We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very enjoyable experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
Ranked #7 of 80 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at the Lodge during a 3-day visit to Williamsburg in August. The suite was spacious & clean, thoughtfully decorated with folk art based on pieces in the Abby Aldrich Rockefeller Folk Art Museum (highly recommend visiting the folk art & decorative art museums), and the hotel is within easy walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg. We also enjoyed delicious meals at the Lodge restaurant. Overall, our visit to Williamsburg was excellent and it was enhanced by the accommodations provided by the Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RingoPisco12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    459
    178
    61
    28
See reviews for
588
526
41
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I only attended meetings here over two days, but I was very impressed with the staff and facility. The layout was convenient, organized. Refreshment stations were well stocked and manned throughout the event.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

It was a fortuitous upgrade for our family of five to be relocated from the Woodlands to the Lodge -- not that there is anything glaringly wrong with the Woodlands, but been there, done that. We stayed the first few nights inTazewell, the older building on the Lodge property. A problem with the alarm sent us outside during the middle of night. Next day, the front desk upgraded us to two connecting rooms in a newer building at the same rate as a single in Tazewell. It was super. Dining was excellent on site, the Lodge is a short walk to Colonial Williamsburg village, the Lodge is full service and even has a nice bar area for late after dinner beverage, or two, or three. Great place. Great service. We seemed also to get an excellent price by booking through Colonial Williamsburg directly paying under $150 a night in late August.

Room Tip: Avoid Tazewell unless your family is larger than 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This site, part of the Colonial Williamsburg system was a special treat for our family of four. Our kids are very inclined towards the historical aspects of visiting Williamsburg and this facility offered more of a period 'feel'. The Lodge is wonderful in every way, the rooms are very lovely, the site is adjacent to the 'magazine' lot and everything is close by. We were welcomed warmly by the staff and treated beautifully. Like a lot of high-end inns, there are few freebies, unlike the Woodlands, there is no free breakfast, but it all depends on your needs and interests. The pool for the Lodge is located at the spa, a delightful experience in itself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nerve_Doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
353 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Located in the heart of Colonial Williamsburg, it is convenient to walking through out the historic area. My complaint is that the Lodge rooms are scattered throughout several buildings,and while the room itself was very nicely decorated,everything was some distance from the room. We had to park in 1 building,then carry bags to an elevator,up 1 floor,then haul the bags past 2 more buildings to the one with our room. You then could enter the building with our room through 1 keyed entry door ,down a hallway and another turn to our room. The room was fairly quiet although facing one of the streets, and a nice large bathroom. There was an outside door next to our room door,but you couldn't come back in that way as it locked when closed. The main building with the front desk,restaurant,and meeting rooms was another walk outside(did have cover over you,but still exposed to the heat/cold/rain blowing,etc. Since this was a business trip being paid for I didn't complain. However, for several hundred dollars a night, I would choose for myself somewhere else that was more convenient for the guests. There are so many other fine choices that unless you just have to stay in the historic area,save your money get an equally nice room in a nearby facility that seems more guest oriented than this spread-out place was to me.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere unless you just "HAVE' to be in the historic area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
211 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I love history as much as the next person, but I want to fall asleep with the comforts of home. The Williamsburg Lodge provides that. Spacious rooms, lovely bathrooms, and walking distance to shops, restaurants, and the historic area. Perfection within a price range that works for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crane beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Mother, daughter and daughter-in-law (really another daughter) spent our annual outing this year in historical Williamsburg and stayed at the lodge. It was just GREAT. Two queen beds and a couch that opened into a queen bed in a huge room made it really comfortable for all.The lodge
is a short walk to historical sites, restaurants and shopping plus a bus stop nearby for those whose legs won't carry them far. Great room to mull over the day in front of a fireplace was in the main part of the lodge. It has our unconditional endorsement.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank embarlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#10 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Property: Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
Address: 310 S England St, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern lodging located on-site in Colonial Williamsburg. Enjoy a relaxing hotel escape in the heart of the Revolutionary City. Just steps from the action, the inviting lodge boasts a world-class restaurant and convenient access to spa and golf recreation amenities. Admission ticket discounts and special daily events are just the beginning of the exclusive benefits you'll enjoy as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing