large bathrooms in Custis guest house. Very happy with it Great health club. Nice pool for our kids. Restaurant is sadly lacklng. Small portions with the servers reaching over our plates to pour wine across the table. Food is only ok.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katica46855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    519
    210
    69
    31
See reviews for
684
662
55
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I travel a lot for business, so I'm always looking for a great experience away from the big chain hotels. The Williamsburg Lodge (which is part of the Colonial Williamsburg family of accommodations including the Inn) is smack dab in the middle of the Colonial Williamsburg village. It's only a short walk and you're right there. The lounge is very comfy with the big fireplace and rustic surroundings and the Traditions restaurant is awesome for a hotel eatery. Rooms are huge and well appointed. Just keep in mind that this is a sprawling complex. One of the outermost section is called Tazewell. This is where we stayed. Very nice, but a distinctive college dorm type of feeling in the way it's laid out. Not that I wouldn't recommend this part of the hotel, just something about it... The best thing about this hotel is that it's right across the street from the pool/spa/fitness ctr which is common to the other properties. You have to go check out the indoor/outdoor pool. Very nice indeed!

All in all, great place to relax and get some history at the same time.

Room Tip: Many different sections, know where you are going to be located. Tazewell has as distinctive colleg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BackinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

This property is just perfect-the setting, the location, the amenities. The decor is a great interpretation of the colonial times, though the comfort has not been compromised in any way. If you are traveling with kids, this is the place to stay-the proximity to the historic sites makes it a preferred location and worth the expense if you don't want whining toddlers sit and wait for the shuttle to your off site hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emtogliatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
386 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We visited Colonial Williamsburg in March 2013 and stayed for two nights at the Williamsburg Lodge. It was marvelous! This upscale hotel is spacious, clean, comfortable, and welcoming. Our room had two very comfortable queen beds with lots of pillows - very comfy. The room was furnished to resemble the colonial period, and was quite lovely - nice artwork, nice period-style furniture. The bathroom was stocked with samples from their spa - loved them! The spa is across the street and as well as a full service spa (which we didn't have time to use), also included a fully equipped fitness area, indoor & outdoor pools and an indoor hot tub. All very very nice - big fluffy towels, spacious change rooms with lockers & showers, fitness room stocked with plenty of equipment. The outdoor pool was just opened the second day we arrived - while it was still cool outside, we could use the outdoor pool comfortably to swim, but unfortunately too cool to lounge outdoors in the beautiful deck loungers. The lobby is beautiful, the staff very courteous and helpful in every manner. There was an very cozy bar/lounge that we didn't use, but looked very inviting. We had breakfast one morning in the restaurant, and ordered a-la-cart rather than from the buffet - delicious! Service was fast and friendly. I highly recommend The Williamsburg Lodge for a visit to Colonial Williamsburg. As well, the Lodge is virtually on-site (across the road) from Colonial Williamsburg, making touring of the colonial village super easy. Also very close is the 'regular' village of Williamsburg and the campus of The College of William & Mary. It's a very easy walk into the village to enjoy the shopping and restaurants. All in all, a wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: We enjoyed a ground floor room - no stairs to deal with, easy access to parking lot and village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VNKSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Colonial Williamsburg offers 3 types of hotels: Premium Hotels, Deluxe Hotels and Value Hotels. The Williamsburg Lodge is supposed to be in the Premium category but I do not find the room in the premium category at all. We stayed at the Tazewell wing, which I suspect maybe the older wing. The room itself is spacious and the decoration is ok but the room itself is certainly nowhere close to a premium hotel quality. The carpet is stained and the bathroom. However, the hotel staff are friendly and helpful and the free shuttle to the restored area is nice as well. The Sunday breakfast buffet has more food than regular weekday breakfast buffet. However, dinner service was slow and we have to wait for a long time for our food. I am not sure if I will come back to this hotel as the price doesn't really worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for the new wings and avoid the Tazewell wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaryNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at the Williamsburg Lodge in March with a family of 5. We had 2 adjoining rooms. The rooms were very spacious, which was appreciated with 3 kids and a weeks worth of luggage. The mattresses were of very good quality. I slept like I was at home. The rooms were nicely decorated and immaculate. I saw other guests but never heard even a peep. We did not dine at the Lodge but instead went to the taverns in the historic area which are a short walk away. We purchased our tickets in the lobby which was an easy, pleasant process and I believe discounted.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craftybikerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washngton dc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I have stayed at the Lodge five times a year on average. It has, each time, been a pleasure. The hotel is divided into what I see as four sections. The Main Lobby lodge, the new buildings to the right, the section in the middle, and the Tazewell Wing. I used to dislike the latter because you had to park in the garage. I will say, though, that these rooms are the largest, the elevators are quick, and they have the best outdoor space. The newest section has the best parking access, but they only have limited exterior space. Some rooms have wood floors, four poster beds and are quite colonial in décor. These are in the Main lodge...which I have not been assigned but once in over 10 years, and the middle area. There is in room Kuerig and also coffee/tea in the main lobby area . The breakfast buffet it always ample and tasty. I have read the Friday seafood buffet is very good, but have not yet enjoyed. The main comment I have from all my stays there- and there have been close to 20- is that it is a quiet and calm experience no matter where the room is. And the location is ideal...keep your car at the hotel, and walk the restored area...visit the ticketed venues (houses, etc. ) shop, eat at a Tavern or a restaurant in Merchant's Square, and stroll home. Don't valet, because you don't need to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galmighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.7 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection

Property: Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection
Address: 310 S England St, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern lodging located on-site in Colonial Williamsburg. Enjoy a relaxing hotel escape in the heart of the Revolutionary City. Just steps from the action, the inviting lodge boasts a world-class restaurant and convenient access to spa and golf recreation amenities. Admission ticket discounts and special daily events are just the beginning of the exclusive benefits you'll enjoy as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Jetsetter so you can book your Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing