We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not nearly as nice as we expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Ranked #25 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Meridian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not nearly as nice as we expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

The staff here are very nice and do go out of their way to be helpful.
However, the hotel is very old and rooms need updating. They have done what feels to be a "facelift" on the rooms, but the basics need upgraded. Kitchen appliances were very old and didn't work well. Coffee pot was dirty and looked to be decades old. NO OVENS in these units... only a two-burner stove top and an ancient microwave which turnplate doesn't even rotate. Ice machine didn't work in either of our rooms. Bath tub is old, leaky, and faucet was coming apart. Pool is very basic and indoors... we called to ask if we could use any of the other Hilton properties' pools; we were told no.
The biggest disappointment was the breakfast and "dinner" (reception) they advertise. We opted to stay here (though considerably more expensive than some of our other options) because we liked the idea of having food available for breakfast and dinner- especially with our young children. Breakfast is somewhat standard or a little less than hoped for. Waffles, gritty sausage and watery oatmeal, and such. However, the evening reception or "dinner" was a huge disappointment. Menu calendar in our room said they would be serving Chicken Parmesan tonight... we went down and found breaded Chicken breast, but no pasta or any other starch to serve with it. What a let-down.
I would only stay here if you get a great deal and don't mind basic breakfast and basically no dinner (or just eat in room). Just want to put the word out there so you can come prepared- unlike us.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't reserve a room on the "first" floor (actually is the lowest floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celesta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    165
    108
    65
    31
See reviews for
431
98
18
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canadensis, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We experienced excellent service from the staff. It is the only way we recommend travelling with family due to the spacious rooms. While normally I highly recommend staying with Homewood Suites with your family to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast and Manager's reception, this location's didn't live up to other Homewood/Hilton standards. Signage approaching the hotel can be confusing and difficult to see (signs for a Knight's Inn located in back and partially obscured by foliage). But the location is convenient. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank kamartin98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear kamartin98,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are very sorry that we did not meet your standards. We do value all guest feedback. We will use it to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, North Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Brought our extended family of 14 for a week of fun and family time. The Homewood Suites offered the best rooming situation and split our crew among two large suites. Thanks for the good space


Two disappointing points:

1- this Homewood does not serve wine and beer with dinner. We were bummed.
2- Our no-smoking suites must be converted suites. We could still smell the old smoke mixed with air freshener. Had an alternative room been available we would have taken it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

The staff was great but the hotel itself is in terrible condition including the free breakfast. I expected much more for $152 per night based upon my experience with other Hilton properties like Hampton Inn and Embassy Suites. I will NEVER stay at a Homewood Suites property again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Allen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunkletown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel has the best staff and services. We spent July 4th vacation here and visiting Williamsburg, Jamestown and Busch Gardens. The staff was always helpful and our rooms were lovely (and very well maintained). We stayed in 1 and 2 bedroom suites (there were 11 of us). Breakfast and the breakfast area was excellant - we used that area to have dinner together also.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Leanne,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad you stayed with us during the holiday. Thank you for choosing us for your hotel needs. We are so glad that you enjoyed the suite. We will pass these great comments on to our staff. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed for a week in a 2 bedroom suite and it was NASTY! There was mold in the bathrooms and one toilet didn't hardly flush. The so called blanket was dirty and the sheets were insanely hard. The food was so bad you couldn't eat it. Out of 7 days 1 day they served biscuits and gravy and it was okay. The walls are so thin you can hear the people in the rooms beside and above you. We've stayed at many Hilton brand hotels and this one is definitely not up to their standards. The location was good but that is all it's got going for it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gimpeay80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamPWBGHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback Gimpeay80. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area and we apologize for the housekeeping problems you experienced. Unclean rooms are not typical at our hotel and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards and that our guests are satisfied with their stay. We hope you will give us another chance if you visit this area in the future.

All the Best,
Sam Peraza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had a 1 bedroom suite, very roomy. Enough space for my husband and I and 2 teenage boys. Also, the room and hotel were clean. There is an indoor pool which was nice but we went during the summer and there was nowhere outside for lounging. There was a patio next to the pool that had barbeques and picnic tables but no place to just lounge and enjoy the weather. I would not stay again during warmer months because of this. Coffee is advertised 24 hours a day but I don't think anyone was checking to make sure it was available as a few times during our 4 day stay they were out. When brought to the attention of the hotel staff they quickly brought out new coffee but I don't think I should have to ask for something that is advertised. The hotel staff was very friendly and welcomed us each time we entered the lobby. There was no phone book in my room and when I went to the desk and asked for one they did not have one; but the person working at the desk researched what I was looking for and gave me the location and phone number for the business. The hotel was between Bush Gardens and Colonial Williamsburg and only a few minutes drive to each. Probably could have walked to Colonial Williamsburg.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rochelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
0.6 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Williamsburg

Property: Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Address: 601 Bypass Rd, U.S. Route 60, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Williamsburg hotel, a charming hotel located 18 miles from Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport. Enjoy the comforts of home in one of the elegant suites, complete with your own fully equipped kitchen and separate living room. Situated in the center of colonial Williamsburg, the spacious suites make this hotel in Williamsburg, VA a memorable place for an extended stay or short holiday Enjoy the comforts of home at Homewood Suites, where your day begins with a complimentary cooked breakfast. Choose a spacious one- or two-bedroom suite with separate living and sleeping areas. Unwind on comfortable, classic furniture in front of your fireplace. Each suite is large enough for work, study or entertaining, and includes a kitchen with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Relax on a comfortable couch in your living room, and unwind in front of on-demand movies on your 37-inch LCD TV. Stay connected with high-speed WiFi and two telephones with data ports and voicemail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Priceline so you can book your Homewood Suites Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Homewood Williamsburg
Williamsburg Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing