We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Kingsmill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kingsmill Resort
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The resort is beautiful and the amenities are great. Staff was friendly and responsive. We did have a clogged sink in the bathroom on our second day and it took a while (and multiple calls) to get it fixed, but the front desk offered a $50.00 credit as soon as they realized there was a delay in getting it addressed. I appreciated their quick recognition of a dropped ball. We loved the resort and will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoosmarkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia-Kingsmill, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear hoosmarkp,

We are glad to hear you had a great experience at the resort and also apologize for the delayed service you received. I'm glad we were ultimately able to remedy the problem to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,
Claudia Rinaldi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    420
    140
    69
    43
See reviews for
776
356
14
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here with my husband and 8 year old daughter. We had a condo facing Lake James. The condo was very clean and comfortable. We spent a couple of days at the pool with the lazy river....which was wonderful. The breakfast package was nice. The restaurants had decent food: The grill on the water was a bit pricey for the quality of the food. The Italian restaurant was decent. But I do not have high expectations when it comes to resort food.

We took full advantage of the shuttle service to Busch Gardens, the Water Park and Williamsburg. The service was prompt and the drivers very friendly. On the return trips they dropped us off at our condos which was really nice after a long day.

Room Tip: As for a place facing the James River. You are closer to the pools and the facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenSandoval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia-Kingsmill, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear RenSandoval,

So glad to hear you enjoyed your accommodations! I am also happy to hear that you took advantage of our shuttle services and were received warmly by our drivers. Thank you for choosing Kingsmill Resort and we hope you return again soon!

Warm Regards,
Claudia Rinaldi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Fabulous resort! We booked two nights thinking we would go to Busch Gardens and the Water Park we ended up adding a night just to enjoy the resort. My family didn't want to leave! We will definitely be coming back next year only we will be staying for a whole week! The only drawback was the lazy river pool which got a little bit crowded should be a little bit bigger for the size of the resort and the amount of families staying.

Room Tip: We stayed in the one bedroom suite with river view. Although there was a nice view we weren't re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia-Kingsmill, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Mmam4,

Thank you for your kind words on behalf of our Resort! I’m so happy to hear that you decided to stay an extra day to enjoy our River Pool facility. The high demand for seating will be addressed by our staff as we know it gets very crowded! We are looking forward to seeing you again next year!

Fondly,
Claudia Rinaldi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Excellent service and beautiful resort! Awesome spa and pool areas! Will be back for those again soon! Our room was facing the golf course but you don't have to love golf to enjoy the view. Very quiet and since they have added the Lazy River pool down near the James River, we had the pool in our complex to ourselves for most of the day! Nice getaway but still fairly close to home in Chesapeake, VA.

Room Tip: Very close to Bush Gardens/Water Country and the Outlet stores.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia-Kingsmill, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Penny D,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Kingsmill Resort, and I thank you for your kind review! It sounds like you had a great experience at our spa and pool facilities. We hope to welcome you for future vacations!

Sincerely,
Claudia Rinaldi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

After spending the day at the Kingsmill Spa, which was fabulous, we decided to check in the hotel. Check in was 4 p.m. We were told our room was not ready and we would be called when it was. We did not receive a call to check in until 6 p.m. We were only staying one night! So we go to our room. It was decent. The bathroom floor was severely unleveled. So much that the toilet was visibility off balance. That was manageable. We were told that we would have a golf course view. We had a view of two very large, overgrown shrubs that completely blocked our view of anything. Very frustrating. We left the resort to ride around town for the evening because we truly were frustrated with the place. The next day, housekeeping knocked on the door before checkout. We told the guy that we weren't ready to check out. He sighed in disgust and walked away without saying anything. Just the icing on the cake for us. We travel to Williamsburg frequently and they have lost our business. If you aren't a week long customer, it doesn't appear as if your business matters.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rktldy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia-Kingsmill, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Rktldy18,

Please accept our deepest apologies for the lack of hospitality you received during your stay with us. I understand our rooms department has been in touch with you regarding your concerns, and I hope the resolution was to your satisfaction.

Best regards,
Claudia Rinaldi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We just returned from a fabulous weekend at Kingsmill. Our riverfront suite was perfect, with an incredible view, although the air conditioner was VERY loud. It did not contain a refrigerator (my misunderstanding, not theirs) but when I called about it, the housekeeping staff promptly brought a small one which was all we needed. Dinner at James Landing Grille was wonderful, with a very talented vocalist playing live music on the patio. The view is incomparable and we especially appreciated having real glasses for wine! This was not previously allowed at the Marina restaurant, if you were outside.

The new lazy river pool is awesome - but I agree with the other reviewer about the sand. While I totally appreciate the objective of creating a beach-like experience, in my opinion it's just messy. Water Country manages to have a very tropical-like atmosphere without a grain of sand. In my opinion the complex would be better without the sand, and probably easier to clean too. Lastly, I had a wonderful facial at the Kingsmill Spa. We plan to return for a longer stay later in the summer!!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a riverfront room. It's worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank myglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia-Kingsmill, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear myglen,

Thank you for your kind and constructive about your experience with us! I am glad you enjoyed the live performance at the James Landing Grille. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kingsmill soon!

Warm regards,
Claudia Rinaldi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband, 3 young children and I stayed in a 1 bedroom deluxe. It met our needs exactly:
1. Very close to attractions, 2. Separate living area from bedroom, 3. Awesome pool area with zero entry pool, lazy river, and pool slide, 4. Bar and grill in pool area, 5. Washer and dryer, 6. A queen sized sofa bed that was actually pretty comfortable, 6. Clean beds and bathroom, 7. Golf cart rides to the pool area upon request, 8. Good restaurants on-site so that you don't have to get back in the car to get something to eat.......All for under $320/ night ! My only suggestions to management would be to add a DVD player to the living room, improve water pressure in shower and ask housekeeping to wipe down cabinets and doors with a bit more attention.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia-Kingsmill, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Eileen R,

Thank you for your comments. We are happy to have hosted you for a pleasurable stay -- the washer & dryer certainly help when you have small children! I hope you and your family choose Kingsmill for your next vacation.

Fondly,
Claudia Rinaldi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
8.2 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
4.2 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
3.5 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmill Resort

Property: Kingsmill Resort
Address: 1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-5576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#11 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsmill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsmill Resort is situated on 2,900 protected acres along the James River in historic Williamsburg, Virginia. At Kingsmill, we invite our guests to experience a relaxing retreat where casual elegance provides the perfect backdrop for a stress‐free getaway. Guest can relax in 425 exquisite villa‐style guest rooms and suites overlooking the sparkling James River. Situated adjacent to Busch Gardens, 5 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsmill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmill Resort Williamsburg
Kingsmill Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing