We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five stars for Tony Clarke at the Westgate Historic Williamsburg!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I took my 10-year-old nephew and 86-year-old mom on a road trip from Boston, MA to Washington, DC, Alexandria, Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown, VA during school vacation week. We left Alexandria to go to the Westgate in Williamsburg, and I relied on my GPS to direct us. We were on a dark highway at 9:30 pm when the GPS said "arriving at destination". Panicked, and in the middle of nowhere, (I left the Virginia map at our previous hotel), we got off at the next exit in search of an open gas station and guidance. A very nice couple at the station pointed us towards Williamsburg, and said we had gone about an hour out of our way. We stopped for further directions to Colonial Williamsburg, and once we were closer to our destination, called the hotel to ask for specific directions to the Westgate. I spoke with Judy who gave me instructions and said we were 15 minutes away. It was dark, and we drove around for a half hour, having missed, or not able to recognize any of the signs. I called the hotel again, and on the other end of the line was Tony Clarke. He very kindly and patiently stayed on the phone with me until we arrived at the front entrance of the Westgate Resort to a standing ovation at midnight. With his reassuring manner, he helped calm a carful of extremely anxious travelers. I was never happier to see anyone, and will always remember the kindness he showed us.

With all the tragic and negative news we hear daily, especially from our hometown of Boston, it's easy to be cynical. Tony is a shining example of the kindness of strangers, and someone who goes the extra mile. I hope the Westgate Historic Williamsburg management recognizes the stellar employee they have in Tony Clarke. We won't forget him.

Kudos also to the gentleman in security who was part of our late-night welcoming committee. He allowed us to park out front and took our bags to our room, refusing to accept a tip.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg. We teach our entire team the importance of going above and beyond, and it is gratifying to hear that our team has done something extraordinary. We are not surprised about your remarks about Tony-he does this for all of our guests. We are glad you experienced our 5 Star Service. Please come visit us again.

Sincerely,
The Westgate Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
There are newer reviews for Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 473 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just spent a week on the property and found great employees, with outstanding desires to assist you in any way. Margit, our consierge' ...OUTSTANDING!, Chris....great personality, quick witted and both folks are a huge asset to the Westgate Family.
This property although smaller than most is great and what it lacks in size makes up for it by having GREAT personnel on staff.....ALL with one goal.....customer satisfaction. Room , spotless, clean, all electronics working adequately, good bang for the buck.. My One bedroom unit was ample in size and very neat.

Room Tip: When you arrive, ask to see Chris or Margie( our outstanding consierge), they will guide you to rea...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

We appreciate you sharing “The Good Side of Westgate”. We take pride in offering first class service to all of our guests. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your one bedroom villa and that it was spotless, clean, and provided adequate space. Thank you for allowing Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg to be a part of your vacation experience.

Sincerely,
The Westgate Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Positive - safe, very comfortable beds, useful kitchen and great shower.
Negative - dark studio, cramped with no comfortable seating, no pool drinks or service.

My husband and I - we are Westgate owners - stayed in a studio - the fact that a previous reviewer said that it was suitable for one person - says it all. The studios are in a block on three floors. The only window looks on to the covered walkway - has screening and nets - so the accommodation is very dark. We had 2 queen beds, a small table and two bar stools - so nowhere comfortable to sit. We lay on the beds. There is no balcony - we felt very cooped up and have been in far superior hotel rooms. A small kitchen which was very useful and a good shower and bathroom completed the accommodation. Our 'personal concierge' was too full on - accusing us of having our guard up - well we had travelled overnight from the UK and as independent travellers we like to make our own plans. Finally, although the beds were extremely comfortable we left early - having got fed up with the dark, oppressive nature of the room - and we are usually easily pleased. On unpacking at our next accommodation I have discovered that all my clothes smell.There is a pool, hot tub, table tennis, childrens play area, chess and shuffle board - but little atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elainer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apology. You pointed out a number of things that we can improve on, but you also mentioned some good things about Westgate. Thank you for mentioning our outdoor pool, hot tub and playground. We also offer chess, table tennis, and corn hole.

Sincerely,
The Westgate Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have stayed here twice as we travel to Williamsburg often. We stayed in suites each time and found them clean, functional and comfortable, but not tremendously large. We book it as we would any hotel and not the time-share route. The location is a little far from Colonial Williamsburg, but it is walkable. Our only complaint has been the check in and check out process (not the people). It seems more cumbersome than hotels we normally stay at. Perhaps that is a function of the time-share aspect. All-in-all we find it very suitable when it is just the two of us staying in town.

Room Tip: The junior suites are a reasonably good value and appropriately sized for two people.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TVLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Westgate Resorts is a pleasant place to stay in Williamsburg. The resort is about a half mile from the College of William & Mary and Colonial which makes it one of the premiere locations in Williamsburg. Thank you for sharing your check-in and check-out experience we will continue to find ways to make this process more efficient. We are glad all in all you were pleased with your stay. We appreciate you choosing Westgate Resorts not once, but twice.

Sincerely,
The Westgate Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed there twice last week. One night by myself in a studio and the second visit we were in a one bedroom. Studio is a little smaller then most but sufficient for one person. Great location with walking distance of historic downtown. Staff was very friendly, especially Audry, Kaqul, Chey, Eduardo and Kris.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgt_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

We are glad that Westgate Resorts provided you an excellent place to stay in Historic Williamsburg. Our staff takes pleasure in meeting the expectations of our guests. As you stated, we have a prime location within walking distance of the historic downtown area. We also have accommodations that will sleep from one to eight people. Thank you for visiting us twice and we look forward to seeing you again on future trips to Williamsburg.

Sincerely,
The Westgate Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Spent April 6-13 at this resort, we have been Westgate owners for many years and this was the worst Westgate we have ever stayed at. Have no complaints at all about other Westgate locations. Our room had not been cleaned for many months. How could you tell you ask, well there was spilt coffee on the stove top, food on the stove door and refrigerator door, skillet was dirty. Thick dust on the fans, cobwebs above the fans, thick dust on the baseboards, outlets, panes of doors, molding, dust and cobwebs behind bedroom door. Microwave vents had visible dust, plus vents on the room itself, soap scum on shower walls. Water droplets ran from someones hands running down bathroom walls. Things that were broken: tiolet paper holder (fell off), shower handle (fell off), toilet moves when you sit, bedroom carpet lifted by the hottub, open floor seams in kitchen, frig is not level, dishwasher not attached. Mgr sent cleaning staff back to our room, but only cleaned fan blades, nothing else. To top it off the manager didn't do anything else after that or what she should have to make it all right. Just made excuses. Purchased our own cleaning products to get us through the week. We took pics off all these things and put in a complaint. Will NEVER stay here again. When we left for the week there was another lady outside ready to complain about her room also. Fortunately, we spent all of our time at Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown which was great, plus had awesome weather.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anscoma11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

We apologize for your horrible experience. We obviously failed to meet your and our own expectations. We value customer feedback, especially owners, because it allows us to improve our product and service to our guests. Westgate Resorts and Williamsburg is a wonderful place to visit-it is a short drive to Yorktown, Jamestown, Virginia Beach and Washington D.C. is a day trip away.

Sincerely,
The Westgate Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I will start with the fact that the Front Desk Staff (Tony from Baltimore and a lovely woman from New York whose name I sadly forget) were perhaps the friendliest people I have ever met. I was then directed to the concierge who sternly informed me that if I didn't maintain a handwritten slip of paper on my dashboard I would be towed.

I booked as a guest, presumably filling an empty room their timeshare members had not filled. After check-in, I was shown to the elevator through the CEO's hall of narcissism with photos of him with various celebrities, up to my floor which reeked of a sickly-sweet air freshener. My room was a B room, which meant it adjoins another room and is separated by a locked but paper thin door. Everything from the next room was audible; thankfully, they were only interested in having a conversation. The room was fairly well equipped with everything from a fridge to a blender, but no room for a bedside table on both sides of the bed. The toilet was like a jet engine but still took about 5 seconds of holding the handle down to fully flush. The Shower/Bath featured jets and bubbling mechanisms with a warning on the side telling you how to enter. You need to be a giraffe to do so.

No free WiFi or access to the benefits of being a member.

Overall, not bad. The personality of the front desk staff the night I checked in kept me from complaining in person.

My advice to Westgate: If you want to fill your rooms, fine. Treat those of us that fill your rooms when you can't with the same courtesy your give your members.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for the kind words about Tony and Judy, who are a part of our great Front Desk team. Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg is within walking distance of Colonial Williamsburg and many restaurants. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback which gives us the opportunity to correct our shortcomings. We apologize for those shortcomings. We promise to provide a better vacation experience for you on your next visit to Williamsburg.

Sincerely,
The Westgate Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.8 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#59 of 73 in Williamsburg
503 reviews
0.9 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
731 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort

Address: 1324 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2837 (Formerly Heritage Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#21 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $73 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ideal Choice for Your Williamsburg Vacation Getaway Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort in Williamsburg, Virginia, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home, all within minutes of area attractions such as Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens Williamsburg and Water Country USA. Accommodations at our Williamsburg, VA hotel range from cozy studios to spacious one- and two-bedroom villas with fully equipped kitchens, queen sleeper sofas, separate living and dining areas, satellite TVs with DVD players and full baths with jetted tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Westgate Historic Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Westgate Historic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing