We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort with great ammenities”
Review of Kingsmill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsmill Resort
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2007

We chose to stay at the williamsburg inn for a 6 nights and try the Kingsmill Inn for 4 nights. The Wiliamsburg Inn will always be our favorite but the Kingsmill Inn was a nice change of pace to the vacation, especially since we were finished visiting the historic district. The Kingsmill is a true self contained resort which can keep you busy all day.

We found the 2 bedroom suite very comfortable for our family (my husband and I, my mother, boys 7 and 6 and baby 4 months.) The beds were very comfortable and having a kitchen with little kids is a great bonus. Go to the farmers market in Wiliamsburg and pick up some of the great ready made food to stock in your fridge -- I beleive it is held two days a week in Market Square. We bought some really terrific soups and vegtables that was a great change of pace.

When reading about the resort on the internet I was very worried that I would pick the right location. After going there I realize that there is no bad location so if money matters to you, don't worry about where you stay (they have 3 price categories) they are all great locations and very close to everything.

We really liked the club house facilities with the basketball, squash, indoor and outdoor pools and really terrific showers. The shuttle to the parks was also really great, and each night we would take the shuttle to the water park and get there when the crowds were leaving. It was a lot of fun.

On the negative side, the reason we chose the resort was we signed our sons up for a tennis tournament at their facility and thought we would stay at the resort during the tournament and try it out. They have 10+ courts which are really nice. The tournament was cancelled b/c they did not list it right with USTA so they did not get many kids to sign up. I tried to sign them up for lessons and a variety of other things but the person who answered the phones at the tennis center kept giving me conflicting information. For example, they did not know when their tennis clinics were, so we missed out on them too. I had a problem with another employee and asked them if they sold swim diapers and she sent me down the hill to the store near the river and they did not sell them either. I think she should have at least called and found out for me, before sending me around the resort. The resort is really nice, but the feel with the staff is that a lot are college students and temporary workers. A much different feel than the staff at the Williamsburg Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank slmNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,697)
There are newer reviews for Kingsmill Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,625 - 1,631 of 1,697 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2007

My wife and I go to this hotel at least three times a year and everytime the service gets better and better. I went to this hotel in April and encountered a mix up with my reservation the manager Lori happened to over hear us and stepped in and fixed it. We came back and she remembered us and took us to our room where she had a lovely fruit basket waiting for us. This is the kind of treament blew us away, I dont know how she finds out that we are coming but everytime she is in the lobby welcoming us back. Definatley differnt from the past years, great improvement.

Stayed: December 2006
2  Thank tki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2007

I would recommend this hotel to anyone! It's great! Well worth the money. Super clean and bathrooms very upscale and goose down comforters for added warmth! Can't say enough positive things about this place!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kittynjack2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2006

I stayed in a two bedroom condo on the river (buliding 14) with my husband, our one year old son and my father for five nights during Christmas. I had read some reviews before booking our stay and I had high expectations and immediately upon arrival, my expectations were exceeded. The unit was very tastefully decorated and very clean. I had a hard time believing that anyone had ever stayed in the unit before us. The shower in the master bedroom is awesome. The property is very nice. I spent time in the gym and it was great. It had very nice equipment and similar to any full service gym I have ever been to. We had breakfast at the Bray Bistro one morning and it was fine. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We had maid service everyday, including Christmas Day. All in all, I would rate this property as excellent and I will definitely be back for another stay!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank jscmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2006

We recently stayed at Kingsmill to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We had the "romance package." My husband and I don't usually stay at this nice of a hotel, so it was a big treat. Anytime you get bathrobes in your room, you know it has to be good. Speaking of the bathrobes, we noticed that one was missing from the closet, the little sign was on the hanger, but there was no robe. When we called about it, they had one sent over immediately. Very impressed. Also soon after we arrived our champagne and chocolate strawberries arrived. VERY NICE!

We had dinner at the Eagles restaurant. I have no complaints about the place, food and service were excellent. Portions were more than generous, so bring your appetite if you plan to eat there. We also had breakfast in bed and it was also very good.

The room was just one of their regular rooms, and it was nice and clean but nothing super spectacular. It did have a great view of the river and the bed linens really made it! Some other posters did complain about the thin walls. I would have to second that. We were on the bottom floor, and we could hear people tromping up the wood stairs. Also, someone decided it would be a good idea to mow the golf course right ourside our room at 7:30 on Sunday morning. That was a little aggravating for my husband and I since we NEVER get to sleep in late!

Overall, it was a great way to spend a weekend - but it will cost good money.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank mustseeparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2006

Just returned. Staff was attentive and courteous.

Shuttle to and from Busch gardens could not have been more convenient. It was door to door service. I was chatting with one shuttle bus operator who made a special run to Busch Gardens for us so we wouldn't have to wait 20 minutes for the regular shuttle. He did this without us asking. Just to be nice!

Clean large rooms. Full kitchen equipped with all essentials.

Enjoyed the deck each night. Not a bug in sight. Outside on the deck we could hear the music from the marina grill in the evening. Very relaxing.

Room service was excellent. Service in the restaraunts was a little slow but not a big problem. Food was excellent.

Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank traveler37834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2006

We stayed in a one bedroom suite. The suite consisted of a master bedroom, bathroom, utility room and a very generous open plan kitchen/dining room and lounge. The quality of finishes, furniture was very high and the kitchen was well equipped. We certainly didn’t notice the “paper thin walls” referred to by other reviewers and found the resort very quite. The sporting facilities were excellent as were the restaurants. We would certainly recommend eating in the Bray Bistro. We ordered room service on one night to make the use of our own dining room and found that to be excellent as well. The staff were professional and friendly and we would certainly recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
602 reviews
3.4 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
4.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmill Resort

Address: 1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-5576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#11 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $176 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsmill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsmill Resort is situated on 2,900 protected acres along the James River in historic Williamsburg, Virginia. At Kingsmill, we invite our guests to experience a relaxing retreat where casual elegance provides the perfect backdrop for a stress‐free getaway. Guest can relax in 425 exquisite villa‐style guest rooms and suites overlooking the sparkling James River. Situated adjacent to Busch Gardens, 10 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsmill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmill Resort Williamsburg
Kingsmill Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing