We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let older reviews scare you!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Ranked #55 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 5, 2009

For an alumni trip down to William and Mary, my friends and I were looking for an inexpensive, convenient place to stay. We ended up booking the Westgate in spite of the reviews because we couldn't find anything better, and I'm SO glad we did. FYI if you book ahead online you can get a great rate- or if possible use the VA resident discount.

Beginning with check-in, the staff was friendly and accomodating. We had separately booked 2 rooms and didn't expect them to be together, and without being asked the staff said they could give one group of us a closer room if we waited about 1/2 hour. They also gave us extra parking passes.

We had zero complaints about the rooms- they were clean, spacious, and came with WAY more amenities than we'd been expecting (full kitchen, housewares,etc). All of our friends staying elsewhere were jealous of both the quality and price. Also there is a serious penalty for smoking in the rooms, so it smelled absolutely fresh, not the smoke-covered-up-with-fragrance smell that a lot of hotels have.

The hotel is situated within walking distance of the WM campus/colonial williamsburg (about 20 minutes), which is great if you know how difficult parking can be on holiday weekends. It's also right near a Dunkin Donuts- don't judge, everyone needs caffeine.

Overall I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel and will be staying there if I ever take a group trip back to the 'burg again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robyngrace86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2015

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay here. We do hope you visit us again!

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

444 - 450 of 479 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2009

After reading the reviews I was afraid of what I was going to stumble on. I was greatly surprised to find a nice place. The room was not big but comfortable, the bathroom very clean, extra sheets, pillows and comforter in the closet. Very soft and clean towels. The people of the reception were very friendly. The location, excellent. Close to the Historic Williamsburg and close to restaurants and breakfast places.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisandwanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2015

We appreciate your review! It is great to hear you enjoyed our resort. We hope to see you soon!

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

I called and booked a stay at this resort. Not knowing anything about it, while speaking to the representative, I google a review for this hotel. The reviews were pretty bad so while talking on the phone I told them to go ahead and cancel the reservation. I was on the phone for a while and no supervisor available to cancel. He finnally comes online and he deffers my call to someone else. I told him that I want to cancel and he still puts me on hold. Finally he tells me to call another number and I called. The lady on the phone saids that there are no supervisors available and to wait for a call from a representative within 24 hrs. I guess they are waining for my charge to come through and hopefuly I will be able to cancel this reservation.....

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank glennntpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2015

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We have made many improvements since you last booked with us. It is unfortunate that you did not get to stay at our resort and hope you give us a chance in the future.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

I have to admit, I checked the reviews with this hotel the day before I went to Williamsburg. But once I was there I was relieved. The hotel was SPOTLESS CLEAN. After watching dateline tonight a few years ago, I got the idea to always travel with a black light. The sheets were CLEAN no mysterious stains, or any stains for that matter. I found the staff at Westgate very helpful. They gave us great advice on where to park and what to see in Virginia Beach. As far as location, it was in a nice neighborhood, close to shopping and restaurants. We were able to pickup some food at Walgreens which was very cheap, and another supermarket which I can't think of at the moment. The old historic area by William & Mary, is beautiful. Stores are a little pricey, but what do you expect in a tourist area. I could go on and on about how great this vacation was. I would go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2015

Thank you for your feedback. It is wonderful to know you had such a great stay! Please visit us again.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

I was planning to write a generally good review about this resort, but, alas, it has turned out to be our worst experience ever! BEWARE - there seems to be a scam taking place at this resort. I found a $200 charge on my credit card (three weeks after we checked out) for what they are claiming is a damaged coffee table. The picture they sent me could have been from any room, taken at anytime with a water ring on the wood table, and they claim that it is 'unusable'. They insist they are allowed to charge us this money to refurbish their room. How many other families have been forced to pay for the upkeep of this place?? How dare they charge anything to my credit card after I have already checked out with a receipt from their own computer with a $0 balance!! Now I have to dispute this because it's their word against ours! If there was a problem, why didn't they contact us to question it? Why didn't they send us a bill? etc. I truly feel they tried to steal my money, hoping that I wouldn't find out. Be sure to check out with a manager in your room before you leave the premises. Better yet, stay at a different timeshare in the area. They offer much more, and take much less.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NYaspiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2015

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We have made many improvements since you last stayed with us and hope you visit again.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

I own a Westgate Time Share and I actually stayed in the beautiful rooms on there web site. me and my family stayed in the 2 room suit, It was four of us and we loved it, we didn't check out the pool but it didn't look to inviting. I agree that the Heritage in looks a lot worse but if you own a Westgate time share it is great. But the Timeshare runs us about 600 dollars a year and we get it for a week out of the year, If you want a beter time you should purchase a timeshare but only if you plan to take a vacation a week out of every year

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank iamsocool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2015

Thank you for being apart of the Westgate family! It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay with us. We cannot wait to see you at another one of our Westgate Resorts.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

I was highly disappointed when I booked a 5 day vacation thru Westgate Resorts, VA. They advised that they were booked but they could accomodate my request and book a room for me on their property called Heritage Inn. The Heritage had the same address as Westgate so I believed it can't be too bad if they are on the same property- not!!! Westgate was beautiful - a 3 or 5 star hotel and Heritage Inn was disgusting and was not even a half star motel! It was a bait and switch-- They went from Hotel standards to below Motel standards but claimed that Heritage Inn was our "Home away from home". When I opened the door to my room at Heritage, the smell literally knocked me backwards outside into the corridors- it was the worst smell I've ever smelled- it smelled like someone had a fecal matter fetish on top of vomiting and this was not cleaned from the rugs. The offensive odor made my stomach turn. There were bugs smashed on the walls and the bedding was torn, holy and dingy. The sofa had a big hole in it. This is not my home away from home- stay away from Heritate Inn if u don't want to endure the worst smell of your lifetime!! Westgate Resorts need to be ashamed to offer such horrible accomodations on their property- very misleading and they are living off their name b/c their motel was worse than a rathole!! After this nightmare, we checked in and checked out within the first 20 minutes of being in Heritage Inn, demanded our $ back and went to Holiday Inn down the street which felt more like my "Home away from Home" and it smelled refreshing and clean. We then began our vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PennsylvaniaPurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2015

Thank you for your feedback. We have made many improvements since you last stayed with us and hope you visit again.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
0.9 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
3.5 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#13 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort

Address: 1324 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2837 (Formerly Heritage Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#21 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $66 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ideal Choice for Your Williamsburg Vacation Getaway Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort in Williamsburg, Virginia, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home, all within minutes of area attractions such as Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens Williamsburg and Water Country USA. Accommodations at our Williamsburg, VA hotel range from cozy studios to spacious one- and two-bedroom villas with fully equipped kitchens, queen sleeper sofas, separate living and dining areas, satellite TVs with DVD players and full baths with jetted tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Westgate Historic Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Westgate Historic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing