We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Ranked #58 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's Okay”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

It's really not a bad place to stay; we had a bad experience with our room though: hair in the dresser drawers, filthy baseboards and vents, and a weird smell. The people are friendly and tried to make things right. It is in a good area with quick and easy access to a lot of stuff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We really take pride in our customer service and cleanliness. We apologize for our shortcomings in the cleaning of your unit. We are glad you noted we tried to make things right. The Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg location is awesome-within walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg and near great shopping and many restaurants.

Sincerely,
The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    126
    64
    42
    66
See reviews for
189
162
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This Westgate property is nicely renovated, especially for an old hotel. The suite included a living room, kitchen with eat at bar, two bedrooms, two baths and a laundry closet. The rooms were a little small but clean and well furnished.The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is wonderful. We were minutes from everything! This was a wonderful place to visit off season.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elsiemae60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We appreciate you sharing your Colonial Williamsburg experience while staying at Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg. The two bedroom suite is ideal for families and includes a living room, full kitchen, eat at bar, two baths, a washer and dryer. Our friendly staff and excellent location makes our resort a wonderful place to visit. Williamsburg is a great place to visit during the off season.

Thank you,

The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great location, less than a mile from Colonial Williamsburg, lots of places to eat within walking distance--if you want great pizza, try the Library next door to the resort, food store and shopping mall a block away. Easy access in and out of resort even in rush hour traffic.

I have been in a lot of resorts and the one-bedroom unit we had was the best designed to utilize the space available of any I have ever been inside. Of course, if we had had 4 people, it would not have been as pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We appreciate you sharing with everyone your experience at our "Wonderful Resort". You are right about the great pizza at the Library Tavern. Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg is a convenient location for shopping and dining. The one bedroom unit is well designed and is equipped with a living room, full kitchen and jacuzzi. Please come back and visit us again!

Thank you,

The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Fantastic property. Clean rooms, great staff, great location. The best. This is a historic building that has been renovated so the rooms are not huge but they are very nicely done, clean and functional. Lots of services - restaurants close by - 5 minutes to Historic Williamsburg Visitors Center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your excellent vacation experience at Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg. It is a fantastic property. The rooms are decorated with great attention to detail and our location is second to none. We have clean rooms and our #1 asset is our great staff.

Sincerely,

The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I'm a Westgate owner. I've had issues at this particular Westgate but nothing that couldn't be fixed. I've always found the room to be clean and the staff friendly. The location is great and convenient to the area. I come here (Williamsburg) on business and will continue to stay at my Westgate timeshare.

Room Tip: Tell the desk you want "building A". It has inside corridors and is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7445OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to know that you found the room to be clean and the staff friendly. The location is great and centrally located to all attractions. On your next visit, please share your issues with our management team-there may be a solution after all. We appreciate you being a Westgate Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington nc
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We enjoyed our one bedroom apt. Nice bath, jacuzzi, kitchen, and living room. Small but fine for a short stay. Amenities are few but the location on Richmond Road is short drive to Colonial Williamsburg and full of good restaurants. Cannot believe a better locale exists in the town for the first time visitors particularly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piratehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your "Great Williamsburg Stay" at Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg. The one bedroom Villa has a jacuzzi bath, kitchen, and living room. You are right, there is not a better location in town. We are within walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg and the College of William & Mary and very close to many good restaurants.

Sincerely,

The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Westgate recently for our college reunion. We booked two suites, one 2-bedroom and one 1-bedroom. We requested that both rooms be close to eachother. Upon arrival we were very pleased to find out that our request had been accomodated! The resort rooms were very clean and comfortable (especially the beds, with pillow tops and goose down comforters!) There was a TV in every room and the kitchen area was great as well and fully stocked with dinner/cooking ware, coffee supplies, paper towels, etc. The fridgerator was also very clean. It was nice that free coffee was provided in the lobby as well. Each room was equipped with a hair dryer as well.

The only thing I would recommend is that you ask if each room has a shower vs. a jacuzzi bathroom. Some of the bigger rooms/apartments only have a jacuzzi tub with hand held shower nozzle, so we had to share the one shower in the 2-bedroom unit.

Otherwise, this is an EXCELLENT value vs. some of the other neighboring hotels in the Williamsburg area. Very clean, well kept and very friendly/helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask about the showers and which rooms have a regular, stand up shower vs. a jacuzzi tub with a hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGMLeesburg_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg for your college reunion. You mentioned many of the features of our resort, but we also have an arcade, outdoor cooking area, fitness center and an outdoor pool with a hot tub. Westgate Resorts is an excellent value when compared to other properties in Williamsburg.

Sincerely,

The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.8 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#52 of 74 in Williamsburg
494 reviews
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#3 of 74 in Williamsburg
703 reviews
0.9 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort

Property: Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Address: 1324 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2837 (Formerly Heritage Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#21 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ideal Choice for Your Williamsburg Vacation Getaway Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort in Williamsburg, Virginia, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home, all within minutes of area attractions such as Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens Williamsburg and Water Country USA. Accommodations at our Williamsburg, VA hotel range from cozy studios to spacious one- and two-bedroom villas with fully equipped kitchens, queen sleeper sofas, separate living and dining areas, satellite TVs with DVD players and full baths with jetted tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Westgate Historic Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Westgate Historic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing