We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Convenient location to access Historical Williamsburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, WV
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Convenient location to access Historical Williamsburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

My husband, 13 year old daughter, and I stayed here for a conference. It was very quiet where we our room was located...room
#4638. There were 2 queen beds in the room. There was a safe, and a small refrigerator. The location was very convenient to walk to Historical Williamsburg events. My husband did not like the pillows, otherwise the beds were comfortable.
I liked the bathroom being separate from the small "dressing" area with a sink in each room/area, so that two people could get ready at the same time.
The sitting area was close to our room, with a small bench and chairs. The ice machine was conveniently located.
We did not get around to using the pool or fitness center.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mom88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    458
    176
    60
    28
See reviews for
577
521
41
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Spent three wonderful days at the Lodge in Colonial Williamsburg. I love this hotel. I like its understated, but elegant feel; like a cozy lodge. We were given a lovely room in the Nicholas building, which is right across from the main building. It was large and very nicely appointed in a classic Virginia style with 2 comfortable queen-size beds, an armoire that housed a flat screen TV, a mini-fridge and a safe and a roomy bathroom with bath robes, The Spa toiletries and a Keurig coffee machine with good sized coffee mugs. The ladies at the front desk were swamped when we checked in as there were several conventions going on, but I never got the impression they were just going thru the motions. Everyone we spoke to -- from the valet outside to the front desk clerks to house keeping -- were friendly, courteous and informative. There's so much to see and do in Colonial Williamsburg and the Lodge's proximity to the center of it all can't be beat. There's even a bus stop right in front of the main building if you don't feel like walking. The Lodge is my preferred hotel in Colonial Williamsburg and we'll be coming back often.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twisted_diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Williamsburg Lodge in Williamsburg, VA is a very quaint place to stay. It is within 5 minutes of all the main attractions of Williamsburg and close to bus stop if you need to go further. The halls are decked with colonial placards and the rooms make one feel part of the era. Loved it :-)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LVOC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford Essex UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A really stylish and friendly hotel. Rooms large with 2 huge beds, fridge, coffee machine, blackout blinds, large tv, spacious bathroom, very clean and traditional. We ate at their 'Traditions' restaurant, really lovely food but with drinks it was expensive compared to UK. Still great for a treat!

Room Tip: We were in 4035, Nicholas guest house... a few seconds away from the main building, with an elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paularorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We attended a yearly convention which was held at the lodge. This was our second stay at the lodge so we were somewhat familiar with what they had to offer. While our room and bath were clean we found the bed and pillows uncomfortable and were disappointed with the furnishings- the chairs were in need of replacement and the television was really only viewable from the bed.
The service in the dining room was very attentive but as mentioned by another reviewer, their parking is not particularly guest friendly.
One good aspect is the lodge's convenient location relative to the historic features. On this trip we were able to visit several of the buildings and dine in a couple of the taverns. The historic community is charming and fascinating which really offsets the disappointments with the lodging.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fortyninergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Lodge during a quick trip to Colonial Williamsburg. We were very pleased with the location and the building itself. The decor was nice and period-ish, and the rooms were well appointed. The King bed in our room as comfortable, and the bathroom was clean and well lit. The hotel shop had water for a reasonable price, and the staff we encountered were all very helpful. We made reservations at several of the Colonial Williamsburg restaurants with the help of the staff and were glad we did. Overall we were happy... it'd be nice if it weren't quite so expensive, but we did feel the location and quality added value.

Also, we did have our daughter, who was 4 months old at the time, with us. We set up her pack n play in the room to sleep and there was plenty of room for it, our bags, her stroller, etc. Very spacious, and we didn't hear anyone in other rooms or outside (and so I imagine they didn't hear her occasional squawks, either).

The only negative was our breakfast at Traditions, the hotel restaurant. This was a real overpriced disappointment. See my review of that restaurant for details.

Room Tip: Spring for the King! It was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thilfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Enjoyed a one night stay with family (2 adults and 2 children aged 12 and 16) here. Really nice room, excellent breakfast (extra on our package) and use of the spa and outside pool. Location is superb for visiting the colonial city - 5 minute walk and you get the town to yourself early in the morning. Staying in the Williamsburg hotels gives a reduction on the entrance fee and this really is the way to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Property: Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
Address: 310 S England St, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern lodging located on-site in Colonial Williamsburg. Enjoy a relaxing hotel escape in the heart of the Revolutionary City. Just steps from the action, the inviting lodge boasts a world-class restaurant and convenient access to spa and golf recreation amenities. Admission ticket discounts and special daily events are just the beginning of the exclusive benefits you'll enjoy as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing