We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location and staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
Ranked #10 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Alpharetta, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

All 3 Hampton Inns in Williamsburg are conveniently located. This one is near many restaurants, shopping and 2 outlet malls. The property appears to have been recently renovated and is very clean. Although our room (2 queen beds standard room) and bath were relatively small, they were adequate and the room was equipped with a fridge and microwave.
The only complaint we had was that the mattresses were not the normal Hampton plush pillow top ones that we love and have come to expect when we choose Hampton. We even purchased one for our boat, so we are very familiar with the feel of it. When we asked the manager on duty about it, he replied that all the mattresses in the hotel were the same Sealy brand and were the ones used in all Hamptons. This is not possible since we stayed in a different Hampton that week and the pillow top was much thicker. That being said, we did enjoy our stay but will choose a different hotel for our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SirenaGorda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    265
    102
    40
    7
See reviews for
436
220
27
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

What a nice place to stay. The rooms were clean and the staff was courteous, pleasant and very helpful. The location was conveinient to shopping and just a short jaunt to the historical Colonial Williamsburg area. Our family will definately be returning to this hotel on our bi-yearly trips to Williamsburg.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Everything was very nice and would definately stay here again in the future and the only problem I had was the price of the rooms I know you get what you pay for but I thought the price was a little high.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonypar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Because we travel, my husband & I picked this hotel as we have found Hampton Inns to be reliable across the country. Unfortunately this particular one was a great disappointment. The first clue was when we initially entered the small room. There was a post-it note on the headboard telling us that our bedding was clean. Um, seriously, a post-it note. Not very professional & one would hope that the bedding was always cleaned between hotel guests but the note makes one wonder. Our room was a king handicapped accessible room ( the kings here are only in handicapped accessible rooms). I honestly don't know how someone in a wheelchair could negotiate their way around this small room. We were told the hotel had recently been renovated. I would agree the decor in the room looked freshly painted. The bed was uncomfortable & certainly not the Hilton bed we had hoped for. The closet was tiny with a rod for hanging clothes at a low level so a dress could not be hung. Ok, it was an accessible room. But only 4 hangers for both of us? It was particularly difficult when you were trying to get the wrinkles out of your clothes using the dollhouse sized miniature ironing board. Oh, and the walls were so thin that our television changed channels when the person next door used their remote. Yeah, that was weird. You could hear every flush, hair dryer, etc from the next room so loudly that my husband thought I was up & using the bathroom when it was next door.

I will say that the staff was very friendly & trying very hard to please. The complimentary breakfast was on par with other Hamptons which was nice. This place seemed to be a Hampton wannabe inn not a typical Hampton. My husband declared it the worst Hampton he has ever stayed in. We will not stay here again. It was not worth the rate we paid.

Room Tip: Room tip: Do not get a room near the first floor laundry & housekeeping area. The maids lined...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smileycuteness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIS Richmond Ro... G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd., responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, we are sorry for the condition of your guest room. We hear your comments loud and clear, and we promise that we will make the necessary improvements. We hope we can have another chance to show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel, if your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed for two nights over Thanksgiving. The hotel is easy to find with a load of restaurants right around it. There is also a 7 eleven right across the street for gas/snacks. Colonial Williamsburg is an easy couple mile drive away. Check in took all of a minute. The room is very clean with the typical comfy beds of a Hampton. Only issue was the water pressure was almost non-existent in the shower and the two queen room is a little tight. Breakfast was standard Hampton fare, warm and filling. If you are looking for a solid hotel convenient to everything, this is it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FJOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed there Thanksgiving Weekend. Hotel is very clean. Rooms are spacious. Bed and pillows very comfortable.Suite with kitchen and full size refrig, stove, microwave, dishwasher,cabinets with pots, pans, dishes. Nice talble to eat meals. 2 flat screen tvs in bedroom and livingroom. Bathroom very nice. Breakfast was great with quality food. Coffee all day. Very pleased with our stay and will stay again and again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank morganeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidAtlantic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here for the later part of Thanksgiving week. Hotel is very well kept and the staff were extremely friendly. We stayed in a suite which had a separate bedroom and full kitchen. Nice little touches included dish soap, dishwasher soap and paper towels for the kitchen. Also plates, cups and pots and pans. The pool was nice (3-5 ft) with towels available. Breakfast was well stocked with constant attention to refilling food and drinks. Coffee was available all day and was always hot.
Overall very pleased and would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesapeakeTeche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
2.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
Address: 1880 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#13 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn And Suites
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing