We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, wonderful resort”
Review of Kingsmill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kingsmill Resort
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, wonderful resort”
Reviewed April 12, 2010

We just returned from the Kingsmill Resort & Spa from spending a long spring break weekend. This is the third year that my family has visited here, and this year was the best thus far. We get the Spring Fling package which includes admission/transportation to Busch Gardens & Colonial Williamsburg. My husband, 14 year-old son and 19 year-old son fit very comfortably into the 1 bedroom suite. They have a pull out queen sleeper sofa and we also brought a queen size aerobed and still had lots of space in the living/dining room. Our suite was beautifully furnished and had more than we ended up using in terms of the full kitchen. Though they also had a washing machine/dryer we didn't end up using it.

The staff was very friendly and attentive throughout our stay. My only wish was that they had more than 1 shuttle run per hour to Busch Gardens like they had in previous years... this added a bit to the stress level when trying to coordinate with our teenagers.

Hubby and the boys played on the Bray Links par 3 course and loved it. The course is beautiful and they were the only ones playing on it Saturday afternoon. Little kids will also enjoy walking around the course with a parent playing - wildlife abounds from hawks to turtles to ducks!

This was the first year we ate on site; Eagles in the golf club had a wondeful breakfast that was very reasonably priced - my family of 4 ate for around $50 including tip. Goldie, our server, was wonderful and definitely added to our meal experience!

The pool & hot tub weren't that crowded both times we went - a much different experience from last year when you couldn't move in the pool it was so crowded. Hubby and the boys enjoyed playing basketball each night in their indoor court - it's small, but can more than handle a game of HORSE.

I would highly recommend this resort for families with children of all ages!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bwalkerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    420
    140
    69
    43
See reviews for
776
356
14
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We went down for spring break with our 6 and 3 year old. We asked for a suite near the playground. We all had a blast from playing in the playground, the pool and game room every night, tennis, beach combing and paddle boating. The staff were total professionals and the service was excellent through out the property. We couldn't believ how well maincured the grounds were at all times. Eagles resturant was delicious (so was the fresh brew) and the views of the golf were breathtaking. Definately a friendly atmosphere where most of the visitors were sports-oriented and very down to earth. Beautiful tennis facility and The Mill is a sweets/coffee place next to it. Perfect for coffee and a danish while you sit out watching some tennnis. The Shuttle service to Willaimsburg was easy and relaxing and if you want to stay later for dinner, you can arrange for the shuttle to come get you later. We are planning on going back next year for an extra day and hopefully bringing some friends.
The Marina Restaurant was also a beautiful spot for lunch on our last day. It was hard to check out and travel 7 hours home so we relaxed for an hour at the Marina.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valhalla712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

My 3 girlfriends and I went to Williamsburg for a short weekend getaway to enjoy the outlets and get some massages. We got this package where each one of us got an hour massage or facial, one night stay at the resort and a breakfast. The spa is very luxurious and we really felt pampered. We got the massages then enjoyed the private women's steam room, sauna and whirlpool for a few hours afterward. The accommodations were also very comfortable and clean. The breakfast the next morning was really good too! We can't wait to do this again in a couple of months!

Overall a great experience.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank N00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

We decided to stay here because we got an incredible deal on a hotel. The suites are great. Spacious and extremely comfortable. We only stayed two nights, but I didn't want to leave! Great for a couple looking for something romantic.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmg148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We spent three nights on a Preferred Hotel package that brought the rate for a 1 bedroom to $110. The unit was spacious and clean with a great, comfortable bed. We really enjoyed the new flat screen TVs and the beautiful view. The staff was uniformly friendly and helpful. As another reviewer pointed out, the walls are thin and insulation is poor. I heartily recommend a second floor unit. We also found that the kitchen was not well suppplied given the resort's quality (no steak knives?).

The resort looked wonderful all decorated for Christmas. We made good use of the fitness center and hope to play some tennis and use the pool upon our return.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Greataunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2009

Great Amenities wonderful staff great view from our balcony of the James river. I loved this hotel and i will be coming to visit again

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yours66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnegat,nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2009

this was our first family vacation it was excellent.The staff was very helpful and friendly and went out of their way to help everyone.i can't say enough about this place.Our 9 year old recently said she didn't care to go to disney anymore she rather go back to the resort.the fact that we were able to go to 2 amusement parks and transportation was provided for by the resort was a +.we definetly will be going back and i would recommend this place to anyone as i have recommended it to my family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommie369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
8.2 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
4.2 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
3.5 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmill Resort

Property: Kingsmill Resort
Address: 1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-5576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#11 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsmill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsmill Resort is situated on 2,900 protected acres along the James River in historic Williamsburg, Virginia. At Kingsmill, we invite our guests to experience a relaxing retreat where casual elegance provides the perfect backdrop for a stress‐free getaway. Guest can relax in 425 exquisite villa‐style guest rooms and suites overlooking the sparkling James River. Situated adjacent to Busch Gardens, 5 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsmill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmill Resort Williamsburg
Kingsmill Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing