We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY AT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Patriots Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Patriots Place
Ranked #30 of 80 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rockland,Massachusetts
1 review
“GREAT PLACE TO STAY AT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

We ( A family of 3) purchased a 3 night stay on Ebay ($279) 6/22-6/25 and it was worth every penny. Check in good (sales pitch was offered but we politely refused) and that was the end of the pitch. Location not a problem finding the resort,yes sign was a little small, but we were on the look-out for it. Rooms were good they consisted of the entire 1st floor
bldg# 41-102,103 slept a total of 8 ppl. Very clean. No noise at all as some reviews complained about. only minor problems Toilet in 1 unit was not properly secured.
I would recommened this to others Busch Gardens 10 minute drive.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank post613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    131
    67
    39
    25
See reviews for
166
122
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

Turn into the road that shows a sign for Ramada 1776. Small sign for Patriots place!!

We, family of 4, stayed at the Wyndham Patriots Place in the week of June 14th 2009. It looked to me as all renovations have been completed, the pool is open and all seems well. Check-in on Sunday at 3pm took about 5 minutes, good customer service upon (Randy) check -in. No push for additional tours and packages. They said that the place is full and I believe it. It is still quite all around. We had a 1 bedroom appartment with the sofa sleeper for the kids. The appartment is what you expect to get. It has all the essentials and you are given a refresh kit upon check-in.
Is it noisy? Yes, if you let your kids run around and do not control them, otherwise it is like any other appartment you have ever been in. So again, it is what you make of it. This is a family resort, expect some noise and you will be okay.
The grounds are well kept, everything is clean all around. There are not many amenities at the resort itself. For a gym and bigger pool, you have to go the the sister resorts down the street (5 min drive) There is not really a work out/walk trail or anything, again, the gyms are at the sister resorts. The unit could use some more plates, glasses, knives, forks etc., we had 4 of everything which means we have to run the (very loud) dishwasher frequently.
There were plenty of towels for a family of 4, if you are going to use the sleeper sofa, get some pillows, you will need them. No recycling opportunity, anywhere on-site. Unless you have a 2 bedroom unit, there are free laundry services at the pool.
Best grocery stores around are Ukropps (no alcohol sold) and Farmers Fresh(huge wine & beer selection) Really nice quality food/fresh fish selection. Walmart is a 15 min drive. Wifi is available via Wayport, you will need a code or be a member. Speed and coverage will be sufficient for most ( $30 for 1 week if you need to buy here, sign up online when here)
So, in short, if you need a good clean place to stay that is kid friendly while you are off during the day and come back tired and just want to hang out. It is what you need.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dooandherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

We just got back from our vacation at Wyndham Patriots Place and we already want to go back. As far as the previous review goes, I don't know what happened with the noise. It was so quiet, you could hear a pin drop the whole time we were there. You could be sitting on the balcony and shut the door, nobody could hear you inside. The grounds were exquisite and well taken care of. The pool was a little bit chilly, but very clean. The resort was close to everything. From shopping to theme parks to grocery stores, they were all a very short drive.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thewoodsapopka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

First, people with disabilities beware! We asked for a ground floor and got the second floor......they did move us to another building on first floor. Laundry facilities are sparse. The building our studio was in had no immediate laundry area, you needed to go outside and around to the main portion of the building use these facilities (1 appartment size stack unit). When they said studio with a partial kitchen I had no idea that when you opened the oven you could also grab a cold drink out of the refirgerator, the oven door would not open without the refrigerator door opening as well. Dont plan on bringing to many items you intend to cook , there is no space to even put a box of crackers. You can hear every footstep from the next floor up. I have purchased into three Wyndham resorts and stay in several that I did not have ownership in, never have I been as displeased as with this resort. I suppose if you were not an owner and had'nt spent any time in other resorts you wouldn't understand why this adventure was such a let down.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Puppyfeet4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Williamsburg hotels

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

We stayed for a partial week at the end of May and could not have been more pleased with the Patriots' Place. The grounds were landscaped nicely, and we liked all of the trees in the area. We also liked the design of the units - a very nice little community. And it was all about 5 minutes from the Williamsburg sites.

We had a four person unit, but it was just my husband and I, so we had plenty of room. It would have been comfortable for 4 too. Everything was clean and seemed rather new. We liked the layout of the rooms and the little porch on the back. It faced the woods and was very private. We also liked the double bathroom with 2 showers and the huge tub.

We didn't take advantage of the things to do at Patriots Place, but there was a tennis court, pool, playground, and just some nice scenery to take a walk. They also said we could use the amenities at the other Wyndhams down the road if we wanted. So there would be plenty to do on site too, but we mostly did site-seeing in the area.

Our only complaint about the rooms would be the noise from other units. At night we could hear all of the footsteps from the people above us, and the locked adjoining door to the next unit let in a lot of noise from their TV and conversations. But our bedroom was on the opposite side of the unit, so that wasn't a problem at night.

We would definitely stay here again. It is a beautiful area, and Patriots Place is a great place to stay to enjoy it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missrachelj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malden ma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Location is great - minutes to Colonial Williamsburg. Had a one bedroom, very clean. My only complaint is kitchen is very small - husband felt TV was small - but we were out alot - plently to do in Williamsburg. The staff was friendly and helpful - we asked for a folding table for the computer and they brought one within the hour. Did make the mistake of sales pitch from Wyndham - very high pressure-lousy breakfast-but I did get 2 tickets to Bush Gardens for 45 instead of 120. But I would not do that again - even though we are RCI members.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glokuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runnemede, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

Let me start by saying, we have stayed a several Wyndham properties and this was by no means the worst.
Check-in was quick and easy. They tried to give us a "welcome package"...I just told them we would be back later and they never bothered us again.
The grounds are lovely. They have a small park near a pond, a volleyball court, and an outdoor pool. It is very peaceful and would be a great place to take a walk...if you have time for that...lol!
The units look like townehouses. There is a shared entrance for 4 units...we had the 2 units on the bottom floor. Our unit was a 1 bedroom master suite, and our guests had a 1 bedroom efficiency studio. Together they made up a 2 bedroom suite. They were nice and bright and clean.
Our 1 bedroom had:
A bedroom with sliding doors to a deck.
A bathroom with a small, seperate bathtub and sink area. The shower area had a washer & dryer, which took forever to dry clothes.
A living room with a fireplace, an entertainment center, 2 chairs, and a sleeper sofa, which had 2 large stains on the mattress!!! This was a huge problem, because we planned on using it for our kids. There was a door that led to the deck.
The deck was average in size, but the chairs were the cheap plastic kind.
A dining room that was small, but functional.
A kitchen that was full size and fully stocked with all our cooking needs. The appliances were not updated, just painted over...the painted drips were visible...but, they were in working order.
The studio had:
A bedroom
A bathroom
A seperate living area with an entertainment center, a sleeper sofa(again with stains!!!) and a small kitchen area, with a small table and 2 chairs.
The kitchen had everything you would need to cook, just on a smaller scale.
There was a total of 4 old televisions, which had universal remotes that didn't work.
So, all in all, the rooms were acceptable, nothing so big that I would not go back.

So, why never again?.....The noise is out of this world! It was as if the people upstairs were in the room with us...and they were an older couple. I can't even imagine how horrible it would have been to have a family like ours up there! I could here the TV in our living room, with the bedroom and bathroom doors shut. The TV wasn't even loud, when sitting in the living room. The walls actually made it worse. We had the kids play in the studio, while we sat in the dining room of the larger room. Well, the noise was just too much...and that was with both adjoining doors closed! The walls are made of tissue paper and spit! Which is why the room only gets 1 star. So, never again! It's a shame, since the area really is lovely. But, it doesn't matter how it looks, if you can't sleep due to noise.

Another problem...bees!!! They were several large holly bushes by the doors, and they attracted large amounts of bees!!! The kids were terrified, and would run past as fast as they could.

We did go to Kingsgate to use the arcade. It was a madhouse! The pool, arcade and tennis courts were all packed. It was nice to only pay $5 for 7 people to play video games, but quite a few were broken. I'm guessing some of the people in there were not even from the resorts, since I never had to show indentification to get an access card. It's so busy, they couldn't even see who was going in or out. I could've held the door open for anyone and they wouldn't have noticed. Too bad, because it's a great idea.

I think we'll stick to Bonnet Creek and Glacier Canyon Lodge...or a resort with similar qualities:)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank all-4-our-boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 878 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Patriots Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Patriots Place

Property: Wyndham Patriots Place
Address: 220 House of Burgess Way, Williamsburg, VA 23185-5836 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Patriots' Place)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Patriots Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Patriots Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Patriots Place Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Patriots Place
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing