We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry to Dissagree, but This Is Just Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Williamsburg
Ranked #37 of 80 Hotels in Williamsburg
Constant Traveller
Level Contributor
353 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
“Sorry to Dissagree, but This Is Just Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Sorry to disagree with Steve01519 or Zac1mac1 and the others, but I found this hotel to be very mediocre, in almost every way. While the building is clean and modern, in the precise manner all Residence Inns should be, the people on the team really let Marriott down. A few examples: the morning front desk staff was neither warm nor cordial. My room was not vacuumed every day -- a small thing, because I'm pretty tidy, but hey, it should be clean. Drinking glasses were not washed and returned to the shelves in the kitchen. Towels were not replaced; I had to call the front desk to get towels delivered. The breakfast area was cramped and stuffy; the kitchen lady wore a brown Marriott smock that looked (to my eyes) soiled and in dire need of cleaning. All in all, none of it was horrible, but to my eyes Management at this hotel needs a shake-up. One bright spot - the evening front desk clerk (Sal? Stu? Something like that) was VERY good, very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PilotMike2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of our property. It is always a pleasure to hear a guest's insight to assist us in our continued efforts to provide the best accomodations in Williamsburg, Virginia. We always strive to keep our guests' expectation and the standards of our hotel exceeding all that is expected. We have read your comments, and always address issues when brought to our attention; we review expectations with any department or employee when there is a potential issue or concern. To continue professional appearances, uniforms are ordered on a regular basis.
Thank you again for your review. We look forward to having you stay with us during your next trip to the Williamsburg, Virginia area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    132
    75
    35
    35
See reviews for
271
71
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Have stayed at this property before and always had great experience. Redo looks very good.
I want to thank Christine, the breakfast attendant. She was very gracious and made sure everyone was getting the food they wanted. She stopped by and talked at each table during the breakfast hours, and gave information when asked about the areas attractions.
Sal, the night manager at the from desk was also helpful. I began making reservations in mid September for the October 12-18 stay, and Sal had the rooms requested for my brother and myself that we required. It was the first time in a long time that my brother and his family and me and my family were in town at the same time.
Thanks again to all the staff that made this a wonderful time.

Room Tip: All rooms seem nice since the redo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve01519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I am so happy that you were able to finally get a vacation with your family and were able to enjoy your stay while at the Residence Inn in Colonial Williamsburg, VA. We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Everything from checking in to brakfast was a great experience. Staff was very helpful and accommodating. The room and beds were very comfortable. This hotel would be great for families or couples traveling together, since the rooms have two separate bedrooms, each with their own bathroom. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zac1mac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Residence Inn in Williamsburg, Va. I am glad you enjoyed byouru two bedroom suite. We offer the suites to allow separate living and kitchen areas, so you can enjoy the separate bedroom and bathroom when several guests or family members are staying together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was our first experience at a Residence Inn. The front desk staff was very welcoming and helpful with questions we had about Colonial Williamsburg. There were 2 couples of us so we reserved the 2 bedroom. The entire suite was amazingly large. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes and utensils. The restaurant had a full breakfast on the breakfast bar, and a good variety. We found the entire hotel to be clean, bright, nicely decorated with plenty of parking available. Laundry facilities are available if you need to wash/dry clothes. We were about 10 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg. There are a lot of local and chain restaurants closeby as well as an outlet mall. We had a very good experience at this Residence Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarshaDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in Colonial Williamsburg. Our newly renovated hotel has been so wonderful to share with our customers. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackstone, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
153 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Let me start off by saying that the hotel just completed a renovation shorty before our arrival. We had the two bedroom suite which was very comfortable. Can hear some hallway traffic from inside the room, but not at bedtime.

This hotel is less then a 10 minute drive to Colonial Williamsburg. I booked several months in advance and the rates contiued to drop so keep on checking to save a few dollars.

AM breakfast was typical for a Residence Inn but the food area is a little tight when it gets crowded.

Hotel has a smaller outdoor pool which was closed when we visited, however, they did offer us to use the indoor pool at the adjoing Marriott property.

Cleaning staff not fully with the program paying attention to details.

We found the staff very friendly and helpful, especially Sal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the main road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RayV555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Residence Inn in Williamsburg, Virginia. We appreciate you taking time to review our hotel and hope that you will stay with us on your next visit to the area. We take pride in ensuring that our guests' expectations are exceeded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Spent one night during a girls get away trip to the outlets shopping. Great location to access all the outlets and speciality shops. Wonderful breakfast with the best coffee and eggs I've ever had at a hotel comp breakfast. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Rooms where very large and sound proof. Our suite had 2 queen beds in a bedroom and a pull out sofa in the living room. Lots of space for 4 women to spread out, relax and sleep. Hotel was very clean and located in walking distance to restaurants. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Our room was 106 and super quiet. Away from the elevator and close to a side door to the parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
I am so glad to hear that you all enjoyed your time here in Wililamsburg with us. We always welcome reviews of your great experience. We look forward to your next visit to Williamsburg for a 'Ladies Weekend' away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My family which includes 2 small dogs stayed here for one week from Oct.13 to Oct. 20th 2012. We arrived to find our room ready and in perfect condtition. The staff was so friendly and more than ready to help me and my family in any way they could. I will start this by saying that the lady named Juanita greated us upstairs at our room in the hall way and told us she would be taking care of us while we stayed here. She cleaned our room every day and I do mean she CLEANED that room. She was very personable and made us feel right at home. Sal the manager greeted us later in our stay and was more than eager to see to any and all of our needs. I could not ask for a better place to stay. The dogs were also more than welcomed there and no one gave us strange looks as we took them down the elevator to the dog walk area. Which I would like to point out was also kept clean. I will stay there every time we go to Williamsburg which is usually once or twice a year. The morning breakfast and the evening social dinners were excellent, the food was very simple and very good.

Room Tip: Choose a room that best suits your needs such as one or two bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We love our four-leged friends. We are so happy that you took the time to review our pet-friendly hotel. We know pets are a true part of some families and we will treat them as such. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next trip to Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Williamsburg
SpringHill Suites Williamsburg
#31 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
#25 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Williamsburg

Property: Residence Inn Williamsburg
Address: 1648 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2724
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 80 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott is Williamsburg's' premier long-term, pet-friendly hotel. Located in the heart of Williamsburg on acres of green space, we are adjacent to a local recreation center, park and community walking trail thus allowing our guest to enjoy the normal pace of life while on business or pleasure. Also within walking distance are numerous restaurants, shopping and local attractions. Our breakfast buffet is offered 7 days a week and includes all the favorites from home made waffles to eggs and bacon. We also have a wonderful social hour Tuesday through Thursday that offers the guest a light dinner or dessert to finish off their day. The Residence Inn is Williamsburg "newest" hotel due to our wonderful enhancements and remodeling that include: New lobby and breakfast area with built in buffets, granite countertops, dining tables and chairs; new community table seating for guest traveling alone or in pairs; new in-room stainless steel appliances (refrigerators, microwaves, cook tops, ovens and dishwashers), granite countertops in kitchen and bath: updated living room furniture, large work station and new bedding. The New Residence Williamsburg provides all the comforts of home with the luxury of up-scale accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing