We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At CW for Research project”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
Ranked #34 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewed January 13, 2013

It’s in a good location, right between the Colonial Williamsburg Visitor Center and Colonial Williamsburg itself. My room was clean, comfortable and warm since it was a cold night. The shower was clean and had plenty of holders (4) for soap and shampoo. The wi-fi was good. The television and the heater worked fine. There’s a good continental breakfast.
The building might be considered a little old, however, it is well maintained. The walkways along the rooms are well lit at night and it's only a short walk to a soda or ice machine. The staff was very friendly and so was the hotel mascott cat.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pcrodriguez78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 614 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Easy to locate and in walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg.staff was friendly and helped with directions. Adequate breakfast in am to get started on a day of touring the area.
This Inn is not open all winter so check availablity when planning your trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RNsonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Hotel that emphasizes value, not frills. Generally clean and comfortable, although this time less so (dim in-room lighting, not quite as squeaky clean although still very acceptable). Breakfast area is busy--try going upstairs for more space and a calmer atmosphere. Walkable to Merchant's Square for dining, shopping. Close to Amtrak station as well. Closed in off-season, so call ahead. We're repeat visitors and will likely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank regiontravelreturns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I always stay here when I visit CW. It's a CW owned motel so the standards are high and you can't beat the location. Only a short walk to the historic area. Staff is friendly and helpful. Great breakfast. Clean rooms, nice linens etc. I love this place!! And, we stayed 4 nights so our CW tickets were free! That's a big savings. Why would you stay anywhere else? We watched the Grand Illumination fireworks from the balcony! No fighting crowds.

Can't wait to visit again next year!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stewardess1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights while visiting Colonial Williamsburg on our way to Florida. We knew what we getting in this value Colonial Williamsburg property. It was all we expected and more.
We found it clean, roomy and perfectly adequate. The front desk staff was super friendly. The cont. breakfast was fine. It is located near the Visitor's Center. Go to the Visitors Center early, leave the car there for easy transport to C.W. and after your day return to the Visitors Center by bus.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canam778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here before and had a great time. During this visit, the place was packed with high schoolers who were out of control. The management could not handle the 100 or so kids who were disrespectful and rude.

The first breakfast, my wife picked out a bagel only to find mold. Once she notified the management about the mold, the whole tray was replaced. Otherwise, the breakfast was well stocked.

The walls to the rooms are paper thin so again you get what you pay for.

The location to Colonial Williamsburg is but a 10 minute walk from the rooms. Sure, you can drive and that is surely an option but the walk is scenic and enjoyable, especially in a crisp Autumn evening.

This place is good for families with kids but if you are looking for a quiet restful stay, pay the extra and go to a bed and breakfast closer to Colonial Williamsburg. This is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bluedog145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed there last night, not a bad place at all, worth money they ask for one night. Breakfast was poor, tho. Actual room was clean, no unpleasant odor of any kind. Fast Internet. Hot and cold water. What else can you get for 80 bucks? Oh yes, fast access to highways and interstates.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that's facing other way rather then a highway, so you could get a much quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn
0.9 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Williamsburg Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 506 N Henry St, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $66 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short walk from the heart of the action, the Governor’s Inn offers comfortable, economy accommodations and access to all the best that Colonial Williamsburg has to offer. Rooms with functional space for the whole family, and added amenities including an outdoor pool, complimentary breakfast, and discounted admission tickets make Governor’s Inn the ideal choice for budget-conscious visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Inn - Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Governors Hotel Williamsburg
Governor Inn Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing