We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Home-base in Williamsburg” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingsmill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kingsmill Resort
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Home-base in Williamsburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

The condos are great for a family and this is the perfect spot to explore all parts of Williamsburg. With the kitchen in the condo, it made breakfast easy and it was nice to have a separate living and sleeping area. Husband and kids loved playing golf, although like most resorts the golf is not cheap, but the courses appeared to be in great shape. "The Mill" is great for breakfast and snacks. And we also had dinner at the James Landing Grille - which was exceptional.

I can' wait to go back in the summer to try out the new pool and spend some time at the marina. We will be back.

One thing to note is that the condo's can be a little noisy, I would recommend a top floor location, to hopefully cut down on the foot traffic noise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank girlfromVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear girlfromVA,

“Great Home-base in Williamsburg” is a great compliment to Kingsmill Resort and our team members. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a positive experience with our facilities, accommodations, and our Restaurants. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again next year.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    410
    138
    64
    43
See reviews for
759
348
14
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

we'd planned our Williamsburg get-awy for a few weeks, and were surprised that there was still availability @ Kingsmill in Williamsburg; from teh real-log burning fireplace, the excellent vistas, the shuttle service to the attractions, it really offered everything we needed and then some. THANKS, Kingsmill, for making our spring-break get-away memorable!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Jason B,

“wonderful accommodations, excellent value” is a great compliment to Kingsmill Resort and our team members. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a positive experience with our facilities, accommodations, and our Restaurants. The wood burning fireplace is truly one of our best features when you are looking to getaway on a cold day. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again next year.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful week at the resort with the family. It was central to our planned activities which included touring Williamsburg and Jamestown, and visiting Busch Gardens. Our immaculate suite overlooked the James River which we enjoyed very much as we sat on our balcony. After long days of activities we wrapped up our days spending time in the pool and whirlpool at the Sports Club. The staff where very friendly, accommodating and helpful. The grounds were impeccably maintained. Our suite's well equipped kitchen allowed us to prepare our own meals.
We look forward to staying again.
Ps: We saw on the news a few weeks ago that the President stayed here. We wondered if he stayed in the very same suite we stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T0m_P51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

My boyfriend whisked me away for a surprise weekend getaway to Kingsmill after Valentine's Day, including a massage at the resort's spa. Upon entering the resort grounds, I was impressed by the scenic, peaceful residential setting and couldn't wait to explore it. My boyfriend caught hell checking us in because the front desk staff couldn't find the reservation he made weeks ago. It turned out someone booked the room reservation in MY name (which remains a mystery because he never gave them my name). Then, on top of that, we arrived after the check-in time but were told our suite was not ready. He spoke with a couple of staff members who were rude, condescending and incompetent. I jumped in and went from speaking to a front desk clerk to a manager to voice my complaints and to request some sort of compensation for the inconvenience. We were "upgraded" to a suite with a river view that was ready right away and were also given a discounted rate on our stay. I enjoyed the hour-long sampler massage (which emphasized more Swedish than hot stone) I received at the spa, though the tight space in which the lockers/dressing area was contained made it difficult for more than two women to maneuver the area in an attempt to disrobe or dress. My bf and I thought we'd be able to dine at whichever restaurant on the resort property specializes in seafood, but it turned out that we needed reservations. We ended up going to nearby Captain George's instead. The brunch we had in the Bray Dining Room was quite tasty; I particularly enjoyed the maple pecan danish. Our suite was clean, contemporary and spacious. The bed was comfortable, I LOVED the bathroom and the one-serving Keurig was a nice touch in the kitchen. We didn't get to use the fireplace that came with our suite. Aside from the unpleasant experience with the staff, we enjoyed our stay; however, service is realllly important....especially first impressions, which is why I took one star off my rating. I would be more willing to stay again than my boyfriend...we'd probably want to check other resorts in the area first if we are looking for a nearby place in a secluded setting to unplug and relax.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here on two occasions, once approx four years ago and this most recent trip in March of 2013. I paid about the same price for a shorter stay this time in comparing our four day stay years ago. The resort suites are not as I remember them. They are rather run down and not restocked with coffees or towels daily (as advised I did leave my dirty linens in the shower.) The dryer in our suite did not dry my clothes when I used them. Had to make arrangements to have the desk do this because I needed the clothes. My husband did get the dryer to work but it took several cycles to dry them. The Bray has a nice selection of food for breakfast but it should considering the price that"includes" this with the package for the room. The staff was nice enough but some people there did not seem very friendly especially the drivers and maintenance staff. Overall, I would rather pay less for this level of service. The place is convienent to many destinations and I wish it would have met my expectations.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smom1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I went to the Kingsmill Resort and Spa in June 2012, from the time we arrived on the premises, everyone who worked there greeted us. The resort was simply fabulous, from the lobby to rooms. Very clean, very spacious....cozy and clean....impressive

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beebat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed at the resort overnight to attend my spouse's summer work event. We were given a second floor room in one of the buildings near the main resort building. The resort is beautifully designed and maintained and very easy to get around (they provide golf cart pick-ups, but we walked everywhere). We enjoyed the pool, which looks out over the broad expanse of the James River. The meals (dinner and breakfast) were delicious and the staff was friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank idmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
7.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
4.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
3.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmill Resort

Property: Kingsmill Resort
Address: 1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#11 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsmill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsmill Resort is situated on 2,900 protected acres along the James River in historic Williamsburg, Virginia. At Kingsmill, we invite our guests to experience a relaxing retreat where casual elegance provides the perfect backdrop for a stress‐free getaway. Guest can relax in 425 exquisite villa‐style guest rooms and suites overlooking the sparkling James River. Situated adjacent to Busch Gardens, 5 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Kingsmill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmill Resort Williamsburg
Kingsmill Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing