We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Some great qualities, but outweighed by the negative ones” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg
Ranked #17 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Some great qualities, but outweighed by the negative ones”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

What I liked about this Embassy Suites:
-There is a door between the living area and sleeping area, so you can hang out after putting the kids to bed. Also helpful for the second night when we realized one in our party is a snorer, who was sent to the sofa!
-The manager's reception features free drinks and snacks in the evening. There is even a water dispenser with sliced citrus in it for flavor.
-The breakfast is amazing and we thoroughly enjoyed it.
-Staff were friendly.
-Conveniently located. You could walk to a mini golf place if you wanted, but we did not check it out.
What was not great:
-Sleeping area is small and be prepared for small double beds. There is just enough room for a pack and play.
-Furniture in living area is low to the ground and uncomfortable.
-Just a sheet and blanket for the sofa bed.
-Almost all the rooms open into the atrium which is adjacent to the front desk. Both nights large groups of loud tweens were arriving and you could hear everything. It truly sounded as though one person had a megaphone. The noise affects only the living area. This problem is unavoidable due to the hotel's design, and I believe it is quite flawed.
-The shower is awful. The insert is extremely narrow and I did not even have room to stand with my feet a comfortable distance apart. There is no horizontal surface for toiletries! Not a good experience.
-The elevator is extremely slow. I had read this in previous reviews, but did not fully appreciate the nuisance until experiencing it. And there are only two.
-My husband and I went to the pool one night to "relax" in the hot tub, but there were just too many wild children there. It also wreaks of chlorine in there.
-The one time I tried calling the front desk, none of the buttons on the room phone would work. I used my cell phone to look up the hotel's phone number and finally got the front desk. The person did not care that the room phone did not work properly. I asked about different pillows (they are small and too soft) and bedding for the sofa bed, and he was not helpful with either, stating what's in the room is what we can have.

Overall, there are a lot of nice things about this hotel which is why I booked a room there. However, the difficulties we had there were enough that we are trying a different place for our next visit. I hope this is helpful!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RubyCrownKinglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick D, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our two-room suites. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    304
    180
    97
    50
See reviews for
695
226
18
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Embassy Suites Hotel located on Mooretown Road in Williamsburg VA is the best kept secret in town. Rooms are large and well maintained, staff is friendly and helpful, breakfast is cooked to order with all the trimmings, and it's close to both Colonial Williamsburg and Bush Gardens. You can't go wrong with using this hotel for your home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Judith V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick D, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback about your stay. I am glad we were a sweet suite hotel. Our staff is the best in town and it is great you enjoyed breakfast. Please do come back and see us the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel is not up to par with other Embassy Suites. The furnishings are cheap which is what you will feel like upon staying at this hotel. Do yourself a favor and book the Hampton Inn instead. This Embassy Suites is NOT a winner!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick D, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our two-room suites. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I needed an overnight getaway. We have stayed with Embassy Suites in the past, so we knew what we were getting. We enjoyed Colonial Williamsburg for the day and the room was very relaxing for the night. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Mario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick D, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for the kind words about your stay. It’s good to hear that our you found our close location to Williamsburg and was able to relax after a long day touring. We look forward to see you all again the nxt time you are in Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Close to colonial area, too far to walk. Nice to have a roomy suite with kids. Very clean overall. Not brand new but didn't mind that. Very friendly staff. The breakfast had large variety, not gourmet but certainly one of the best "free breakfasts" in the hotel world.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank PickyFamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick D, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback about your stay. I am glad that our staff made a differnce on your stay and you enjoyed our breakfast experience. Please do come back and see us the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed here with our 4 kids in the 2 bedroom suite. Everything was great and we had plenty of room for everyone to sleep and to have some time to ourselves to watch tv after the kids went to bed without keeping them awake. The complimentary breakfast was amazing! And they had 2 hours of complimentary drinks in the evening. Close to so many places to eat and Kmart if you forgot anything. Will definitely be using this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick D, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind words about our hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed our F&B offerings, that is one of the main things that makes our hotel special. Our location to the K-Mart is definitly a plus. We look forward to seeing you all the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leola, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Great location for access to Colonial Williamsburg and the College. The staff go out of their way to say hello and make this a home away from home. Great omelets too!!! The LR with kitchen area and separate BR were very nice and make it easy to live in one area and sleep in another.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick D, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback about your stay. I am glad you liked the privacy of our two room suites and our staff was great. Please do come back and see us the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
3.5 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg
Address: 3006 Mooretown Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#21 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Williamsburg's only full service, all-suite hotel. The newly renovated Embassy Suites Williamsburg hotel offers guests a free hot breakfast buffet with cooked-to-order station each morning and a complimentary cocktail reception each evening. This richly appointed Williamsburg hotel is within convenient reach of all the exciting attractions and rich history the area has to offer. This all-suites hotel has incorporated elements of Williamsburg in the decor, making it ideal for corporate travel, families and groups that are visiting Williamsburg, VA. Enjoy the extra space of two-room suites with a separate living and sleeping area. Each room is equipped with an HDTV, and all suites include a microwave and mini-refrigerator, generous work space and free Wi-Fi. Hotel offers more than 1,000 SF of versatile meeting space for corporate and social events. Indoor pool and sun deck; the whirlpool has been permanently closed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Williamsburg Virginia
Embassy Suite Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing