We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“2012-December trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
Ranked #12 of 80 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“2012-December trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, nice staff,centrally located in Williamsburgh, VA. Clean rooms and good hot breakfast. Not far from Busch Gardens, Yankee Candle, Premium Outlet Mall. Would definitely recommend this place for. A visit to Willamsburgh, VA.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank perezmrp P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    251
    96
    40
    7
See reviews for
422
199
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Truly impressively clean facility with helpful staff that seemed to take pride in the property. Never challenging to find close-to-room parking. Attractive lobby Christmas decor. Got free upgrade on room without asking! Complimentary hot breakfast that was not overly crowded. Walkable to Yankee Candle, Christmas Mouse, and Old Mill Pancakes. Needs additional elevators.

Room Tip: Stay on the 1st floor if elevator waits may be annoying to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank regiontravelreturns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

decorations in the lobby were beautiful. Morning breakfasts were varied, fresh and delicious. All of the front desk folks were fun, helpful and made our stay GREAT. I would definitely return to this Hampton Inn as it is located close to everything we wanted to do in Williamsburg. And if you like good coffee, they have it ....24/7 infact!

Room Tip: ask for top floor away from the elevator and you will be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank anniemuir13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Josef is an excellent GM who understands his customers' needs, the hotel business, and the Williamsburg hotel competition. He's also very nice. Compliments to Mark as well who was very responsive and accommodating since our requirements were unussual (I'm a wheel chair user). mark kinding showed us three room options and gave us the comfort of knowing that the hotel would help in any way to make our stay comfortabe. he also helped print directions, pour coffee, and point out interesting activities. The whole staff was very nice, too!

Room Tip: We figured out the room temperature, but it was a challenge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

All 3 Hampton Inns in Williamsburg are conveniently located. This one is near many restaurants, shopping and 2 outlet malls. The property appears to have been recently renovated and is very clean. Although our room (2 queen beds standard room) and bath were relatively small, they were adequate and the room was equipped with a fridge and microwave.
The only complaint we had was that the mattresses were not the normal Hampton plush pillow top ones that we love and have come to expect when we choose Hampton. We even purchased one for our boat, so we are very familiar with the feel of it. When we asked the manager on duty about it, he replied that all the mattresses in the hotel were the same Sealy brand and were the ones used in all Hamptons. This is not possible since we stayed in a different Hampton that week and the pillow top was much thicker. That being said, we did enjoy our stay but will choose a different hotel for our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SirenaGorda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

What a nice place to stay. The rooms were clean and the staff was courteous, pleasant and very helpful. The location was conveinient to shopping and just a short jaunt to the historical Colonial Williamsburg area. Our family will definately be returning to this hotel on our bi-yearly trips to Williamsburg.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Everything was very nice and would definately stay here again in the future and the only problem I had was the price of the rooms I know you get what you pay for but I thought the price was a little high.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonypar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#10 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#6 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 623 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
Address: 1880 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#13 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn And Suites
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing