We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical & Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Economical & Convenient”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I originally booked a condo nearby, but cancelled after adding up the cost savings of staying at a Colonial Williamsburg hotel. The room rate was $79 and included a nice breakfast. They gave us a cot for no charge, which was so helpful with 3 children. The biggest cost-savings was on tickets for Colonial Williamsburg. We saved $10 per adult and $5 per child for staying at an official hotel, plus your ticket is good for the length of your stay unlike the 1-day tickets you get for the higher cost if you aren't staying at an official hotel. You can also charge all your purchases in Colonial Williamsburg to your room, which is convenient. Finally, they offer shuttle service to the visitors center and around town, which seems like a nice option though we did not use it. The hotel is older, but our room was well-kept. Housekeeping was efficient; they had the room cleaned before we returned from breakfast. The people at the front desk were very nice and helpful. Ask for a room away from the train if you are a light sleeper. The pool was outdoors, and it was too cold to use but it looked very nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UsuallyHappyCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    241
    144
    40
    42
See reviews for
294
128
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Orange, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

You get what you pay for. we decided to economize and not stay at one of the pricier Williamsburg lodging options. My first impression was very good: The desk manager was very helpful at checkin. It went downhill from there. Our downstairs corner room was way past its prime. The train ran right next to our room. The rug was beyond filty. The sink and bathtub were just old. The breakfast wasn't bad but the room was so packed you had to wait in line for the toasters. Worst of all, we came back after a long day at Williamsburg tired and dirty, and so was our room: No one had cleaned it. No clean towels, beds unmade, no new soap or shampoo. My husband called at once and they offered to send someone, but of course it was 8 PM, so we didn't want someone coming in to clean then. If it had been my hotel, though, I'd have at least run over with some toiletries and towels. I would not advise a family to stay here, even to economize.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the side away from the train tracks. And be ready to make up your own bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njmotherof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Williamsburg hotels

Zeeland, MI
Level 6 Contributor
521 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We have visited Colonial Williamsburg often and we are always excited to return. We stayed at Governor's Inn six days during our spring vacation. We were pleased with the friendly, helpful service the very clean rooms and the great price. An extra bonus was that we were able to leave our car in the parking lot every day and walk to the colonial area. This is an older, but well cared for establishment. The breakfast was quite good- not outstanding, but quite good. We would recommend Governor's Inn to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZeelandScoutMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

my 11 year old son, his dad and myself stayed for nearly a week. Very clean, affordable. Breakfast is good - includes hardboiled eggs and a big selection of fruit, cereals, waffles, yogurt, and juices. Shuttle got us from the train station and back. A small fridge in room would have been nice. Also a resident (outside only) cat! We were pleased.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alse1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We spent three nights at this hotel back in November. It is conveniently located within walking distance from the historical center and train station. The room was just average, kind of old and dusty, with a noisy AC unit. The old fashioned TV is quite a different experience. The bathroom definitely needs a make-over. The staff was very nice and helpful and the breakfast included in price was a nice addition. The advantage though of staying at a hotel that is part of Colonnial Williamsburg is great considering discounts at admission tickets, the process of making a reservation for tours, dinner reservations, free shuttle, etc.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sami2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC area
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Tucked on an outer corner of the colonial area and an easy 10 minute stroll to the beginning of the historical grounds. Very friendly and helpful staff who allowed us to check in a little early on a quiet afternoon. We spent one night and had two adjoining rooms. Asked for and received a location away from the train tracks - 2nd floor rooms were also away from noisy vending and faced the back wooded area of the property. Very quiet. During a mid-week winter visit the hotel was 1/4 full and there was plenty of parking in front of our rooms. Did not partake of the free breakfast. By staying at an official Williamsburg hotel, our tickets were reduced by $4 each and were good for the entire stay.

I think every room has two double beds. Rooms were average sized with a small round table for eating and working and an older model TV (no flat screen). No HBO or premium channels, but about 40 cable channels (A&E, FX, TLC, Lifetime, sports and news, shopping channels, CMT, AMC, children's channels and more). Iron and ironing board, very small fridge in one of our rooms. Shampoo and conditioner. Plenty of towels and pillows. Firm mattresses bordering on hard. And spotlessly clean. The fan on the heating system was somewhat loud, but we liked the white noise effect.

Only complaints were the ice machines didn't work and although the reservations agent said there were pay-for-view movies available, we could not find them. Given the off-season, there was nothing going on in Williamsburg that night (and reduced activities during the day) and a movie would have been great. It also would have been nice to have a small business center to check email and the Internet on a computer, but it was not a great loss.

An excellent value given the winter rate and lack of the summertime tourist crowds. We debated whether to spend an extra $17 a night per room for a new hotel with more amenities and believe we made the right choice. You can go west on Route 60 near the hotel and in five minutes be on a commercial strip with many other hotels and restaurants.

Although you can walk from the hotel to the historical area, on our second footsore day we decided to drive five minutes to the free visitors center parking lot and use the free shuttle to navigate our touring of the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deltaskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, FL
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I booked the Governor's Inn for a week's stay during the Christmas season. I had always stayed at another place, so I was little apprehensive. I must say that our experience was very good. The place is a little older, but has been kept up very nicely. The rooms are clean and the staff is excellent. We had a problem one night when the people next to our room were smoking up a storm and the smell was soon seeping in our room and we could not sleep(plus they were loud - though we got an unexpected show about their private life). The staff confirmed and then offered us a room at a more expensive place, but we declined as the people were checking out. The staff was there and airing it out within minutes. The hotel can't control their guests, but they did respond to the situation.

All in all, a great stay and the location was excellent.

Just a note...I believe a lot of hotels aways clump all their guests in one area whether they need to or not, but....I wish they could spread out the guests when there are not many guests in the hotel. Two nights of our stay there were few guests, but we were all congregated in the same place. I know it is a little more convenient for housekeeping, but it would have helped avoid the problem we had had they put at least a room between us. The rooms are not soundproofed very well, but fortunately, most of the guests were considerate and quiet.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.7 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
585 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
0.6 mi away
The Griffin Hotel - A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg

Property: Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
Address: 506 N Henry St, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An official Colonial Williamsburg Hotel, the Governor's Inn is a low-rise motor inn located in the heart of Williamsburg, just 3 blocks from the restored area, Merchant's Square shopping district, the College of William & Mary, and a short ride from Revolutionary City. It offers comfortable, economy accommodations and features an outdoor family-style pool, complimentary continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, a business center, and discounted admission tickets to programs and events in the historic area. Guests at the Governor's Inn have access to unlimited use of our shuttle buses which run at regularly scheduled intervals from the Visitors Center (near the Woodlands Hotel & Suites) and operate throughout the historic area. Travel info: easy access to I-64; 20 minutes to Williamsburg/Newport News International airport; 5 minutes to Amtrak train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Inn - Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Governors Hotel Williamsburg
Governor Inn Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing