We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Ranked #56 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bowie, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was happy to find a "one bedroom SUITE" near the Colonial Williamsburg city for just under $200 for the night. We were only staying one night and we wanted to stay in style. It was my husband and two young boys and myself staying. We booked on Booking.com. To me, a "one bedroom suite" indicates a bedroom and a separate living area. When we got there late in the evening, I was excited to see our suite! We opened the door and there was the bedroom. I looked around for the rest of the suite and there wasn't any! This was nothing but a hotel room, and a very small one at that! The front desk called to see if all was ok, and I asked if this was actually a "suite" and was told it was. It had a pullout love seat with the dirtiest, most stained, disgusting mattress I've ever seen! The fitted sheet provided came nowhere near fitting it, so we had to use an extra blanket we found as a fitted sheet. My husband and one of the boys slept on it. He said it was horrible!

You couldn't get from the bed to the bathroom without having to crawl over the sofa bed because it extended all the way across the room! Except for that mattress, it appeared to be a clean room. It appeared to be newly painted as well. We took a late night swim, and the bottom of the pool was a bit slimy in areas. The staff was friendly and nice. We could hear everything through our walls from the room next door, including the TV.

I wouldn't stay there again. Don't let the term "suite" fool you! It was pretty dang expensive for a tiny hotel room!

Room Tip: Ask specifically what your room is like. Don't think a "suite" is an actual suite! Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laa1434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We truly appreciate your comments about your recent stay with us. Please accept our apologies in regard to your overall stay. The issues encountered by you will be shared with management in order to make sure we are providing the best service we can. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    125
    59
    40
    63
See reviews for
182
160
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I received a 3 day, 2 night stay as part of a charity auction package I purchased and we used it on our family summer trip. The staff was extremely helpful and nice throughout our stay. The suite was very clean and the accommodations over all are definitely ideal, especially if you're wanting to save money on eating out as there is a grocery store just around the corner to where you can fill up the fridge and a full working kitchen to make your breakfast, lunch or dinner in your suite. Also, each room has been assigned an historical figure name and they have a binder that give you a summary of the various historical figures which my son enjoyed. Will definitely stay here again if we visit Williamsburg again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Our staff strives to be attentive & give great service, and we're delighted to see that you experienced that. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the room amenities and our great location! We really look forward to you and your family staying with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Palestine, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here as an exchange to our timeshare in Florida. Although the rooms and condo were much smaller than the condo in Florida - everything was in tip top shape. Clean - tidy and when we needed towels or anything else - we got them! Conveniently located to Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown and other historic sites. A day trip to Washington D.C. was even convenient!
In Florida, is is commonplace to help yourself to breakfasts and eat by the pool. We were not aware this is a bit different at this resort. My eldest daughter was reprimanded for walking through the sales area with breakfast. I suggested they either move where they sell so guests can enjoy the amenities provided - or they use the happy faced guests as selling points!
Our representative was Margie - and she made EVERYTHING BETTER! Everything! She was the most sincere rep we've ever had at a Westgate resort - and we've been to many. Her personal notes were great - and she was sincere to the max! Front desk gals were the bomb too! So were the groundskeepers - they were characters.
Great restaurant right next door called The Library - local restaurant with local owners.
Even though there were a few hiccups - there was nothing that would prevent us from staying here again. We will be back.

R. Ackley

Fairland, INDIANA

Room Tip: We were on the third floor overlooking the pool. Would have like to have had a balcony - those are...
See more room tips
Green Features: They strongly suggest recycling - both trash and the use of towels, suggesting guests use a towel more than once to dry off - which we were happy to do. Trash receptacles in the kitchen offer a recycle bin and a regular trash bin to make separating easy.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Our staff strives to be attentive & give great service, and we're delighted to see that you experienced that. We always look forward to providing our owners and guests with a memorable vacation. We hope you will visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Not what I would call a "resort". Pool is small, no restaurant, limited activities/recreation available on-site, but we thought it was quite clean and we got a great deal.. only paid $113/night. That was much better than any hotel and we were able to leave our Yorkie in the room for a few hours at a time with no problem and saved money eating dinner in due to the well-equipped kitchen!! The staff always responded quickly to our requests. We also had a washer and dryer in our suite. Cant beat that when you have kids! Would definitely stay again as a guest, just not sure why anyone would purchase it as a timeshare.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarney12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much your review. It’s great to hear you found value in your in room amenities. We thank you for letting us know your experience with us. Thanks for trusting us with your vacation; we hope we will be on your mind next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The staff is very accomodating which was the highlight of this stay. However, there are a few things that I did not like. First, there are no ice buckets. There is however an icemaker on the second floor of the main building. After searching for it and asking three different Westgate staff where it is, we found it. It was out of service. The washers/dryers were difficult to use. Once the clothers go on dry, the dryer is locked. You either must allow it to run (for three hours) or unplug it to unlock it. The mattress on the pull out sofa has seen many better days/years.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momofaandb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you experience such challenges with our amenities. We will share your review with the appropriate staff to get those resolved at the resort. We are glad that you found our staff to be “very accommodating” and we look forward to hosting you and your family at the resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Williamsburg hotels

Kapaa, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

First off, I am surprised at some the not so good comments posted. Many are during the same time as our stay which was June 12-15. This resort was beyond exceptional for us and we would stay there with out hesitation again. Super clean, super great staff on all levels from front desk to security to the maintenance guys keeping everything working. Yes it is a timeshare and with that said it was beyond comfortable and super clean...did I say that already.

While there a storm front came through that knocked down trees all over Williamsburg and of course the power was out. Fortunately just over night. The staff was so helpful checking on rooms to be certain guests were OK and if anything was needed. The Security staff covered the floors regularly through out the night and even provided glow sticks so we could see in our rooms during the night time hours. At home problems like this are manageable when on vacation in a room with two teenage daughters no so much. Westgate helped us manage it just fine.

All the staff was great. For us, Judy at the front desk was exceptional. She was very friendly and helpful. She checked us in quickly and even made sure we had a room comfortable enough to fit our family. Oh and did I mention the place and the room was clean. I make this point over and over because the entire property was immaculate.

We did not use many of the amenities while there because of playing tourist all hours of the day but they had quite a bit. Horse shoes, sand volleyball court, small putting lanes, grills, picnic tables, a nice gazebo, pool, pingpong and a giant chess game that my kids loved.

Really any issue of contention regarding the Westgate Historic is misguided. If you are questioning a place to stay, don't, Westgate is the place to stay. 10 minutes from Busch Gardens and Water Country USA, Jamestown is just 15 minutes or less and Yorktown was not more than 20. Williamsburg historic area and shops are just a mile or so away...you could walk it if you liked.

This has been an all around great stay for us and it will be for you too.

Thanks Westgate Historic Williamsburg!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KekoaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so very happy to hear you had an amazing time with us at Westgate Historic Williamsburg. We pride ourselves in many things, from superior customer service, to our beautiful grounds. We definitely strive to provide the best amenities and activities for our guests to experience as well. Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selinsgrove, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We actually got to stay here for free thanks to ambit energy! Everything was fantastic. When we come back to Williamsburg, we will definitely stay here again! It is in the most convenient location - close to restaurants, historical sites, mini golf (recommend Gold Rush mini golf at Go-Carts Plus), Busch gardens, water country USA, etc... The staff were great - showed us to our room, explained how to get everywhere in the hotel, and offered assistance with finding where we'd like to go in town. Our room was very clean, and the bed was comfortable. The pool and hot tub are amazing too! Overall - great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrookeV2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
It’s fantastic that you had a spectacular time with us during your stay at Westgate Historic Williamsburg! Our guests are ALWAYS number one, and your responses make us want to work even harder to provide an exceptional experience for you. Our rooms are clean, with a bed that provides a good night sleep. We want you to be well rested to get out there and check out all of our activities and amenities! Please come back and let us WOW you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
#25 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.6 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#4 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
1.8 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#52 of 74 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort

Property: Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Address: 1324 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2837 (Formerly Heritage Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#21 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ideal Choice for Your Williamsburg Vacation Getaway Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort in Williamsburg, Virginia, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home, all within minutes of area attractions such as Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens Williamsburg and Water Country USA. Accommodations at our Williamsburg, VA hotel range from cozy studios to spacious one- and two-bedroom villas with fully equipped kitchens, queen sleeper sofas, separate living and dining areas, satellite TVs with DVD players and full baths with jetted tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Westgate Historic Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Westgate Historic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing