We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, newly renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Lovely, convenient place to stay in the Williamsburg area. Very close to interstate, Busch Gardens, Historic area, yet tucked away in a quiet wooded area off Rt 60. Room was excellent, hotel was recently renovated and is modern, clean and very comfortable. Great wifi service in room and common areas. Computers available if needed. Bedding was very comfortable and high end. Small Bistro with relatively healthy food choices, though very limited. Starbucks coffee. Only negative was very bad attitude of food service worker. Would certainly stay here again, overall excellent stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 264 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting the Williamsburg area. The staff were all very helpful and the Bistro was a good place to grab breakfast. They also had dinner and happy hour, but we did not sample those. The location is very close to Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Jamestown and York Town. I would recommend it if you are in the area. They also have packages which include passes to Busch Gardens and Water Country USA

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

In 2007 and 2011, I visited Williamsburg and stayed at the Holiday Inn on Bypass Road. Even though on both occasions that hotel was ranked number 1 on TA (and is still ranked in the top 5 now), I was not happy with it for a variety of reasons, as explained in the TA review I wrote about that hotel in 2011.

This year, I decided to stay at the Courtyard by Marriott, as one of our stops was Busch Gardens, which is just over a mile away from the Courtyard. Also, I like the old style Courtyards, which were actually built around Courtyards (I don't know why Marriott bothers calling the new ones Courtyards, as they don't have courtyards and look like any other hotel). I am glad that I made the switch to the Courtyard, as it beats the Holiday Inn hands down.

There are a number of things to really like about the Courtyard, including (1) the total makeover of all rooms and hallways earlier this year, in addition to the new lobby/Bistro/business center which was added in the past year or so; (2) an indoor/outdoor pool; (3) plenty of parking (you will read about parking space shortages in TA reviews of other hotels in Williamsburg); (4) excellent housekeeping (didn't see any spots on sheets or towels); (5) a friendly and helpful staff who went out of its way to help me find a king room in a good location; and (6) close proximity to Busch Gardens and Water Country, in a relatively quiet business park. It is also a relatively short drive from the Courtyard to Colonial Williamsburg.

I did find a few minor problems that kept me from giving the Courtyard 5 stars, including (1) they did not add a ceiling fan in the bathroom as part of the renovations, (2) they did not install thermostats or wall controls as part of the renovations, so it is impossible to tell what the room temperature is or to set the temperature at a particular level (the old-style Courtyard I use all of the time in Kentucky has started switching over to wall-mounted thermostats, so I know it can be done), (3) there is too much space on the bottom and sides of the room door, which lets in noise and light, (4) the foam pillows had very little support, even though almost brand new, and (5) there was nobody working the bistro area when we arrived on the first night and wanted to eat something right away. I would also note that on several occasions on half of the nights I was there, I was awakened at odd hours by slamming doors. I don't think they were deliberately slammed, but some of the rooms apparently don't have any mechanism to slow down the door speed - in contrast, my room door often did not close on its own, so I had to be careful to make sure it really was closed and locked.

Some people complain about the fact that Courtyards do not include free breakfasts, but anyone wanting a cheap and quick breakfast can get one almost directly across the street at McDonald's, which was never particularly busy on any morning I was there. The Courtyard is also close to a Wendy's and KFC/Taco Bell, and has several sit-down restaurants nearby, including the Whaling Company which is within walking distance.

Room Tip: The most quiet rooms are those facing the Courtyard and outdoor pool. The rooms that are probably t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoPenguins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I was celebrating our 20th anniversary. 3-11 shift was the best. We ask questions and they went a extra mile to help us. We would most definitely stay again. Housekeeping was on there job. Room stayed clean and whenever we needed something they would come right away. Thanks courtyard Marriott really appreciated.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fcgaither
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The employees of this hotel are doing a great job of maintaining the new feel of this hotel. The rooms are so clean and the front desk staff are so friendly. The renovations have definitely given the hotel an extra spark of energy.
As usual, we enjoyed the pool and the hot tub. Clean and not crowded.
We did get to try the new Bistro this time and it was really good. The breakfast platters were cooked to order. Hot and fresh. And the portions were very generous. Well worth the "hotel" prices as we were all stuffed when we finished breakfast. Again, the staff in the Bistro were extremely friendly. I'd be open to trying their dinner options but we haven't had the opportunity. If so, we'll let you know how it goes.
Thanks again for making our extended weekend an enjoyable one.
....
I would like to note that at check in they were a little busy. From out of no where came an additional front desk assistant and a manager to quickly move people along. The manager actually took the extra time to make sure we were in the room requested and did it all with a huge smile on her face. We felt very welcomed and that is a great feeling when checking into a hotel. :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMF_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We loved staying at this property after spending the day at Busch Gardens. The room was clean and comfortable. The kids loved the indoor/outdoor pool and being able to swim from one to the other. The front desk staff was incredibly helpful. The price was perfect for our budget. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelMama0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here in the middle of August 2013 with extended family. We rented out 4 rooms for all of us, and the hotel was very accommodating. They gave us all four rooms across the hall from one another. We used the pool--no frills but nice. We also used the outdoor patio area one night when we ordered pizza for all 13 of us. It was clean and pleasant. The hotel is a very easy drive (within 5 minutes) of Colonial Williamsburg's visitor center and Busch Gardens. It was quick and easy to get to off of the interstate. I would definitely recommend this hotel as a good, basic hotel with little frills for families.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hlgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
4.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#13 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area

Address: 470 McLaws Cir, Williamsburg, VA 23185-5646
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#13 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $86 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary style hotel desgined for business and leisure trevelers located off Route 60 East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, HotelPower, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Courtyard Williamsburg
Williamsburg Marriott
Williamsburg Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing