We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
Nearby Hotels
Williamsburg Inn(Williamsburg)
$419
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Historic Powhatan Resort(Williamsburg)
$127
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
$119
$112
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsmill Resort(Williamsburg)
$198
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
$159
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Wolf Lodge(Williamsburg)
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (626)
Filter reviews
626 results
Traveler rating
129
257
153
44
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
257
153
44
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbagelscontinental breakfastwithin walking distancecolonial williamsburgroom was cleanhard boiled eggshistoric areavisitor's centerbasic hotelmerchant's squareshort walkbusch gardensplace to sleepdiscount ticketsrevolutionary cityshuttle busadjoining rooms
Filter
Updating list...
547 - 552 of 626 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2007

We have just returned from our stay at the Governor's Inn in Wiilliamsburg. This is the only hotel that we stay when in Williamsburg. This must be our 5th stay. I have read so many negative reviews, but we, thank god, have not found anything negative. For the price you can't beat it. It's an avg size room with two beds, small bathroom. We found this stay that the room was cleaner than other times. We have always asked for our room in the 6500, which is on the other side, far from the railroad tracks. It's quiet, the personnel are friendly, all you need to do is call the front desk and they are right there helping you out.
The hotel offers continental breakfast which consists of coffee,milk,bagels,muffins,toast,cereal,oatmeal,fruits. A nice breakfast to start your day. There are two dining areas on first and second level of lobby. During this trip we went directly to the second level as we had been there last year, it is less congested as few people know of this or don't read the sign when they walk in.
The hotel is very close to Colonial Williamsburg, you can walk up to this area, William and Mary College. Not far from Busch Gardens, Water Park and President Park. Don't think twice as to where you will stay in Williamsburg. You won't go wrong with the Governor's Inn.
A place that we love to eat and they also deliver is Mama Mia Italian Deli. The hotel has their menu. We used them last year and were looking forward to eating their food again. It is absolutely delicious. The deli itself looks like a diner that has been frozen in time, the 50's. There stromboli's and pizza are to die for. When we got to the Governor's Inn our first questions was if they were still there and the same chef.
Have fun and enjoy your stay at the Governor's Inn, we did.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blancanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2007

We stayed for 4 nights at the Governor's Inn and were very happy . We received free admission to Colonial Williamsburg which was a $60 value right there, couple that with the continental breakfast and great rate and it was a real bargain. Also we got 1/2 price on any night or extra programs we did, very much enjoyed the legends and myth walk one evening.
We walked to CW from there all but one day, (caught the shuttle that morning just right and was dropped at the Governor's Palace. ) It was quite hot while were were there (over 100) and our room was always cool enough. as other's have mentioned, it is not brand new but it was roomy, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was a bit crowded but the staff there is most excellent about keeping items filled which I have to commend them on, since it is so busy! it was the usual coffee, juice, cereals, toast bagels, yogurt, donuts, pastries hardboiled eggs. Plenty to get you off and exploring each day. Pool was ok, just not cool enough for such hot weather. I would very much recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bird18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2007

The Governor's Inn was just what our family of 3 needed for a more inexpensive getaway. The people at the front desk were knowledgable and friendly. Our room was a nice size with 2 double beds. The room was a little dated, but the beds were comfortable, the linens were clean, and the airconditioner got its workout. The bathroom was a little small, but it was clean and everything worked properly. We stayed in the updated non-smoking section closer to the railroad tracks. We didn't hear our neighbors or the train, unless you opened the door. It was the perfect location for enjoying the parks (Busch Gardens and Water Country USA) and for taking in the sites in Colonial Williamsburg. Up the road a short way are quaint shops, William & Mary College, and the Governor's Palace. The Inn is also a very short drive to the Colonial Williamsburg Visitor's Center and also the Jamestown Settlement.

After reading some of the older reviews of the Governor's Inn, I had some hesitation when making our arrangements. However, as it turns out, we had a wonderful stay. My son is already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ianzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2007

Well, for a family of 4 visiting the Historic Triangle for the first time on a tight budget, this was the place for us! We drove 3 minutes to the Visitor's Center and shuttled to Williamsburg, Yorktown and Jamestown without hassle. The hotel was clean but certainly dated. The room was quite small and the beds were atrociously uncomfortable. However, they were clean, the pool was large, breakfast offered yogurt and fruit and hard-boiled eggs (not just pastries), and best of all the staff was extremely helpful. We were only there 3 nights, and I'm not sure my back could take more than that, but it was quiet (even near the train tracks!). We were in the room to sleep only and it served its purpose.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveling_Mom_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2007

For the price, it can't be beat. It is a basic motel, but is clean, the staff is friendly, the breakfast is decent, really no complaints. We purchased the flex pass, but didn't feel it was worth it for us. We were there for 4 nights, and just didn't have time to do everything, but felt obligated to try since we had bought the pass. If you're staying for longer, I think the flex plan would definitely be the best way to go. We used the pool a couple times, goes from shallow to about 6ft deep. Small size, but adequate. Facilities at the Woodland are also included, we played a free game of putt-putt there. They also had shuffle board, ping-pong, etc. We ate at the restaurant at the Woodland twice, decent food, great pizza, reasonable prices. They also offer a discount on breakfast offerings there. If you're staying for a long time, the same exact free breakfast may get a little old, so it's something to consider. Overall, we enjoyed our trip, and would recommend this stay.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews