We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is beautiful..and pricing is fantastic..”
Review of Kingsmill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kingsmill Resort
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This place is beautiful..and pricing is fantastic..”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here many times..and for good reason...We always have stayed in a one bedroom facing the tennis courts....and the suite was once again immaculate.....I mean it as if they were just built...I will list the pros and cons for easy reading...

Pros:
Clean rooms
VERY helpful staff
Wonderful restaurants with very good food (dont forget the one near the marina which is very relaxing with a good view.
Convienent to all the parks--very close
Gym---top notch and great classes that we partake in when we visit

Cons:
Hummm, somtimes the parking lots get full and we have to park far away.. (that was a 'stretch' for a Con but I couldnt think of anything else..!..)...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Jack Z,

“This place is beautiful” is a great compliment to Kingsmill Resort and our team members. We are extremely happy to hear that our staff was “VERY” helpful and that you thought our restaurants were “WONDERFUL”. We appreciate the feedback and thank you for staying with us. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again next year.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    420
    141
    69
    43
See reviews for
779
356
14
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went for New Year's Eve to relax as a couple in peace and everything was very easy and pleasant. The staff are really helpful and friendly, and don't seem judgmental if you're not the typical resort guest. The gym is fantastic and the indoor pool with Jacuzzi was just what we needed to relax. I didn't see it until we were leaving, but the ladies locker room has a sauna, steam room and private super-heated ladies jacuzzi. We even used the ping pong table in the game room! The restaurant at the marina has a great view and very nice food - I had the crab cakes for dinner and a portabello sandwich for lunch, and they were both amazing. The room, though not the nicest we've ever stayed in, was comfortable, private and clean. The bed was not too soft and not too hard - both my husband and I slept really well. So relaxing, and very reasonable. Oh, and for families, we saw lots of adolescents that were well behaved and happy with the facilities.

Room Tip: Next time we'll ask for a room with a view of the James river if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwyneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Gwyenth F,

“Everything was very easy and pleasant” is a great compliment to Kingsmill Resort and our team members. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for staying with us to ring in the New Year! We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again next year.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

It was the best of times … and worst of times … the New Year’s Eve Party at Kingsmill. We learned about the holiday party in a promotion through the mail. It sounded like fun, though a little pricey (around $500), and it was an excuse to get away for one last time in 2012 and usher-in 2013. The reservation process and follow-up were straight-forward and efficient. We arrived several hours early and our room was ready so it was great to get checked-in and unpack. We had a beautiful suite which came with the party package and it had a full kitchen, nice bathroom and wonderful bed with lots of pillows, fluffy sheets and comforters. Parking for the event was plentiful and there was a shuttle bus for guests who did not want to drive. Check-in for the party was efficient and we received our packet, drink tickets and name tags for our table assignment. The ball room was beautifully decorated and we found our way to our assigned table. From here, everything pretty much went downhill. The table was set for ten … we assumed adults … at this point we were introduced to two families with their kids … yes kids … come-on folks, this is New Year’s Eve. If you want to spend time with your kids go to Chucky Cheese or get a baby sitter - not a black tie News Years party. With this table arrangement, there was no adult dinner conversation … to say the least, any conversation which occurred was very stilted. The information for the party stated it was black-tie optional … it should have said coat and jacket mandatory … and then enforced. People showed up in casual slacks and open collar work shirts, quarter zip sweaters and one guy even wore his track suit … we’re no fashion consultants but it would be nice when spending this amount of money that people would dress appropriately for the event. Then the food started to arrive … lobster bisque – great presentation – cold / salad – great presentation – difficult to cut / filet and red snapper – both had mediocre taste – both cold / desert was a chocolate concoction with inedible wafers. Rolls were brought around at the beginning of the meal and were constantly being replaced at tables near ours but we never saw the roll person at our table after the first round. There were two bars and they had a good selection of wine, beers, hard liquor and non-alcoholic choices. We’ve had other meals at Kingsmill facilities they have always been great so this was a real letdown. Then there was the band … another letdown. It was one of those bands that would start playing and you thought you knew what they were playing (or not) but were never quite sure. The beat ALWAYS seemed off … you wanted to dance but it was difficult to dance to a song that didn’t sound right nor have the appropriate beat. On the plus side, there were many nice get away spots around the facility so you could escape the kids and band and just sit, talk, relax with a drink and enjoy the beautiful holiday decorations. If we were to grade this experience on the A to F scale, we would give it a C … the Kingsmill facilities and processes would get an A … the New Year’s Party would get an F. We would pass on this event in the future. If we were in the area would definitely go to the James River Grill, which is just down street from the party and directly on the water, and would have early dinner/drinks then find another venue for a New Year’s Party.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank vbrudee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear vbrudee,

Thank you for choosing Kingsmill Resort, my sincerest apologies for your experience regarding the New Year’s Eve celebration. I was able to review your comments with our team and we agreed to ensure that we enforce the dress code policy and age limit at this function next year. I was also able to review the quality of food comments with our Banquet Chef. I was however happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations. Your feedback is extremely important to us, because with out it, we cannot continue to improve our services.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here for only 1 night on 12/29/12. The resort, still decorated for Christmas is elegant. The lights and decorations are lovely and the location is great. The room was very clean. We had a great room, but the ice machines were taken away for the winter and next time we'll request a room on the first floor- since lugging suitcases up the stairs isn't great. Dinner at the bar at James Landing was excellent. We dined on crab bruchetta, fire roasted shrimp, and tuna tartar - all of that with a bottle of wine ... need I say more? Excellent !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor, unless you like to lug suitcases up a flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayMarshfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear JayMarshfield,

“A beautiful resort” is a great compliment to Kingsmill Resort and our team members. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a positive experience with our facilities, accommodations, and our Restaurants specifically the James Landing Grill. We truly have a wonderful chef and you are correct the crab bruschetta is amazing! I will be sure to pass on your kind comments. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again next year.


Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Me and my family enjoy this place! Its something that we have now included in our every year planning for vacation! Even if you have nothing else to do you will love just being there in the vicinity of this place!!! Excellent Excellent Excellent!!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Kendra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Kendra L,

“Best vacation spot” is a great compliment to Kingsmill Resort and our team members. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the feedback and thank you for staying with us; we hope to have the opportunity to host you again next year.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Rooms are Very Clean and I would give it 5 stars only a little too much noise when the people upstairs move around. Very Nice overall. Would definitely recommend. I love the soaps, shampoos and linens provided. The robes are very nice too. We ate at Captain George's as we always do while in Williamsburg . I would stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merrylandMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear merrylandMd,

We thank you for choosing Kingsmill Resort on your recent visit to Williamsburg, we are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the feedback and thank you for staying with us; we hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We recently went for ladies 3-days get-away weekend and Kingsmill VA accommodations and services were according with the 4 star standards. We took advantage of the suite fire place and the always available shuttle service since we got rainy weather conditions, which was perfect for our SPA and dinners plans. Saturday, we grabbed light lunch at Eagles before visiting Christmas Town (inside Busch Garden). We enjoyed Sunday brunch buffet at Bray Dining Room, everything was delicious including the superb coffee they offered, before spending the rest of the day at the SPA. We all got different services done and we were all pleased with them (pedicures, massages, scrubs).
We had dinner at James Landing Grille, we took advantage of the wine and appetizers Happy Hour specials and then treated ourselves with an amazing main course dinner. We shopped at Kingsmills shops as well as Merchants Square stores. On a side note, I forgot my prescription glasses in our suite. When I called, it was no problem for them to FedEx them right away. They came well packed! It was an unforgettable weekend! We had such a great time we may want to do this on a yearly basis and include more family members.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SplendorMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear SplendorMD,

“Unforgettable ladies 3-days get-away weekend” is a great compliment to Kingsmill Resort and our team members. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, spa, and resort facilities. I was also happy to hear that our lost and found division was able to FedEx your glasses that was left in your suite. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you and the ladies again next year.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
8.2 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
4.2 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
3.5 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmill Resort

Property: Kingsmill Resort
Address: 1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-5576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#11 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsmill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsmill Resort is situated on 2,900 protected acres along the James River in historic Williamsburg, Virginia. At Kingsmill, we invite our guests to experience a relaxing retreat where casual elegance provides the perfect backdrop for a stress‐free getaway. Guest can relax in 425 exquisite villa‐style guest rooms and suites overlooking the sparkling James River. Situated adjacent to Busch Gardens, 5 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsmill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmill Resort Williamsburg
Kingsmill Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing