We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel experince”
Review of Kingsmill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kingsmill Resort
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I've been to this resort four times and i would have to say that this is one of the best hotel experiences i have had in a long time. The rooms are immaculate, there is convenient bus service to amusement parks such as Busch gardens and water country USA, and colonial Williamsburg. I would give this hotel five stars if it wasn't for the fact that the pools and the game room close at 9:00, which I honestley found frustrating during my last stay there. Other than that everything was great, just wish the pools hours were a little longer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia-Kingsmill, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Matt M,

We are glad that you had a great experience here at Kingsmill Resort. It sounds like you enjoyed our facilities and had an opportunity to visit our wonderful town! We recently changed our pool hours so now the River Pool pool complex is open until 10 p.m. every night! (Your stay date says Aug 2012--I have a feeling that's not your most recent stay). We hope you choose to return to Kingsmill for your next vacation!

Warm Regards,
Claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,156 - 1,162 of 1,713 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

We arrived way ahead of check-in around 11:30, and to our delight, our room was ready. We were able to go to our room right away. The room was spacious and clean - much larger than what we expected. The bath products and robes provided were really wonderful. Lunch at Eagles was a nice suprise, I guess my expectations were pretty low having eaten at other "19th hole" places previously. The corn and crab chowder was the highlight of the meal. The spa facilities were delightful - couples massage, sauna, whirlpool, steam room and sauna. The River Pool was very family oriented. The lazy river was great, even for us adults to enjoy.We called for transporation that evening and within minutes arrives at our door to take us to James Landing restaurant. The service and food provided was delightful, with a great view from the top floor of the James River. The paved walking trails areon the property are mostly shaded which was great for some morning exercise. The pool by the fitness center was uncrowded and a nice quiet get away from the more family-friendly River Pool. The customer service provided was outstanding - and we felt welcomed and valued from the moment we checked in. The front desk staff, the groundskeepers, housekeeping, dining staff, and those providing transportation - everyone working at the resort contributed to the enjoyment of our quick overnight trip. A nice suprise was a small basket of snacks provided in our room (we noted in our reservation we were celebrating a birthday.)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzbee_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia-Kingsmill, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Suzbee_13,

So glad to hear that you had a wonderful time at Kingsmill Resort! We love to hear when our faculty and staff meet our customer’s expectations. Thank you for your compliments and I will be sure to pass them along to our team members.

Fondly,
Claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Staff was very friendly and always smiling. Cart drivers would always stop and ask if we wanted a ride to where we were going. Pools are nice, but lifeguards were too busy talking about what they got for graduation to watch the water.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank a-abrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia-Kingsmill, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear a-abrock,

I'm happy you were pleased with the staff overall; I have forwarded your comment about the lifeguards to the appropriate manager. We hope to welcome you back to Kingsmill soon!

Best regards,
Claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Kingsmill Resort was a great place for a family vacation to Williamsburg. We got the family fun package which made it convenient for getting tickets and having breakfast provided daily. The staff was friendly. The resort grounds, pool, and rooms were great. The shuttle service is great within the resort and to outside attractions. We highly recommend this resort for a family vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candace E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia-Kingsmill, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Candace E,

So pleased to hear you enjoyed your family trip to Kingsmill! I hope you also got the chance to enjoy all the other amenities included in the Ultimate Family Fun package. Thanks so much for your positive review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Kingsmill soon!

Best regards,
claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband, son, and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Kingsmill. From the wonderful buffet breakfast at the Bray Dining Room every morning to the outstanding pool area, we cannot say enough good things. Our room was very nice, clean, and had a pretty view off the balcony. My only regret is that we spent so much time at the surrounding attractions, that we didn't get to enjoy all the amenities the resort has to offer. My husband and I are already discussing a return trip for just the two of us to take advantage of the golf, spa, tennis court, trails...

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Kandipix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia-Kingsmill, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Kandipix,

So happy to hear about your positive experience at Kingsmill! It sounds like you and your family enjoyed your time in the area. We are glad that you will be returning to Kingsmill for your next vacation and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Sincerely,
Claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed in this resort from 6/17 to 6/21. We booked it as we wanted a good hotel to stay in that is close to busch gardens. Over all, I would rate this a 2.5 out of 5, according to the criteria below:

Rooms:
When we first came inside, the rooms were clean, and the beds were all made. The rooms weren't as spacious as we saw from the photos online, and they would have charged extra for a view of the ocean. We booked a 2 bedroom suite, and it included a kitchen, living room, and a dining area. The furnishings were a bit outdated, but they were still good for our purposes. The rooms were cleaned regularly, around 9:00 daily.

Housekeeping:
The housekeeping staff did an excellent job cleaning the room and making the beds. They came to our room at 9:00 AM, but we asked for them to come 1 hour later. They replaced our towels, made the beds, sometimes vacuumed, and upon request, they replaced the linens. They were consistent, and overall they did a good job.

Front desk:
When we checked in and out, the front desk staff were pleasant and quick to get us our keys. When we asked for transportation, they immediately sent out a golf cart and transported us wherever we needed to go.

Golf carts:
When we were walking outside, usually a golf cart asked to give us a ride, if a cart was within vicinity. We also called the front desk, and they sent a cart out to our room. The drivers were nice to us, and told us about some resort features.

Breakfast:
We ate breakfast at the Bray dining hall. When we booked online, we booked for a package that had breakfast included. They removed the deal as it was limited time, and when we got there, they told us that we had to pay for breakfast. Initially we wanted to clear up at the front desk if we had a breakfast package, and Tiffany (a dining staff) was fine with it, and she was with us the whole time. We went outside to clarify, Angela (another staff member) started to scream at us and said, "You cannot leave until you pay" in a loud voice so others could hear. Her erratic behavior is very concerning as it damages your reputation in front of everyone. It seemed as if her agenda was to humiliate us, and that was why we never dined at another restaurant again. Angela's attitude towards us seemed ridiculous since we already could afford to pay 1500 dollars to stay at the resort, obviously we could pay for an $81 breakfast. Angela acted as if we would run away without paying. Staff employed in this position are expected to be polite, courteous, kind, and well trained in basic principles of hospitality, but Angela demonstrates the opposite by humiliating us

In the end, we had a good vacation at the resort, but it could have been better if some of the dining staff would be nicer. This is a good resort and a good place to stay if you are just going to Busch gardens or any other attractions nearby.

Room Tip: Remember to book a package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ali N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia-Kingsmill, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Ali N,

Thank you for your review. It sounds like you had a pleasurable stay until your experience in the Bray, for which I deeply apologize. I have contacted the F&B Supervisor, and appropriate action has already been taken. I hope you consider Kingsmill for your next trip to Williamsburg.

Sincerely,
Claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed this past week from June 13th- 18th. Bought the stay and play package because of the golf. The 1st day we were there was a big storm that completely shut down one golf course and another there was only 9 holes open. On the 3rd course there was a tournament going on for Saturday and Sunday. So out of the 54 holes there was only 9 holes open for two days. The package included discount rates on the closed course. I had to fight and go back to the front desk multiple times to get money back. Another part of package was complimentary golf clinic, the problem was there none that was offered. The two main reasons to get the package wasn't possible. Why wouldn't want the front desk take an initiative and try to do something instead of making fighting for it. Front desk told me I was offered a free round which was never done. They offered some discount but the damage was done. The overall experience was good- nice jogging path of 4 miles, new pool with slide, lazy river and food was good. Also members of the golf club should let twosome pass if their foursome is awful and can not play golf. There seems a big disconnect between golf and the front desk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevenslater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia-Kingsmill, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Stevenslater,

I sincerely apologize for any confusion you experienced at the front desk. Our policy after the storm, which left over 250 trees down throughout the property, was to move all packages from Plantation to Woods at no additional charge. In addition, at this time, we offer golf clinics every Friday, Saturday, Monday and Tuesday (which was not impacted by the storm). It is clear from your email that we failed to clearly inform you of these facts. Please accept my apologies, and let me know if I can be of further assistance; I can be reached at Claudia.rinaldi@kingsmill.com.

Sincerely,
Claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
608 reviews
3.4 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
4.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmill Resort

Address: 1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-5576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#11 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $177 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsmill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsmill Resort a AAA Four Diamond resort situated on 2,900 protected acres along the James River in historic Williamsburg, Virginia. At Kingsmill, we invite our guests to experience a relaxing retreat where casual elegance provides the perfect backdrop for a stress‐free getaway. Guest can relax in over 400 exquisite villa‐style guest rooms and suites overlooking the sparkling James River. Situated adjacent to Busch Gardens, 10 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kingsmill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmill Resort Williamsburg
Kingsmill Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing