We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Ranked #57 of 76 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Came down for July 4th weekend, checked in July 2-4, 2013. Stood in a studio room. Room was a bit small for my taste, but that's my own fault as I was comparing it to Westgate Lakes down in Orlando. It was definitely comfortable and clean, however. The studio has a small kitchenette with a refrigerator to store items, a queen size bed, and a sofa that turns into a double bed.

Check in was great, customer service very friendly. I was traveling with a guest with a disability and when I saw the receptionists making conversation with him, it was very nice on their part.

Pool was nice and clean. They have an great life size chess board on the pool deck, spent a good hour playing on that.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you are used to renting studios at other hotels, I recommend renting a one bedroom at this one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience here at the Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort. We train our staff to be friendly, welcoming, and helpful. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the room amenities, resort amenities, as well as our great location! We really look forward to you and your loved ones staying with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    122
    58
    40
    63
See reviews for
179
155
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a three bedroom suite with a full kitchen (equipped with dishes and cookware). Each room had its own bathroom with a Jacuzzi tub. The Master bedroom had a two person Jacuzzi and extremely spacious shower. The grounds were clean and well kept. The rooms were spacious and clean. The family felt comfortable and had a great stay. We were all very happy!

Room Tip: Try to get a three bedroom suite if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We are very happy to hear you had an awesome experience at our Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort! Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. It’s great to hear you found value in your in room amenities. We would be honored if you would come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookneal, Virginia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

As a timeshare owner, we were very disappointed with the studio size of this resort. The microwave is old, as is the TV, and there are no other cooking facilities other than the microwave. There was no dishwasher, even though the cabinets were full of dishes. Our biggest complaint was we found housekeeping had come in to our room while we were gone, then woke us up again the next day for some unknown reason. (We didn't open the door . . just told them we "were" still sleeping.) Otherwise, if you are staying just for one night, and are by yourself, this wasn't bad. I was with my daughter and we found it to be extremely cramped.

Room Tip: If you don't want to be woke up by housekeeping, request "no service" at the front des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Every time we receive a review from a guest we want to thank you for taking the time to do so, and we appreciate you providing us with your business. Our guests are always number one, and your responses make us want to work even harder to provide an exceptional experience for you. Thank you again and we hope you will visit us again, so that we can provide a greater experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

When we made the reservation our credit card was charged for the full amount. Then when we showed up an additional $50 was charged on the credit card for "incidentals."

We rented a suite that was supposed to have two beds, a full-size bed and a sofa-bed. The room had a smell and the sofa-bed was not made, there were no sheets in the room, and the mattress was so thin that we could feel all of the springs. We didn't take the room and were instead directed to another room that had two twin beds. The elevator to that room had a horrible smell of mold. The second room had an overpowering small of either mold or some kind of artificial scent. We were told that the smell was a room freshener used in every room.

We left and got a room a chain hotel down the street which was considerably less.

Room Tip: Smell rooms in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chinny100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We love to hear back from our guests on their experiences. We focus on providing the best experience that we can for our guests, so your review will be used for just that. We hope that you will make Westgate Historic Williamsburg your choice in the future so that we may provide a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Williamsburg hotels

Bowie, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was happy to find a "one bedroom SUITE" near the Colonial Williamsburg city for just under $200 for the night. We were only staying one night and we wanted to stay in style. It was my husband and two young boys and myself staying. We booked on Booking.com. To me, a "one bedroom suite" indicates a bedroom and a separate living area. When we got there late in the evening, I was excited to see our suite! We opened the door and there was the bedroom. I looked around for the rest of the suite and there wasn't any! This was nothing but a hotel room, and a very small one at that! The front desk called to see if all was ok, and I asked if this was actually a "suite" and was told it was. It had a pullout love seat with the dirtiest, most stained, disgusting mattress I've ever seen! The fitted sheet provided came nowhere near fitting it, so we had to use an extra blanket we found as a fitted sheet. My husband and one of the boys slept on it. He said it was horrible!

You couldn't get from the bed to the bathroom without having to crawl over the sofa bed because it extended all the way across the room! Except for that mattress, it appeared to be a clean room. It appeared to be newly painted as well. We took a late night swim, and the bottom of the pool was a bit slimy in areas. The staff was friendly and nice. We could hear everything through our walls from the room next door, including the TV.

I wouldn't stay there again. Don't let the term "suite" fool you! It was pretty dang expensive for a tiny hotel room!

Room Tip: Ask specifically what your room is like. Don't think a "suite" is an actual suite! Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laa1434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We truly appreciate your comments about your recent stay with us. Please accept our apologies in regard to your overall stay. The issues encountered by you will be shared with management in order to make sure we are providing the best service we can. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I received a 3 day, 2 night stay as part of a charity auction package I purchased and we used it on our family summer trip. The staff was extremely helpful and nice throughout our stay. The suite was very clean and the accommodations over all are definitely ideal, especially if you're wanting to save money on eating out as there is a grocery store just around the corner to where you can fill up the fridge and a full working kitchen to make your breakfast, lunch or dinner in your suite. Also, each room has been assigned an historical figure name and they have a binder that give you a summary of the various historical figures which my son enjoyed. Will definitely stay here again if we visit Williamsburg again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Our staff strives to be attentive & give great service, and we're delighted to see that you experienced that. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the room amenities and our great location! We really look forward to you and your family staying with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Palestine, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here as an exchange to our timeshare in Florida. Although the rooms and condo were much smaller than the condo in Florida - everything was in tip top shape. Clean - tidy and when we needed towels or anything else - we got them! Conveniently located to Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown and other historic sites. A day trip to Washington D.C. was even convenient!
In Florida, is is commonplace to help yourself to breakfasts and eat by the pool. We were not aware this is a bit different at this resort. My eldest daughter was reprimanded for walking through the sales area with breakfast. I suggested they either move where they sell so guests can enjoy the amenities provided - or they use the happy faced guests as selling points!
Our representative was Margie - and she made EVERYTHING BETTER! Everything! She was the most sincere rep we've ever had at a Westgate resort - and we've been to many. Her personal notes were great - and she was sincere to the max! Front desk gals were the bomb too! So were the groundskeepers - they were characters.
Great restaurant right next door called The Library - local restaurant with local owners.
Even though there were a few hiccups - there was nothing that would prevent us from staying here again. We will be back.

R. Ackley

Fairland, INDIANA

Room Tip: We were on the third floor overlooking the pool. Would have like to have had a balcony - those are...
See more room tips
Green Features: They strongly suggest recycling - both trash and the use of towels, suggesting guests use a towel more than once to dry off - which we were happy to do. Trash receptacles in the kitchen offer a recycle bin and a regular trash bin to make separating easy.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Our staff strives to be attentive & give great service, and we're delighted to see that you experienced that. We always look forward to providing our owners and guests with a memorable vacation. We hope you will visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.6 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 76 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
#25 of 76 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort

Property: Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Address: 1324 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2837 (Formerly Heritage Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#21 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ideal Choice for Your Williamsburg Vacation Getaway Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort in Williamsburg, Virginia, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home, all within minutes of area attractions such as Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens Williamsburg and Water Country USA. Accommodations at our Williamsburg, VA hotel range from cozy studios to spacious one- and two-bedroom villas with fully equipped kitchens, queen sleeper sofas, separate living and dining areas, satellite TVs with DVD players and full baths with jetted tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Westgate Historic Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Westgate Historic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing