We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Ranked #41 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rocky Mount
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great location, less than a mile from Colonial Williamsburg, lots of places to eat within walking distance--if you want great pizza, try the Library next door to the resort, food store and shopping mall a block away. Easy access in and out of resort even in rush hour traffic.

I have been in a lot of resorts and the one-bedroom unit we had was the best designed to utilize the space available of any I have ever been inside. Of course, if we had had 4 people, it would not have been as pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We appreciate you sharing with everyone your experience at our "Wonderful Resort". You are right about the great pizza at the Library Tavern. Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg is a convenient location for shopping and dining. The one bedroom unit is well designed and is equipped with a living room, full kitchen and jacuzzi. Please come back and visit us again!

Thank you,

The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    116
    54
    34
    45
See reviews for
161
141
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Fantastic property. Clean rooms, great staff, great location. The best. This is a historic building that has been renovated so the rooms are not huge but they are very nicely done, clean and functional. Lots of services - restaurants close by - 5 minutes to Historic Williamsburg Visitors Center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your excellent vacation experience at Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg. It is a fantastic property. The rooms are decorated with great attention to detail and our location is second to none. We have clean rooms and our #1 asset is our great staff.

Sincerely,

The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I'm a Westgate owner. I've had issues at this particular Westgate but nothing that couldn't be fixed. I've always found the room to be clean and the staff friendly. The location is great and convenient to the area. I come here (Williamsburg) on business and will continue to stay at my Westgate timeshare.

Room Tip: Tell the desk you want "building A". It has inside corridors and is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7445OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to know that you found the room to be clean and the staff friendly. The location is great and centrally located to all attractions. On your next visit, please share your issues with our management team-there may be a solution after all. We appreciate you being a Westgate Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington nc
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We enjoyed our one bedroom apt. Nice bath, jacuzzi, kitchen, and living room. Small but fine for a short stay. Amenities are few but the location on Richmond Road is short drive to Colonial Williamsburg and full of good restaurants. Cannot believe a better locale exists in the town for the first time visitors particularly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piratehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your "Great Williamsburg Stay" at Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg. The one bedroom Villa has a jacuzzi bath, kitchen, and living room. You are right, there is not a better location in town. We are within walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg and the College of William & Mary and very close to many good restaurants.

Sincerely,

The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Westgate recently for our college reunion. We booked two suites, one 2-bedroom and one 1-bedroom. We requested that both rooms be close to eachother. Upon arrival we were very pleased to find out that our request had been accomodated! The resort rooms were very clean and comfortable (especially the beds, with pillow tops and goose down comforters!) There was a TV in every room and the kitchen area was great as well and fully stocked with dinner/cooking ware, coffee supplies, paper towels, etc. The fridgerator was also very clean. It was nice that free coffee was provided in the lobby as well. Each room was equipped with a hair dryer as well.

The only thing I would recommend is that you ask if each room has a shower vs. a jacuzzi bathroom. Some of the bigger rooms/apartments only have a jacuzzi tub with hand held shower nozzle, so we had to share the one shower in the 2-bedroom unit.

Otherwise, this is an EXCELLENT value vs. some of the other neighboring hotels in the Williamsburg area. Very clean, well kept and very friendly/helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask about the showers and which rooms have a regular, stand up shower vs. a jacuzzi tub with a hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGMLeesburg_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg for your college reunion. You mentioned many of the features of our resort, but we also have an arcade, outdoor cooking area, fitness center and an outdoor pool with a hot tub. Westgate Resorts is an excellent value when compared to other properties in Williamsburg.

Sincerely,

The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

two couples traveling together, we booked the inn for six nights, we received a great suite with two bedrooms living room kitchen, fireplace and two baths, fantastic service from the staff the entire time. failed to mention three TV's one flat screen in living area. very clean and comfortable, terrific location, staff very helpful in providing directions etc. the location provides you the opportunity to stay on the same street for six miles, with lots of shopping centers,pottery and restaurants, easy in and outs the pricing was really good as we are also interval owners which they recognize with a great discount. would like to go again, as we were caught in the middle of hurricane sandy, the staff kept us informed of what was happening or not happening as a lot of historic sites closed down due to flooding.

Room Tip: main building rooms are a little smaller than the new construction buildings, but have a great histo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crock28459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are glad you chose Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg for your first time in Williamsburg. The two bedroom suite is perfect for couples traveling together. We take pride in keeping the resort clean and offering fantastic service to all of our guests. This is the perfect place to relax and the location is terrific. Please come back and visit us again.

Sincerely,

The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pettisville, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend while visiting William and Mary. The accomdations were very nice and staff was friendly. Special thank you to Herbert who found my son's ipod by the corn hole game and turned it in!!! We would definietly stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg is a great location with a great staff. We will most certainly share your special thank you with Herbert. Our outdoor pool is a great place to have fun with the family. Cornhole and table tennis are popular activities at the pool. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Williamsburg.

Sincerely,

The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
3.6 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#6 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort

Property: Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Address: 1324 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Heritage Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#21 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ideal Choice for Your Williamsburg Vacation Getaway Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort in Williamsburg, Virginia, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home, all within minutes of area attractions such as Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens Williamsburg and Water Country USA. Accommodations at our Williamsburg, VA hotel range from cozy studios to spacious one- and two-bedroom villas with fully equipped kitchens, queen sleeper sofas, separate living and dining areas, satellite TVs with DVD players and full baths with jetted tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Westgate Historic Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Westgate Historic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing