We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“At CW for Research project” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
Ranked #32 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“At CW for Research project”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

It’s in a good location, right between the Colonial Williamsburg Visitor Center and Colonial Williamsburg itself. My room was clean, comfortable and warm since it was a cold night. The shower was clean and had plenty of holders (4) for soap and shampoo. The wi-fi was good. The television and the heater worked fine. There’s a good continental breakfast.
The building might be considered a little old, however, it is well maintained. The walkways along the rooms are well lit at night and it's only a short walk to a soda or ice machine. The staff was very friendly and so was the hotel mascott cat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pcrodriguez78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    216
    136
    38
    41
See reviews for
275
116
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Easy to locate and in walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg.staff was friendly and helped with directions. Adequate breakfast in am to get started on a day of touring the area.
This Inn is not open all winter so check availablity when planning your trip.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RNsonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
277 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Hotel that emphasizes value, not frills. Generally clean and comfortable, although this time less so (dim in-room lighting, not quite as squeaky clean although still very acceptable). Breakfast area is busy--try going upstairs for more space and a calmer atmosphere. Walkable to Merchant's Square for dining, shopping. Close to Amtrak station as well. Closed in off-season, so call ahead. We're repeat visitors and will likely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regiontravelreturns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I always stay here when I visit CW. It's a CW owned motel so the standards are high and you can't beat the location. Only a short walk to the historic area. Staff is friendly and helpful. Great breakfast. Clean rooms, nice linens etc. I love this place!! And, we stayed 4 nights so our CW tickets were free! That's a big savings. Why would you stay anywhere else? We watched the Grand Illumination fireworks from the balcony! No fighting crowds.

Can't wait to visit again next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stewardess1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, New Brunswick
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights while visiting Colonial Williamsburg on our way to Florida. We knew what we getting in this value Colonial Williamsburg property. It was all we expected and more.
We found it clean, roomy and perfectly adequate. The front desk staff was super friendly. The cont. breakfast was fine. It is located near the Visitor's Center. Go to the Visitors Center early, leave the car there for easy transport to C.W. and after your day return to the Visitors Center by bus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canam778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here before and had a great time. During this visit, the place was packed with high schoolers who were out of control. The management could not handle the 100 or so kids who were disrespectful and rude.

The first breakfast, my wife picked out a bagel only to find mold. Once she notified the management about the mold, the whole tray was replaced. Otherwise, the breakfast was well stocked.

The walls to the rooms are paper thin so again you get what you pay for.

The location to Colonial Williamsburg is but a 10 minute walk from the rooms. Sure, you can drive and that is surely an option but the walk is scenic and enjoyable, especially in a crisp Autumn evening.

This place is good for families with kids but if you are looking for a quiet restful stay, pay the extra and go to a bed and breakfast closer to Colonial Williamsburg. This is not the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluedog145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed there last night, not a bad place at all, worth money they ask for one night. Breakfast was poor, tho. Actual room was clean, no unpleasant odor of any kind. Fast Internet. Hot and cold water. What else can you get for 80 bucks? Oh yes, fast access to highways and interstates.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that's facing other way rather then a highway, so you could get a much quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn Historic
Rodeway Inn Historic
#38 of 79 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.7 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Williamsburg Historic Area
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg

Property: Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
Address: 506 N Henry St, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An official Colonial Williamsburg Hotel, the Governor's Inn is a low-rise motor inn located in the heart of Williamsburg, just 3 blocks from the restored area, Merchant's Square shopping district, the College of William & Mary, and a short ride from Revolutionary City. It offers comfortable, economy accommodations and features an outdoor family-style pool, complimentary continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, a business center, and discounted admission tickets to programs and events in the historic area. Guests at the Governor's Inn have access to unlimited use of our shuttle buses which run at regularly scheduled intervals from the Visitors Center (near the Woodlands Hotel & Suites) and operate throughout the historic area. Travel info: easy access to I-64; 20 minutes to Williamsburg/Newport News International airport; 5 minutes to Amtrak train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Inn - Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Governors Hotel Williamsburg
Governor Inn Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing