We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic, but not my favorite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 17, 2011

My family and I stayed at Westgate in August, 2011 on a weekend trip for my daughter's birthday. We had a 2-bedroom suite. The rooms were fairly small, with little to no closet space - probably due to the age of the Historic buildings. The living room area and kitchen were decently sized. i

Beginning with the positives - the location is great. It's close to several restaurants (both chains and local ones) and is also convenient to Busch Gardens & the outlets.

I was disappointed with the look and feel of the suite...from the broken tiles in the bathroom to the beds with mattresses that sunk in the middle and the terribly uncomfortable sofas in the living room. The place could use a real makeover using quality furnishings. Just because the hotel is historic doesn't mean that the place should look and feel historic too.

I was also disappointed with the lack of detergent for the washer and lotion complimentaries in the bathroom...these are typically standard at other Westgate locations.

Not sure if I'll stay here again since there are other properties that offer a better overall stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank ATrav-El-Holic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for your feedback! We strive to make your vacation a memorable one. Please know that although you had some challenges during your stay, we are always looking to make our guests stay better. Please revisit us in the future to see how we are working hard to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

418 - 424 of 479 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

We our owners in RCI and Wyndam Resorts. We are accustomed to a 5 star resort. We were very pleased with the location, helpfulness, cleanness, etc.... of this resort. Had a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCWiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2015

We are honored you chose to stay with us! It is wonderful to know you enjoyed the location of our resort, helpfulness of our staff and cleanliness of your accommodations. Please visit us again soon!

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

WORST TIMESHARE I HAVE EVER STAYED AT!!! unless you like pee stayed saturated area rugs do not look underneath them! This resort allows dogs and it shows, the rooms are filled with dust and dirt from wall to wall cabinet to cabinet. our air did not work we had it set on 68 but all it did was run and jump from 73-78. the area rugs are saturated in spilled drinks and animal urine. as we saw when we looked under them. there was so much dirt that we had swept up (enough to fill a sand box). we demanded that it be removed as they did and were supposed to bring us a new one (took 3 days) my grandmother was napping rolled off the couch and ended up in urgent care center with a busted skin above lip needed glue a large skin tare a broken nose and 2 black eyes because she landed on her face (where the rug should have been). the (manager) on duty came up very unprofessional in jeans and a tee shirt not even wearing a name tag arguing with us. they brought us another rug which was just as disgusting as the first. and told us they are just spills the rug should not have been removed the first time. she told us "it could have stayed in the room for 8hours". our DVD player did not work took 2days to be replaced. the ceiling fans moved so much I thought they would fall down any minute. the appliances and cook wear where filthy and worn and outdated. the TV kept going out and had very little Channels. the dryer was a (ventless dryer) took over 2 hours for one load to dry. the side street entrance door never worked with anyone's room key (said was being fixed on Monday) never was. the walls and tables where covered with drink spills nicks and scratches. the couch how some type of large stain (maybe dog urine). the pool was filled daily with kids jumping yelling splashing and throwing toys ( how relaxing). and security in 7 days I did not see one security gaurd or car on property how safe. overall it was motel 6 quality and was disgusting to be called a (timeshare).! The pillows are also stained with yellow and brown markings from front to back. And don't think you will be able to complain to you "Personal concierge" because she assisted us to our room upon check in and that was the last time we ever heard from her. The costumer service here is very poor and they only care about themselves.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NJ2492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2015

Thank you so much for your review. We have made many improvements since you last stayed with us and hope that this experience does not deter you from staying at any of our other Westgate Resorts.

Best Regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We happened to pick the Westgate because it was convenient, had suites available and is pet friendly. I have stayed in hotels throughout the country, in Paris and in London and this property was one of the best values I've encountered. We had a 2 bedroom suite, which worked perfectly for us. I would recommend this hotel to my family and friends. My only complaint would be the charge for Internet access. The cheap fleabag motels offer wi-fi at no charge -- why can't the better hotels (yes, I'm talking to you, too, Hilton, Hyatt, Marriott and Disney) also offer it free?

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cosmosmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2015

We appreciate your review! It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your Two Bedroom Villa! We welcome you back to our resort any time!

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

We just returned from a week this location. We are owners at OrlandoWestgate Vacation Villas, so we have great expectations for Westgate Properties. WE were very pleased, enjoyed our Suite and especially the excellent location to eferything we wanted to see. The hotel, rooms, everrything was clean, well stocked with everything we expected and the hospitality staff , housekeeping and maintenance staff were all very friendly.Itwas a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: I would request a suite in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ljbljb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2015

We are honored you chose to stay with us. It is fantastic to hear you loved our location and had a great time! We do hope you come back again!

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We stayed at the Westgate as part of a timeshare exchange that my parents had. The rooms/suites (we had a total of 4 bedrooms, 2 kitchens, 4 baths) were spacious, clean and updated. We were out every day visiting the sights and the value of a good night's sleep can't be overvalued. The beds were perfect and the heating/air conditioning (we used both on this Spring visit) performed perfectly (amazing how bad heating/air can ruin a night of sleep).
This place was extremely convenient to all sights.
Big bonus - they have a full-size air hockey table in the game room. My husband went to college in the 70's and he handily won the family tournament.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cher_of_the_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2015

We appreciate and value your comments. It is awesome that you got to enjoy our spacious, clean and updated units. We are glad you and your family had an great time in our game room! We can't wait to see you again!

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We had the best time at the Westgate Resort Williamsburg. The room was a 1 bedroom suite and was beautiful with all the marble countertops and the bathroom was as big as the master bedroom. The best part was the jacuzzi that I think could have fit 3 people comfortably. The fireplace also kept the suite very nicely warmed. We only stayed for 2 nighs but I must say the hotel was great for a quick get away. It was a terrific price for off season so we were not upset that the hotel was pretty empty. I am not new to timeshare locations so I am not sure what everyone else expected. However this hotel exceeded our expectations and we are coming back in October 2011 with friends and family.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rnbron4300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2015

We are beyond thrilled when our guests have a fantastic experience with us here at our resort. It is so wonderful to know that we exceeded your expectations! We hope you come back and visit us soon!

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
3.5 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.9 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#13 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort

Address: 1324 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2837 (Formerly Heritage Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#21 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $63 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ideal Choice for Your Williamsburg Vacation Getaway Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort in Williamsburg, Virginia, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home, all within minutes of area attractions such as Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens Williamsburg and Water Country USA. Accommodations at our Williamsburg, VA hotel range from cozy studios to spacious one- and two-bedroom villas with fully equipped kitchens, queen sleeper sofas, separate living and dining areas, satellite TVs with DVD players and full baths with jetted tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Westgate Historic Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Westgate Historic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing