We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Was here recently for a three night conference. The first night, we were put in the South Building. Horrible. Extremely small room, one queen sized bed, very creaky wood floors, tiny out-dated bathroom, and to top it all off, starting at about 6:30am through about 8:30am there was a constant banging sound, which I was told was "probably the pipes since it is a very old hotel". For $200 a night, I don't care how old the hotel is the pipes shouldn't be so loud they prevent guests from sleeping.

I requested a new room for the next two nights and was put in a room in the Ashby building. The room was much nicer than the original room I had, but it wasn't anything special. It was definitely colonial, which is par for the course, but it could have used some updating.

Staff is extremely friendly though and food was very good in the house restaurant.

Room Tip: Stay away from the South building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ilvisitor_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,685 - 1,691 of 2,112 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here back in July 2009 and absolutely loved it. This time, however, we were placed in the Tazewell Hall property on the south side of the hotel. While the other buildings have gorgeous facilities with, e.g., marble bathroom counters and tile floors and colonial accents in the room, Tazewell Hall resembles an IBM branch office inside and out. The rooms themselves are roomy and comfortable, but they give off a distinct 80s Comfort Inn vibe. The bathrooms, in comparison to the ones available in other buildings on the property, are small, somewhat threadbare, and lack any sort of character whatsoever.

Yes, the property is very convenient to the historic Colonial Village, but the room was by no means cheap or budget - this is a premium property, but it had no premium feel to it whatsoever. Its only benefit was proximity to the underground parking garage. For over $250/nite, Tazewell Hall leaves a lot to be desired, and when I return I'll ask specifically that I not be placed in that somewhat depressing building.

Room Tip: Avoid Tazewell Hall. It resembles a mid-80s IBM branch office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BuffaloPundit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The lodge is in the middle of colonial Williamsburg, right outside of downtown. The staff was friendly and helpful, even with our huge bridal party! They gave us tips on places to go, and the best way to walk there. There is a shuttle bus available for those who need it. The rooms were clean and the shampoos and such were amazing! (not the cheap stuff you would normally get, and they sell it downstairs in the gift shop). The gift shop also sells a spiced wine that was wonderful!!! The rooms are a little bit pricey, but totally worth the stay!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights. The best thing about it was the proximity to the Historical Area. Just a few steps away. Or if going to far side of Colonial Williamsburg, a shuttle stop right out front. We had a king suite, very spacious and another room with 2 queens. Worse pillows I have ever encountered. Very friendly, caring staff. We felt very welcome. Breakfast buffet very average considering the price. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abbiedax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed here while getting my daughter dropped off at the College of William and Mary for her freshman year. It is a perfect location - I could walk to Merchant's Square for dining or shopping... and to the W&M boockstore. Could walk to campus. Very nicely maintained hotel - charming rooms, except for uncomfortable bed, smaller bathroom. Nice restaurant for breakfast buffet. Enjoyed the lounge for appetizers. Spa is across the street and I enjoyed it as well. Overall, a nice place to stay and will probably try it again.... if not for those beds.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mshtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Yes, the entire campus of this lodge is exquisite. But to only note that does not recognize the truly wonderful service! All of the staff -- from first encounter at the drive in front of the lobby -- and what a beautiful lobby it is! -- all the way through to settling the bill at checkout -- guests are greeted as warmly as if they are well-missed members of the family. While we had mostly excellent service through our 10 days in Williamsburg, this lodge and pub surpassed even that. I look forward to returning here -- it was a little bit pricey, and we moved to less expensive lodging to accomodate a family gathering. In the future however, this is my option on returns to this lovely town. And the next time, will be sure to visit the spa (not enough time this visit because of other demands).

Room Tip: We stayed in the custis building. All buildings are well situated, however I might want to stay in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caosper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at the Lodge for 4 nights in August 2012. Our room was a king with a pullout for our kids. The room and bathroom was sufficient size for our stay. The staff was very nice. Breakfast in the restaurant was very good. Proximity to historical sites was great. We also used the Lodge's complimentary shuttle (run by the bell staff) to go to other area restaurants. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lawdog037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
623 reviews
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.2 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.2 mi away
The Griffin Hotel - A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel
5.0 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection

Address: 310 South England Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $148 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection is a relaxing escape in Colonial Williamsburg. We are a preferred choice of accommodations for travelers looking for luxury hotels in Williamsburg, Virginia. On our property, which sits in the heart of the Historic Area, you will find inviting spaces including a world-class restaurant and you can enjoy convenient access to spa and golf recreation amenities. We sit in the middle of all the action in Williamsburg, and we offer admission ticket discounts and special daily events as part of the exclusive benefits you'll enjoy as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing