We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very comfortable place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very comfortable place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was our first visit here for a weekend workshop and this was the hotel chosen for our stay. Very nice clean comfortable rooms, very comfortable beds. Room comes with wifi, mini fridge and room safe. One small thing I noticed is that the TV can only be watched from the bed due to the cabinet it is enclosed in which was not a big deal but a little unusual. Access to the buildings is card key controlled with elevators to get you to the second floor. There is ample parking. It is just outside the historic district and a very easy walk to many of the attractions including the governors house, mansion or whatever it is called.

I tried to write a report on the restaurant in the lodge but it seems I can't write about it by itself so here is that review- tired after a long journey in the rain we ate in the lodge and my partners meal was fine but mine (pork porterhouse) was way to salty. I mentioned it to the staff who offered to replace the meal but I struggled through it. The next night we had enjoyed "several" cocktails and it was still raining so it was safer to eat in again and the beef tenderloin was quite good. For the third night we did something we never do, had dinner at the hotel for the third time in a row. Our by then "friend" waiter, Phillip, caught us on our way out and said we should at least check the seafood buffet. Where we live good seafood is hard to find and this buffet looked fantastic. Steamed or chilled crab legs, crab cakes, large shrimp, mussels, sushi and prime rib if you must have meat. The desert table had many selections. We thoroughly enjoyed the dining experience. My only disappointment was they stopped serving Yuengling beer after our first night.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room facing the courtyard with the sun coming in the window in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flh65_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,087
    509
    203
    67
    31
See reviews for
671
652
51
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Went after a death in the family. Nice hotel with great staff --- warm, Southern hospitality at its best. Rooms vary. Newer wings tend to be nicer than rooms in the main (check-in) building. Rooms are not outstanding for the price but are very clean and comfortable. At Christmas the Lodge is decorated beautifully. The decorations really added joy to my stay ---- very special, decorations everywhere! The fireplace by the bar was kept roaring and guests from all over the country gathered by the fire and shared what they had done that day. The Lodge attracts very nice guests --- many who are very interested in history. Food in the Lodge dining room was delicious and service could not have been improved. Front desk staff, bell men, valet parking staff, gift shop cashier ---- everyone was a class act, and, if I managed the hotel, I'd be so proud of them. Lodge guests can use the health club/spa across the street where I got an amazing hot stone massage by Susan Nielsen. So, especially if you need peace and a pretty little town to escape to, the Williamsburg Lodge in Williamsburg, Va can be an classy, yet low-key, choice.

Room Tip: Ask for room in a newer wing, not in the original building where you check in. Also some rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisavirginiabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I travelled to The Lodge from Cleveland for a weekend visit on Dec.28th.
We have stayed here often and our favorite rooms are on the 3rd Floor of Tazewell Hall overlooking a Courtyard.
Common areas could use some more decoration and newer carpets, but location and comfort - and everything - is wonderful here. We'll be back again in June. We love this special place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fahren3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

A wonderful place to stay while visiting Colonial Williamsburg. The village is a short walk away. Our last stay was close to the Christmas Holiday and the lodge was decorated but not overly-so. Quiet and peaceful would be a good way to describe our stay here. Seating areas around the lodge halls are plentiful and quaint. The desk attendants are polite and helpful.

The restaurant is outstanding – the Sunday brunch is one of the best we’ve experienced! So much so, we’ll plan our next visit to ensure a Sunday layover. The Lodge has ambience and a great location which makes it one of the best places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seasideNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

It is a rustic step back in time. If your looking for a nostalgic trip back to the olden days then this is the hotel for you. Back in the old days when toilets were a new invention and tubs did not drain. Breakfast buffet was adequate but not inspiring. Housekeeping and maintenance staff need to go through the place and review what they are doing. Elevator is dirty. They left personal information of who was in what room on a table in the hallway.

Spa was nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeastern United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel was wonderful. Our room was beautifully appointed with the best of colonial charm.
The bed was so comfortable, linens and bathroom great. We had dinner on Friday night of the Seafood buffet. It was amazing. I had knee replacement just 8 weeks prior to this trip. I was so glad to be close to colonial Williamsburg. I walked everywhere with ease. We were there the end of October and it was a gorgeous time to go. I got some beautiful pictures of Williamsburg.

Room Tip: King size bed. Rocking chair. Nice size desk. Room faced the street so that we could see if people h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msleeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at the Williamsburg Lodge for Grand Illumination weekend, November 29th to December 3rd. As many have said before me, you can’t beat the location, only a block or so from the middle of the historic area, and not more than a ten minute walk to most anywhere you want to go, including the taverns. We with a package that included a $100 gift card to be used anywhere in Colonial Williamsburg, a free decorations tour, and breakfast every morning. There was coffee in the lobby every morning, and hot cider every afternoon.

Check in was a breeze, we arrived at approximately 8:00 in the evening. The lobby was beautifully decorated, and the front desk staff was very polite and knowledgeable. It did take a bit of time, but only because the young woman also printed out our passes, our event tickets, and confirmed all of our tavern reservations. I can’t speak to normal weekends, but during Grand Illumination the restaurant did get a bit crowded later in the morning, but we never had to wait for a table as long as we arrived by 8:45 or so except for Sunday. Breakfast was very good, especially the omelet station. There was also free beverages which often aren’t included, including juices. Selection was good, with the normal breakfast choices and quite a bit of fruit. The restaurant staff was very personable and responsive to our requests. We also had a drink one evening in the hotel bar and enjoyed the fireplace and good service.

Our room was on the second floor of the Custis wing, only a short covered walk from the main lobby. Even though the Lodge was sold out, we never really had any issues with noise in the room. The room is good size and clean, with a large bathroom. It had a king sized bed, sleep sofa, chair, and a flat screen TV. A Keurig coffee maker was in the bathroom. We parked our car in the covered garage under the Tazewell Wing, and never saw it again until we left for home.
We walked through the Williamsburg Inn, and quite honestly found it a bit stuffy and pretentious. For my money, the Lodge is the better location, and a little more relaxed. A travel note: We flew in to Williamsburg/Newport News Airport and found it to be very convenient to the Colonial area, less than a 30 minute drive. I’ll review the taverns separately, but we ate at all of them and enjoyed every meal, but go in knowing they are not cheap. Also , check out the menus online to make sure the tavern you choose has a menu you will enjoy. Chowning’s Tavern becomes Gambol’s after 9:00, and there was a line outside every night over the weekend. We went on Thursday and really enjoyed ourselves listening to a guitarist and fiddle player play old tunes and sing. Make your tavern reservations early (before you arrive) to ensure both the tavern and arrival time you desire.

If you haven’t been to Grand Illumination or to Colonial Williamsburg, go, and stay at the Lodge. We had an amazing time and are already talking about returning and bringing my wife’s parents. Thanks also to all the tips and hints I read on Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the top floor of one of the wings close to the lobby. The reservations staff are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Midwestfreqtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 76 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 76 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Property: Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
Address: 310 South England Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern lodging located on-site in Colonial Williamsburg. Enjoy a relaxing hotel escape in the heart of the Revolutionary City. Just steps from the action, the inviting lodge boasts a world-class restaurant and convenient access to spa and golf recreation amenities. Admission ticket discounts and special daily events are just the beginning of the exclusive benefits you'll enjoy as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing