We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Worth the Money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
Ranked #6 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Worth the Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I spent last weekend at the Lodge as a Valentine's Day getaway. We found the Lodge to be a great place to spend the night in Williamsburg. We were able to park the car once, for free, and then walk everywhere we wanted to go throughout the historic area. They offer valet parking if you prefer, but you are not required to use it.

The room we got had a nice sitting area with a couple of wingback chairs and a sleeper sofa, so no sitting on the bed to read or watch television. The amenities were high end and the bed was extremely comfortable.

Cannot tell you about the restaurant as we ate at the Kings Arms Tavern, which was a lot of fun.

The Lodge is centrally located and we found the staff helpful and unobtrusive. The room was quiet and well maintained.

We would recommend it and would certainly stay there again when next we are in town. Be sure to ask about the AAA discount, they don't advertise it, but they do offer one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    493
    191
    63
    30
See reviews for
637
612
49
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
176 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Beautful hotel and excellent location. The rooms are very nice and the King Size bed suitemade for a great night's quiiet sleep. The hotel is smack dab in the middle of colonial Wburg. Walk to everything from here. Restaraunt is good although a little pricey, but what hotel food isn't. Nice bar with a very nice fireplace. Shannon the bartender is beyond friendly. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lunarluau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Williamsburg Lodge offers comfortable rooms, a cozy lounge with fireplace, and access to the spa and fitness facilities of the Williamsburg Inn. The restaurant has a wonderful Friday night seafood buffet that should not be missed, including everything from sushi, salad, and soup to hot and cold seafood, carved meats, and delicious desserts. It is convenient to stay right next to the historic area so that you can go back to your room during a busy day in Colonial Williamsburg. Any purchases at historic area shops or Colonial Williamsburg stores in Merchant's Square are delivered to your room free of charge. Guests can purchase admission tickets for the historic area right in the lodge, one price for your entire stay. There is a great discount for AAA members and very good rates during the off season. Summers are hot and humid; try to visit in fall, winter, or spring.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Fabulous location, highly service oriented staff. Public areas and rooms are lovely. However:

Walls between rooms (in Nichols/Tyler sections) are paper thin. Every word of conversation is audible. sleep with the HVAC system fan set to "on" for a bit of white noise. (If your neighbors are loud, this may not help all that much.). The room temperature is extremely difficult to regulate- either way too hot or way too cold, so just decide which you prefer to be, or keep playing with the thermostat.

If you can dismiss these issues, you'll have a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Stay away from Nicholas/Tyler due to noise issues. Cannot say if the same is true for other wings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Williamsburg Lodge is a very short stroll to Colonial Williamsburg and a short drive to Jamestowne and Yorktown. We met friends for an anniversary celebration and were delighted with the friendly, professional and efficient staff, the rooms were decorated in colonial style and beds super comfortable. We had a health issue while there and the staff were quick to get the EMTs there and transport family members to and from the hospital....all is well ....thanks for asking :-) The staff in Traditions restaurant went out of their way to make each meal a very pleasant experience...the food was delicious and the meal presentations exquisite. You may pay a bit more for a room than at a motel, but the location, gorgeous surroundings, and knowing you are well taken care of makes up for any additional dollars! We will stay there on our next trip to Williamsburg area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nurseperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, NC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have just returned home from enjoying a weekend at The Williamsburg Lodge. We purchased a "package", which included breakfast each morning & tickets to the Roseanne Cash concert, which was held in the Virginia Room. The entire staff was extremely nice & helpful. We enjoyed tapas in the lounge on Friday evening. A small group provided entertainment for the evening. Saturday evening we dined in the lodge restaurant. The food was delicious. We had crab salad, pork ( so tender we didn't need a knife) and, for dessert, bread pudding & ice cream. The servings are very generous...more than we could eat. The concert was 1st class!!! We enjoyed the buffet breakfast before returning home today. We stayed in the Nicholas & enjoyed 2 queen beds & mini fridge. I can't say enough about the entire staff, from the valet gentleman to the sweet woman that cleaned our room! We will definitely return!

Room Tip: We enjoyed Nicholas building. Short walk to main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, PA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Returned to Colonial Williamsburg for perhaps umpteenth time and the Lodge for perhaps the 8th time. We have always come in the Spring, Summer or Fall, but a Spa/Golf Special was just too enticing so we headed down for a recent long weekend.
Our room was a gem with a wood-burning fireplace that was restocked each day and whcih made for a wonderful evening respite. The leather sofa (sofabed?) was a nice addition, too. We arrived on Friday evening just in time to enjoy the weekly seafood buffet dinner and it was delicious - unlimited oysters always hit the spot for me. The daily morning breakfast buffet, which on some other packages is included, provides a great start to the day. My wife loved her three spa visits (1 per day for her in this package - we actually added a fourth) and I hit the links for some wintertime golf, which is not something you get to do very often in Philadelphia this time of year.
What I love about Colonial Williamsburg, across all levels of staff, is the joy and warmth they exude for their work and their workplace. This is a special place and everyone working in the Lodge and the other Colonial Williamsburg lodging/dining properties (I have also stayed in the Inn a number of time, the Woodlands and the Providence facility over the years), as well as the folks at the Spa, the Golden Horseshoe Golf Club, the historic town and exhibits and even the restaurants and shops at Merchant Square all go out of their way to make you feel welcome and address your needs or wants.
This was a wonderful break for this time of year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nlbergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Property: Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
Address: 310 S England St, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern lodging located on-site in Colonial Williamsburg. Enjoy a relaxing hotel escape in the heart of the Revolutionary City. Just steps from the action, the inviting lodge boasts a world-class restaurant and convenient access to spa and golf recreation amenities. Admission ticket discounts and special daily events are just the beginning of the exclusive benefits you'll enjoy as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing