We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price and location its worth the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“For the price and location its worth the stay”
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

I just got back from our stay here. We stayed Aug 19-20-21. In order to get FREE tickets to the city you must stay at least 3 nights. The hotel was about 4 blocks away from downtown and the price for 3 nights was $220.00 with taxes for the 3 nights. The rooms were a bit outdated to say the least but we did not stay in the room much so it was ok. The rooms were not dirty but they were not super clean. Rooms were on the bigger size also. The breakfast was the normal free breakfast you would find at any chain hotel. Here's the number one problem with this place. Its located about 40 yards from a major train line. The train goes one way with about 80 plus full coal cars and comes back about 45min later empty. The train woke us up all the time. Look at the pics I upload to trip advisor and you will see the crossing in the distance. I am also uploading pics off the rooms. Overall for the price and location I would stay again but bring ear plugs for the train

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBurger717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    241
    144
    40
    42
See reviews for
294
128
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Governor's Inn is walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg, so it is a great location. The motel is older, but has been maintained. They have a nice continental breakfast and a large eating area, with overflow seating on the 2nd floor.

The room was small, but it was nice and clean. The beds are full, so they're a little small too. Unfortunately, we had a problem with the A/C. When I entered it was set on High Cool, but was not running. I turned it to Off, and then back to High Cool - it began running. It shut-off again twice during the night, so I had to turn it to Fan Only. I asked the receptionist the next morning and she said that that some of the units will do that if turned to the coldest setting.

With the exception of the A/C, everything else was acceptable enough that we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Rooms are very dirty and the housekeeping is terrible. Mold found in the bathroom and in the air conditioning units and the Walls in the rooms are very dirty . The light fixtures do not work half the time. The mattress had bed bugs. My family was upgraded to the woodlands hotel and we loved it there . The rooms were immaculate and the housekeeping could not be beat. The property grounds were very well taken care of and the front desk personal were wonderful . There a lot of activities on the property for children. I would never take my family back to the Governor's Inn. It is a health hazard anyone who likes a clean environment should not use this resort. Do not listen to the good reviews listed for this property. The woodlands is a much better place to stay on a vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 467candycane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Williamsburg hotels

Shavertown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Very clean hotel. The staff were very nice. Pool was more than adequate. The complimentary breakfast was standard fare. My only complaint is that the blankets and quilts should be replaced.We stayed for five nights , the price was VERY reasonable and the discounts we got on the Williamsburg evening attractions made the place a steal.

Room Tip: Show your hotel card to get discounts of 25% off evening tours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ss343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had the opportunity to stay here on a family trip for 9 nights while visiting the Williamsburg area. I selected the hotel based on reviews on Trip Advisor, and am really glad that I did. Upon arrival, we checked in and were given a room. When we went to the room, it appeared to be completely disassembled, with headboards removed from the walls, furniture moved and beds upturned. It looked like a serious cleaning was in progress. Returning to the desk we were given a new room in seconds and this one was perfect. The clerk, Amber, took the time to show us and mark on maps where our room was, and how to get to Colonial Williamsburg. One of the great things about this hotel is that it is easily within walking distance to Market Square and Colonial Williamsburg. The shuttle busses also stop in front of the lobby for those who do not wish to walk, or are going to Busch Gardens (also a free shuttle). Free breakfast is included and is served in the lobby. We found that the upstairs breakfast area was generally less crowded than downstairs. The pool area was open from 10 to 10 and there were large bins by the pool with an ample supply of pool towels for us to use. The pool is in a walled area and is nice and secluded. Our room, while basic and lacking the some of the ammenities found in more expensive resorts, was absolutely perfect for our needs. It was clean, secure, quiet and the perfect place to lay our heads after a long day of exploration. The money we saved by staying here was put to good use in Colonial Williamsburg and Market Square. The staff was always attentive and friendly, and was knowledgeable about the area. Amber in particular seemed to be always present and was always quick with a wave, a smile and a kind word. We enjoyed our stay so much that we extended by several days to continue to enjoy the area. Additionally, because we stayed for three nights or longer, our Colonial Williamsburg passes were included in the price of the hotel, and we received a discount on the Ghost Walks and other tours we took. We will be back here again next year to do this again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Yucatan
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The hotel has some clear positives – staying here gives you free access to Colonial Williamsburg and reduced prices to the evening program. Room rates are very economical. You can also forget about the car and walk to CW in 10 mins. The staff were very helpful without exception. I also really liked the family feel of the place, especially meeting other families at the outdoor pool in the evening. Breakfast was also above average and there was ample seating.
The negatives relate to the rooms. They are very small, our TV remote didn’t work, the TV picture was atrocious and the ironing board was broken. The hotel is next to the railway, so try to get a room away from that. We did and weren’t disturbed at all.
If you are prepared to tolerate a little discomfort when you return to your room after a full day in CW, check into the Governor’s Inn. The pro's outweigh the cons.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank londoner_in_yucatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Very clean and a good value for a stay in Williamsburg. The staff was very hospitable and helped us with arrangements for getting back from the park quite late. We didn't have time to swim, but the pool looked very inviting. Breakfast was included and plentiful.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank MSM75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.7 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
585 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
0.6 mi away
The Griffin Hotel - A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg

Property: Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
Address: 506 N Henry St, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An official Colonial Williamsburg Hotel, the Governor's Inn is a low-rise motor inn located in the heart of Williamsburg, just 3 blocks from the restored area, Merchant's Square shopping district, the College of William & Mary, and a short ride from Revolutionary City. It offers comfortable, economy accommodations and features an outdoor family-style pool, complimentary continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, a business center, and discounted admission tickets to programs and events in the historic area. Guests at the Governor's Inn have access to unlimited use of our shuttle buses which run at regularly scheduled intervals from the Visitors Center (near the Woodlands Hotel & Suites) and operate throughout the historic area. Travel info: easy access to I-64; 20 minutes to Williamsburg/Newport News International airport; 5 minutes to Amtrak train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Inn - Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Governors Hotel Williamsburg
Governor Inn Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing