We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located, family friendly accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Our family of two adults and 2 children aged 12 and 8 stayed at the Lodge for a week in a room with 2 double beds and a pull-out sofa. The room was large enough to accommodate us comfortably. Room always clean though carpet worn Decor was pleasingly colonial-inspired. Grounds impeccable. We stayed in the furthest building from the front desk but did not find this to be a hardship...you're walking all day anyway, what's a little further? View over a parking lot but that was okay, we weren't there to hang out in a hotel. Service was always friendly, housekeeping great, and the front desk staff incredibly helpful with trip planning. Our only disappointment was with the restaurant, which we found understaffed and overpriced on a Saturday evening despite not being very crowded. We felt the location with its proximity to the colonial town could not be beat...a short stroll and there we were. We hope to return someday and hope to stay in one of the homes for a more intimate experience, but enjoyed our time at the Lodge and would recommend it to anyone looking for a casual hotel experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamelapancakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,803 - 1,809 of 2,161 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

We rented 2 rooms in mid april 2012,and found the overall condition of the hotel tired- frayed carpeting in the hallways, fairly clean rooms although not much dusting is being done but the location is great- in 4 days we never needed our car.The breakfast buffet was ok but don't have dinner here. On the one hand, we were pleased that the 2 rooms were next door which allowed us to visit back and forth without using the hallway, but on the other hand the room were above a noisy loading dock which made for poor views and ealrly morning wakeups. What was odd was that the place was not at all croded, and you'd think the staff would try to utilize the better positioned rooms so as to impress guests.For meals, we did not enjoy the Williamsburg Inn(it's pretty much like any upscale wannabe restaurant in any city(wine stewar with expensive offerings, etc.-it's where you'd go if you were on a business expense account and want to impress a client) . We enjoyed the various taverns in the the old section like Chownings, Campbells but particularly Kings Arms which has the best waiter in Williamsburg, Daniel. The various attractions aree fine and the skits well done, but we really enjoyed the tour of Mr. Rockefeller's residence where our legally blind guide(I know rhat sounds odd) was incredibly knowledgeable about every detail. And if you love golf, try the Gold Course and hope you get to play with actual members-great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lpugdeeeqazzzxvbbbbmmlkkii88z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

My husband and I took a few days to experience Colonial Williamsburg and to just plain relax. We couldn't have had a better experience. Our room was beautiful, (in the Nicholas section) clean and comfortable. Every staff member we interacted with was friendly and helpful. We will be staying there again on our next trip back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I just tried to spend this last night sleeping, but no luck. My entire body aches from the ultra firm mattress and hard foam pillows. It is understandable not everyone will prefer any particular bed or pillow choice, but it would seem to be a wise management decision to place moderate selections of firmness rather than those from the ends of the spectrum.

When I asked about this at the desk and wondered if I received this room because the lodge was full, I was told the lodge was not at all full and they don't have any firm mattresses or foam pillows. The labels on the items tells a different story. Sadly, they have no idea I was here to scout a property for a very large gathering.

That being said, this property is close to the colonial area. However, the efficient shuttle is a few minutes from most properties.

Go elsewhere. This is not worth your money!

Room Tip: Ask for a soft mattress and the pillow firmness/type of your choice. There are no glasses in the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pharmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The Lodge is perfectly situated for easy access to all of the action at Colonial Williamsburg. This is especially valuable if you have teens who want to go off on their own or grandparents who might tire from the walking. We book two queen suite rooms which were sufficient for three people in each room. You might be able to get a fourth, but it would be tight -- i think I would only recommend it if you were two adults and two children. We were given discounted passes to the park since we were Lodge guests and the concierge really helped us get organized once we arrived. There is not a pool on site, but you do get access to the spa pool, which is across the street. We ate breakfast at the buffet twice and had one casual dinner in the lounge area. The food was good and well priced.

Room Tip: There are some meeting rooms on the sleeping floors so if you are a person who likes to go to bed ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

From the outside this Lodge looks perfect, lovely landscaping, etc. The first disappointment was in our first room, a queen bed room. The bedroom was cute, but the bathroom was tiny and looked like it had not been renovated since 1960. The tub was so chipped, and poorly patched, that I was afraid to step into it. Then the heating/air conditioning system malfunctioned and we had to get a building engineer to fix it. The coffee maker did not work until the fourth time I hit the buttons. But the final blow to that room was our discovery (after dinner), that the baseboard under the desk was not in place and there was nothing there to block access between the room and whatever was living inside the walls, e.g., bugs, vermin, etc. We insisted on another room, and they moved us to a king bed room, which was much better ... at least until we tried to get hot water in the morning. My poor husband (who was showering first), never did get more than luke warm water, and my water got hot only half way through the shower. We would have switched rooms again, but by this time, we just gave up.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WellTraveledCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed in the main hotel due to it's proximity to the Conference Center and got a great package deal. The room was nicely furnished with refrigerator, small closet, Keurig coffee maker (bring you favorite flavors); bathroom was a bit small but, updated; good water pressure with plenty of towels in the bath tub/shower combo; bed was comfortable and it was QUIET!!! Our room was located on the 2nd floor and toward the back away from the elevator and stairs.
The pool area is beautiful and very scenic. We watched three Mallard ducks waddle over from the nearby golf lagoon play in the adult, "quiet" pool. A very well equipped gym and WIFI were complementary amenities during our stay with free parking nearby. Our package included breakfast each day, a $100 gift card and free entry into historic Williamsburg.
The spa was average. Staff was nice but, quality of the service was mediocre at best.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wharfsuggestion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection

Address: 310 South England Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $165 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection is a relaxing escape in Colonial Williamsburg. We are a preferred choice of accommodations for travelers looking for luxury hotels in Williamsburg, Virginia. On our property, which sits in the heart of the Historic Area, you will find inviting spaces including a world-class restaurant and you can enjoy convenient access to spa and golf recreation amenities. We sit in the middle of all the action in Williamsburg, and we offer admission ticket discounts and special daily events as part of the exclusive benefits you'll enjoy as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing