We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great Lead Into Christmas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsmill Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kingsmill Resort
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Lead Into Christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We spent two days including Christmas Eve, what a pleasant get away and only an hour up the road from Va Beach. We have always wanted to go to Christmastown at Busch Gardens and Kingsmill offers shuttle service to the park which we opted not to do but wished we had because Sunday night was packed. When we got our tired selves back to the suite we called for a fire to be made and within minutes a nice cheerful young fellow was there along with housekeeping for a few more coffee k-cups. Next day off to Williamsburg Winery and a little lunch with a tour and tasting. Christmas Eve we had early reservations at the James Landing Grill and eveyones dinner was delicious...filet, tuna, pork ribs and a veggie pasta. They also have a good and reasonable wine list. We enjoyed the fire so much the night before we called and got the same great service then relaxed in the large living area with Miracle on 34th St to bring in Christmas.

The suite we had was very comfortable, the bathroom products were upscale and loved the tall pedestal sink. We will definitely stay again. My only negative is you can hear people walking around up above you and especially excited children running around knowing Santa is on his way.

Room Tip: We were in Bldg 17, it has a good view of the river and the spacious grounds, If your staying in a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shoregirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Shoregirls,

Thank you for choosing to spend your Holiday’s with us at Kingsmill Resort. We are happy to hear that we were able to provide you and your family a cozy and warm environment during your stay. Our wood burning fireplace is one of the unique features in our suites that we offer and sets the mood for that at “home” feeling. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again next year and hopefully to start a new family tradition.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    377
    128
    59
    38
See reviews for
690
297
10
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Its just a very relaxing spa feel and cozy feel throughout. Colonial williamsburg is a short trip there, complete with areas of old time war reenactments and reastaurants, shops and streets to match the times. So much to do you need more time then 1 wk trip. Dont forget to go to busch gardens or water country my kids favorite. Shop to you drop at all the outlets and local sshops near by while the guys relax or golf MY friends best thing to do. I enjoy the pool, spa and just relaxing!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Renee A,

Thank you for your kind comments about Kingsmill Resort, it truly is a beautiful and relaxing resort for a getaway with friends, family, or both! We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a positive experience with our facilities, accommodations, and our Restaurants. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again next year.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA USA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

An extended family get together over Thanksgiving was enhanced by the Kingsmill Resort and its attentive staff. We occupied three 3- bedroom units in buildings 23 and 25. Check-in was quick and efficient, the rooms were clean and well appointed and the staff unbelievable. It seemed anything was a phone call away, ie shuttle service, fire starting, great suggestions. We availed ourselves of the golf course, fitness center, playground, indoor pool, spa/salon, restaurant/bar and the grounds in general. Views of the James River were tranquil and awesome. With Williamsburg at the front and side entrances, this is simply a wonderful place to relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonQuix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear DonQuix,

“Simply a wonderful place to relax and enjoy” is a great compliment to Kingsmill Resort and our team members. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a positive experience with our facilities, accommodations, and our Restaurants. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again next year.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholasville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Kingsmill Resort for a weekend while visiting family. The resort grounds are beautifully manicured and our suite was lovely, complete with a woodburning fireplace. This is a very up-scale resort with friendly staff and several dining options available to guests. We enjoyed our breakfasts in the main dining room overlooking the James River. The food was delicious and the view was amazing in the early morning. We also enjoyed a superb dinner at the James Landing Grille which is also located on the waterfront at the Marina. The location is close to Colonial Williamsburg and other historical sites. We had a short stay so we didn't get to try out the many ammenities offered but we loved it and can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoseGA12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear roseGA12,

It is great to hear your experience at Kingsmill Resort was positive! We are happy you enjoyed our facilities and our restaurants, specifically The James Landing Grill. We are very proud of our new water front restaurant that we opened up last year. We appreciate your kind comments as your feedback is extremely important to us, because without it, we cannot continue to improve our services. Hope to see you and your family soon!


Warm Regards,
L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottesville
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I was here just one night to speak at a conference, so cannot say anything about the golf, tennis, spa, or other amenities of this elegant and well-maintained resort. It is 2 miles inside an upscale wooded residential area off US 60 and located on the bank of the James River, a few miles outside Williamsburg and close to a number of amusement parks and historic sites. There is shuttle service, although I did not use it. The Democratic Congressional National Caucus met here a few years ago, so you can imagine that it is a large and stately place that could hold such a prestigious event. Hotel rooms are located in a series of modern buildings stretching along the golf course and waterfront, so there is a short drive from check-in to your room. This is not convenient if you are attending a conference or on a business trip. The room was nice, but built for rest more than work. The desk chair was too low and there was not adequate desk lighting for work, although wifi was fine. The shower was easy to use, but a small, water-saver nozzle made it less than ideal. The buffet breakfast for $17 was fairly typical of a hotel buffet with made-to-order omlettes and the usual selection of breakfast fare. This place seems fine as a resort, but I would pass on it for a business stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvillediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Cvillediner,

We thank you for choosing Kingsmill Resort on your recent visit to Williamsburg, we are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Currently we are undergoing a soft goods renovation in our guest rooms, we will be changing our desk chairs that will be more comfortable and able to adjust to any height that you need. We appreciate the feedback and thank you for staying with us; we hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful Thanksgiving Dinner with Family. Amazing buffet with all the traditional comfort foods + more to please even the sophisticated palate. Our waterfront suite, w/balcony overlooking the James River was outstanding. The fireplace just topped it off every evening. Crackling, cozy fire as we prepared dinner in our own fully equipped kitchen. Really comfy home away from home :-). All of the staff were professional, friendly, gracious & kind!!!
We're thinking Christmas...

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank clearbrook6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Clearbrook6,

“Perfect Thanksgiving Getaway” is a great compliment to Kingsmill Resort and our team members. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for staying with us on such a special occasion. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again next year.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very nice resort with wonderful golf courses and tennis courts. There is an outdoor water park under construction so that will be an excellent addition for the kids. We love eating at Regatta's. Our kids lovee sitting at the pizza oven and making their own pizza. We used to enjoy eating at the Marina but they were under construction during our recent stay. We have been going to the Kingsmill for over 10 years. We enjoy stopping there for a 2 to 3 day stay on our way to the Outer Banks. Busch Gardens is literally right outside the resort. Unfortunately, we have noticed that the resort is starting to show some wear and lacks the same upscale customer service it once had. The kitchens in the suites are dated along with the living room decor. It looks as though no one is maintaining the outside of the units. There is always trash,trays and cobwebs everywhere. I wouldn't let the negatives deter you. The Kingsmill is still a nice resort and worth visiting.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lov2travv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Lov2travv,

Our sincerest apologies for your experience, we completed the construction for the Pool Complex and the James Landing Grill is now open for business. Next year we will begin our soft goods upgrade and make minor changes and updates in our guest rooms. As a return guest, your feedback is extremely important to us, because with out it, we cannot continue to improve our services.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
7.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#10 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmill Resort

Property: Kingsmill Resort
Address: 1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-5576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#11 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsmill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsmill Resort is situated on 2,900 protected acres along the James River in historic Williamsburg, Virginia. At Kingsmill, we invite our guests to experience a relaxing retreat where casual elegance provides the perfect backdrop for a stress‐free getaway. Guest can relax in 425 exquisite villa‐style guest rooms and suites overlooking the sparkling James River. Situated adjacent to Busch Gardens, 5 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kingsmill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmill Resort Williamsburg
Kingsmill Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing