We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
Ranked #12 of 80 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Beaver Dam, WI, United States
1 review
“Good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A good place to stay, with helpful people. Our room was clean and the breakfast was good. Great location to visit all of the historical attractions. We liked that nearby restaurants were within walking distance. Good value. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    249
    96
    40
    7
See reviews for
421
198
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had a less than stellar experience at this hotel. The room was not clean (i.e.: bits and pieces of paper, cotton balls, and general trash around the edges and under the beds), the toilet seat wasn't bolted down, the stickers on the back of the door were crooked and weirdly, the faucet in the kitchen was installed incorrectly. I got stuck in the elevator, Also, we took out the velour-ish blanket to put on the pullout and there was streaks of dried white something (yuck). We took it to the front desk and requested a clean blanket. We were informed that they had no more blankets at this hotel but they provided us with a duvet cover. We had a majorly gross experience with the sheets. There was what appeared to be blood on a pillowcase so we took it off the pillow, put it on the floor with our dirty towels and left a note for housekeeping requesting clean sheets. We returned from our day and it was off the floor and back on the pillow. Hence, the Eww title of this review. The staff at the front desk was not unkind, they just seemed indifferent. I would not return to this hotel and I will not refer any friends to this hotel either.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WisconsinChristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We came to Williamsburg for a weekend trip to visit the amusement parks and stayed here. It's a short drive to both but this hotel was great. It's very clean, service was great, and the breakfast was one if the best I've encountered. My kids are 6 and 11, they wanted to eat at the hotel each morning! We will definitely stay here again on return trips!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Am072775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a less than average Hampton Inn in amenities and service. Horrible internet connection, no beverage at check in. Room smelled musty. No after-hours fruit, water or unlimited cookies like other Hampton hotels. The ony positive thing is the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Check in staff were curt and acted like we were intruding on their downtime.

Crumbs on sheets in pullout sofa, and trash under the sofa (popcorn bag, etc. not tiny pieces, large pieces of trash!).

TV in living room/kitchen area cut out frequently...during Game 7 of the NBA finals...unacceptable.

All these things were reported to front desk, nothing was addressed during our stay.

Breakfast was pretty sorry too, the fake eggs, lack of seasoning, all pretty tasteless.

I will say as a plus that overall the room was okay and clean minus the sleeper sofa and the staff attending to the breakfast area were very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krutigli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Short trip to the visitor's center and well located. Very close to good restaurants and stores. The rooms are clean and the staff attentive and courteous. The nights are quiet and I got great sleep. I would stay here again if I have the chance.

Room Tip: all seem to be equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 741peteb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The operation of this hotel is smooth - while the breakfast could use some improvement - it is a clean and helpful hotel in a convenient area for reaching the area. The staff was always available and kind - no problems developed or were evident - this was a period when the hotel appeared full

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#6 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 623 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
Address: 1880 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#13 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn And Suites
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing