We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Clifton, Virginia
1 review
“Just ok”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We always stay at Hampton Inns. I found the reservation process to be very easy (I called the general Hampton Inn number). When we arrived, check-in was seamless. Room was very clean and comfy; however, there were a few disappointments. The "massage" shower head did not work. I am not sure if it is even supposed to. If not, no biggy. But put a sign up. I struggled trying to change the setting to no avail. Our sink was slow to drain. That's a bummer--esp. when you are brushing your teeth. The gym was fine but there were no clorox/lysol wipes to use to sanitize the equipment. Also, the remote control was sketchy--sometimes it worked and sometimes it didn't. Check-out also a bit disappointing. I stood at the front desk for about 3-4 minutes as nobody was around. Again, not that big of a deal but it was a little surprising given it was about 7:45 a.m.--prime check out time. Thumbs up to the staff. Very polite and accommodating. Thanks for the opportunity to comment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIS Richmond Ro... G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd., responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback in regards to the malfunctioning items in your room. I've worked with our maintenance team to fix these issues, however I apologize they weren’t resolved sooner. Your kind words regarding the staff will definitely be shared. Thank you again for your review and I invite you to stay with us again the next time you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    309
    120
    50
    9
See reviews for
521
251
30
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitingham, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Here for a girls vacation in Williamsburg. We have stayed at hampton inns before and have been happy. This time, though was a bit different. The breakfast were the same as usual, good and plentiful. The rooms however smelled moldy. Not so bad as that we needed to move, but annoying. We had adjoining rooms and the in between doors would not stay open. The rooms were clean except for our last night .... A plastic cup that was left on the floor near the bed was still there after the room was cleaned, along with the ice bucket filled with now water from the melted ice. Hot water was long to arrive in both bathrooms also. Sorry to be so negative but this is not the Hampton inns that we are used to.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was a good hotel for Williamsburg - Clean room, convenient location and nice staff. Pool and hot tub were good after a long day of walking Colonial Williamsburg. Check-in/check out was hassle-free. Overall a nice feww short days

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgras777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here over the Labor Day weekend so we expected crowds. On the positive side the hotel location is very convenient and the room was clean (although small for a king room). We were on the second floor and every morning I was awakened at 6:00 a.m. with the smell of bacon and/or sausage cooking. For some that might be welcomed, but for me not so much. Also, the hotel was quite noisy. I could hear our neighbors talking and even flushing and we could hear voices in the hall early in the mornings. Overall, it was an ok stay.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 3UVAfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We just spent three nights here and it was a very pleasant experience. When I was checking in the front desk asked if we needed help with the luggage. Then shortly after getting settled in the room (about 20/30 minutes), the phone rang; it was the front desk checking to see if we liked the room and if we needed anything. That set the tone for the entire stay.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well maintained during our visit. There were different hot choices for breakfast each morning, which was a nice change from other places, along with the standard cereal, hot oatmeal, and waffles. There are many restaurants and shops within walking distance, including our favorite restaurant, and the outlets are just over a mile up the road.
We are planning to be back in Williamsburg in December and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My stay at this Hampton Inn was great. Check-In went without a hitch and the room was comfortable, clean and well arranged. The location was perfectly located between Colonial Williamsburg and the Outlet and within walking distance to a great restaurant almost directly across the street "Anna's Brick Oven". I will stay here on my next Williamsburg visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHatchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our stay at this Hampton was a good one. Room was clean and comfortable. Hotel is in good location for walking to eating and shopping. Service was not quite as friendly as our other experiences with Hampton. This is in a very busy area so may have something to do with it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
2.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
Address: 1880 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#13 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites
Hampton Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing