We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room and Location, Bad Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2007

The good: nice appearance and pretty good room. We requested a rollaway bed and it was already in the room, all set to go. How rare is that? Excellent location close to Colonial Williamsburg, though traffic on Richmond Road can get busy when the park closes. Bunch of mostly chain restaurants in the area and a couple cheapo touristy shops if you need to take home some gifts.

The bad: man, something has to be done about that pool! Invigorating might be a good word for it if we'd stayed in the summer and had just returned from the park all hot and sweaty. But we ran into an unexpected Arctic blast and didn't want anything to do with a pool that had an ice fisherman on the deep end. And add to that, no jaccuzzi!

Bottom-line: good hotel if you don't plan on swimming.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank aztecsince79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

999 - 1,005 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2007

We stayed 3 nights last week as part of our Spring Break tour of colonial Virginia. Great location for folks touring area. Safe parking lot. Very friendly, informed staff at front desk. Room was well insulated- difficult to hear any noise in the hallway- yeah! Housekeeping mediocre- room needed a good dusting top to bottom- and they kept pulling their hotel shampoo each day- but front desk quick to help. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank samsmom2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2007

this hotel was great.the room are big and comfy. The breakfast offered every morning was fantastic.Every morning my husband and kids would go down and bring breakfast up to the room.The have cofee and hot chocolate avalible 24/7
i love this hotel and plan to stay again

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank caseypuppy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2007

Very nice hotel. Friendly front desk personnel. Room was very nice. Some of them are family suites so be sure and ask for one away from those if you want quiet during busy times.
There was a roomfull of kids next to us, banging the doors, etc.
If I stay here again, I will ask for one away from those type of rooms. The breakfast was typical, but good.
A lot of choices for dining close by. A bit of a drive to the historic district.

Stayed: December 2006
5  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2006

I rebooked our Williamsburg reservations after reading TripAdvisor's users' comments about this hotel. I'm glad I did. The one bedroom was spacious, clean, and quiet. It was also an excellent value. The hotel's nicely situated among restaurants and shops and is close to downtown. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jazzbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2006

This new hotel (less than one year old) features HUGE rooms, comfy beds (even the sofabed), full size fridge and lots of kitchen gear. We stayed in a suite, with separate living room/kithcen.

Location is great, close drive to Colonial Williamsburg and shopping (food, souvenirs, outlet stores), and family restaurants. Some of these are even walking distance.

Staff was very friendly. We decided to stay an extra night, due to a big storm, and we were offered the same rate (although I had to ask for it after we were quoted a higher rate initially). Desk staff was knowledgeable about local attractions.

The heavy rain resulted in a leaky window in the bedroom, but maintenance quickly responded and we were offered a change of rooms. We declined, since it was our last night, but they cleaned up and made a temporary repair with no trouble to us.

Bathroom had large, well-lit sink/dressing area with lots of counter space. We would definitely stay here again. One suggestion: more towel racks in bathroom area.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank beachmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2006

we have stayed many times always a great value

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank landoncrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#13 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#6 of 73 in Williamsburg
747 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
2.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.

Address: 1880 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#13 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $80 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites
Hampton Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing