We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Williamsburg
Ranked #36 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed there for one night last month - it was perfect for my husband & I and our son. Everyone (staff) was so super friendly! They went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of. Our key initally didn't work so we walked back to have it re-programmed, which wasn't a big deal, but a staff member personally walked with us back to our room to make sure it worked the second time. We had everything we needed...kitchenette, sitting room, bedroom & bath. The breakfast in the morning was nice too. Great location and easy to get around. Would go back again if we needed to. Not the newest facility, but clean and just what we needed.

Room Tip: They had a rowdy group at the pool that night, but the party seemed to be dispersing by 2200 when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nielmala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kid words and look forward to having you stay with us again soon. We take pride in our customer service and our newly renovated property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    136
    76
    36
    36
See reviews for
279
74
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oakton, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
245 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I really did not want to like this hotel because the check in process was rude and frustrating. But once I got through that, the rooms are nice (full kitchens and a sitting area), the location is great, and while it's on a busy road - it's set back a ways so no street noise. Free breakfast was one of the worse I've had. Outside pool was not open when I was there - but looks like nice space, Outside areas also had a grill for all to use and a sport court/basketball area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Nice, clean rooms. Service was exceptional! Sal at the front desk was super friendly and helpful, as was the cleaning staff who even left a bag of fresh towels and toiletries hanging on the door when we left the "Do not disturb" sign on for the day.(we have a dog). Location was prime, so much to do here! I was very impressed with this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny39732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. I have passed your kind words on to Sal. We love Sal, and strive to keep our customer service at the highest level. We are lucky in that our rooms are newly renovated and conveniently located. I hope that you will be back to visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed here for a business trip on 5/31/13. Hotel is very clean and staff is very friendly. We had a two bedroom suite which had two nice sized rooms, each with its own full bath, and a sitting area with efficiency kitchen between the two rooms.
The staff was very friendly and accommodating. While we didn't have a pet with us, I noted several guests who did and that the hotel had a pet walking area complete with bags and receptacles for waste.
Hotel is also fairly close to Colonial Williamsburg area as well as some of the major outlet malls in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Tom, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do enjoy being a pet-friendly hotel, so that our guests with pet members may still travel. As a result, we also know that takes extra cleaning and sanitation steps. We pride ourselves in maintaining a clean hotel. I also love the size of our rooms, so our guests have plenty of space to relax and enjoy all of our in-room amenities. Thank you again, and I hope you choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Williamsburg, VA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great hotel -- the suites were spacious and comfortable. Even better, the Hotel was across the street from a terrific restaurant, "Food for Thought." You should definitely check it out. Although this hotel is not walking distance to downtown Williamsburg, it is near enough things to peak your interest, including a mini-golf course and the Williamsburg General Store--a landmark of sorts where they sell tickets to the local "ghost tours." Also, it's easy access to the highway with plenty of parking. Only real complaint is that the breakfast wasn't that special, but I guess it's what you should expect. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greyjoy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We love our location and Food for Thought is an incredible restaurant, I agree. We always recommend it to our guests. Wonderful owners and very good food. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do follow Marriott Standards and add a few extras to our complimentary hot buffet breakfast. Should you have any specific recommendations please let us or Marriott know directly. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was the first vacation getaway for our dog, Miss Precious!! What a great time we had! My family and I were so impressed with the hotel. It was so clean and staff were absolutely great! From Sal @ the front desk to Juanita & Kesha of housekeeping....you guys are the best! Staff was very friendly, helpful and always had smile on their face!! Loved to chat with them every time Miss Precious came back from her walk!! Hotel was in a great spot..centrally located to Williamsburg and all attractions! Buffet breakfast was wonderful.....fresh coffee, fresh orange juice, scrambled eggs, turkey bacon, sausage, grits and fresh waffles made each and every morning!! Although I did not use this service, the hotel provided "food shopping" service for their guests since all rooms are suites....very impresssive.....Plenty of parking in front of hotel....My family and I really had a wonderful time and so did Miss Precious!! I fully recommend this hotel...it truly is a wonderful and memorable experience!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LISA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and Ms Precious too. We love offering a pet-friendly hotel to our families with pet members. We take pride in cleanliness and customer service. Your kind words have been passed on to the employees. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope you will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have stayed over a 100 nights this year in Residence Inns around the US. The bar has been set very high by the management and staff at Williamsburg. I have already posted a review but this hotel was the one we always judge others by. You will not be disappointed in any aspect of your stay here...from the very friendly greeting on arrival to the cheerfulness of the housekeeping staff ( who keep the rooms impeccably clean) to the food service people who prepare a good variety tasty food to the rest of the very friendly staff. Not to stay here would be a mistake.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Rick, thank you for such a wonderful review. We are certainly greatful that you took time to leave such a wonderful review. I am glad you have had such wonderful stays with us. While it is sometimes seen as a tough act to follow, I am glad you have set our hotel as the 'bar' to other hotels. We stive for excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Williamsburg
SpringHill Suites Williamsburg
#34 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Williamsburg
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#10 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 904 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Williamsburg

Property: Residence Inn Williamsburg
Address: 1648 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2724
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Williamsburg is the premier long-term, pet-friendly hotel in Williamsburg. Located in the heart of Williamsburg on acres of green space, we are adjacent to a local recreation center, park and community walking trail allowing our guest to enjoy the normal pace of life while on business or pleasure. Also within walking distance are numerous restaurants, shopping and local attractions. Our breakfast buffet is offered 7 days a week and includes all the favorites from home made waffles to eggs and bacon. We also have a wonderful social hour Tuesday through Thursday that offers the guest a light dinner or dessert to finish off their day. Our modern accommodations include in-room stainless steel appliances (refrigerators, microwaves, cook tops, ovens and dishwashers), granite countertops in kitchen and bath updated living room furniture, large work station and new bedding. The Residence Inn Williamsburg provides all the comforts of home with the luxury of up-scale accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Residence Inn Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing