We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's strengths outweigh it's weaknesses”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We've been going to Williamsburg for over 20 years and have stayed at many hotels. This is our current go-to hotel for a few reasons. (1) We like a room with a good air conditioner, and that is getting harder and harder to find. The rooms at this hotel let you really cool down the room. (2) It is in a good central location (3) It seems to be a "quiet" hotel, our room had very little "external" noise. The A/C unit is not a window one, but is still located in the room. I don't think it is very loud, but it isn't "central" air. (4) The rooms are large, well laid-out, and the beds are in good shape.

On the slightly negative side, this is an older hotel and it sometimes shows. The rooms were clean, but are showing some signs of wear. Also, it includes a breakfast, but the last time we stayed, the breakfast really didn't look very good at all...not up to the usual Hilton hotel (Hampton Inn, etc..) standards. No OJ, warm Apple juice, they had eggs, but didn't look good. We usually eat out in Williamsburg so it isn't an issue for us.

Room Tip: Avoid the lower floors if you don't want headlights in your windows.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Apljavaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique R, General Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2015

Dear Apljavaman,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return.

Thank you,

Angelique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
There are newer reviews for Homewood Suites Williamsburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 766 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

I'm a Hilton Honor card holder. So obviously I wanted to stay in a Hilton chain. Every time we go to Orlando, FL we stay at the Staybridge suites. First it was simply the one we found with vacancy. Then it became home away from home. Since our trip to Williamsburg was a short one (4 nights) we decided to try the Homewood. I was NOT impressed at all. The front desk help (Larry) was wonderful, full of smiles, and very helpful. The hotel itself was not all that. The rooms were a bit tight. They were clean but outdated. The breakfast was a turn off. I thought a Hilton would have fresh food, better varieties, and a pleasant staff. That was not the case on all three accounts. The first morning we left pretty much still hungry. Thank God for the meal plan we bought in Bush garden. Where you sit to eat breakfast is dreary. It is a lower level mostly no windows except for one side. The window is blocked by an extension of the building. Hence no sun light to uplift your mode. Also, it is very small seating area. You come late, and you better take it to go b/c there will no tables. The coffee was not hot and they kept running out of napkins, silverware, and coffee creamers. As I said I was not impressed. Would I go again to Homewood? I'll keep an open mind but in a different location. However, since we spend about 2 weeks in Orlando, FL, I'll play it safe and go for the Staybridge suits.
Word of advice, I wish I waited right before the weekend. The two room suites price was lashed big time. Unfortunately, I could not reserve as my reservation was “Advance purchase” which means Icould not change it.

Room Tip: try to pick the ones at the end of th hole, especiall
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SGfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear SGfromNJ,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are very sorry that you were not satisifed with your stay. Thank you for telling us about your concerns about the hotel. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you for telling us your thoughts about the breakfast service. Thank you for your mention of our employee Larry. We will make sure that we pass that on to him. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Homewood Suites Williamsburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Girls only weekend. Great set up with a living area, kitchen and separate bedroom area. Had a few request like away from elevator, top floor etc... We ended up directly across from the elevator and had horrible noise from the outside AC units or something in the bedroom area. We did not ask to switch since it was late and we were only staying one night. Be warned the breakfast is hot and free but it was not good. I did mention this to the front desk and in my survey. Ended up spending money going out to eat brunch.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Westfamilyx6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you for your review. I apologize that you were not happy with your room assignment during your recent stay at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all reservations but occasionally cannot meet every room request. We will take your feedback regarding our breakfast into consideration as we work to improve our offerings. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance if you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is an older hotel, but the rooms are updated. Every staff member we encountered was friendly. I remarked to my husband that it was easy to forget any small things (such as some of the features being older...like no automatic doors) because the staff was so great. We travelled to Williamsburg to visit Busch Gardens. The hotel is in a great location, less than 10 miles from Busch Gardens. We had a 2 BR 2 BA suite. It was fantastic. We had a ton of space to spread out. The rooms were clean and the bathrooms were clean. The pool was nice. The morning breakfast was nice. Eggs, ham, potatoes, waffles, cereal, pastries among other things were on the menu. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARMYG8R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear ARMYG8R,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean safe, and comfortable place to stay. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us, and that we could accomodate you. Thank you for mentioning our breafast service. We will pass your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Homewood Suites Williamsburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

2 adults and 2 teenage girls. Two bedroom suite (1K +2Q). Clean. Plenty of space. Free internet. Friendly staff. Breakfast was ok. The bathrooms could have been attached to the bedrooms for another click on the rating, but not a big deal. Good location for Busch Gardens and Water Country Parks. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Advance purchased off Hilton site and got us a great value.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arupkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear arupkhan,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your family. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Williamsburg. Thank you for mentioning your concerns about the location of the bathroom. We appreciate all guest feedback. It alllows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Homewood Suites Williamsburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were 3 adults and 2 teenage girls. Found the one bedroom suite to be very adequate, great location to Williamsburg & Busch Gardens. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was also adequate we did not use the afternoon receptions. Would use again in a return trip!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim6468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear Jim6468,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate all of your feedback regarding your stay. We are so glad that we could accommodate you, and your family during your trip to Williamsburg. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Williamsburg. Thank you for your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Homewood Suites Williamsburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We try to find homewood first when we travel. All but once this has been a good idea. As a family of 5 we need the space and breakfast is a huge plus. We were surprised on arrival to be the guest of the day. We got turn down service, bonus hilton honor points and upgraded to a two bedroom for our entire stay. We were so excited to have that extra space and each kid in their own bed. The hotel itself is in great shape. Not perfect, but well maintained and the staff seems to care about their hotel. It couldn't get much closer to colonial williamsburg, which was perfect for us since we were there almost every day. We will stay her again without question.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dpuck1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear dpuck1998,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback regarding the hotel. We are so glad that we could accommodate you, and your family. Thank you for all of your comments. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you and your family will choose us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Homewood Suties Williamsburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
731 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
1.2 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Williamsburg

Address: 601 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $116 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated All Suite Hotel less than a mile from Colonial Williamsburg Experience the best of Williamsburg and stay at our all suite Homewood Suites by Hilton® Williamsburg. Stylish, spacious, modern, and loaded with useful amenities, we’re situated in the center of colonial Williamsburg and a short drive to Busch Gardens and Water Country USA. For those arriving by air, we are 18 miles from Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport. From a free daily hot breakfast and evening reception Monday thru Thursday (featuring light snacks and drinks*) to complimentary Wi-Fi, we’re designed for comfortable and productive stays. Enjoy a swim in the year round heated indoor pool, go for a workout in the modern fitness center, or fire up the grill in our outdoor area. Conveniently located near many local companies and businesses, including College of William and Mary, you can go from boardroom to vacation mode in minutes. Explore the fun and history of Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens or Water Country USA and nearby attractions Jamestown Yorktown historic areas. Catch a game at William and Mary’s Zable Stadium, tour the historic campus, or visit Colonial Williamsburg’s Merchant Square for a one-of-a-kind shopping experience. We also offer our guests a variety of smart touches designed to make traveling easy, like our 24-hour market, gift shop, safety deposit boxes, and onsite laundry facilities. Our Suites At our Williamsburg hotel you don’t need to upgrade to a suite because every room is a suite, offering smart decor and amenities. Choose from a spacious one-bedroom or two bedroom suite, all with separate living and sleeping area. Each suite includes a fully equipped kitchen with a full-size refrigerator, microwave, and dishwasher ideal for extended stay guests. Offering a large selection of rooms with two queen beds, we’re a great hotel for families, corporate travelers, and groups. Whether you are in town on business or on a weekend getaway, you’ll love our spacious accommodations near Colonial Williamsburg. Our Suites Guest Perks Start your day with a delicious hot breakfast featuring eggs, sausage, fresh fruit, and a variety of baked goods and pastries, as well as juices, coffee, and tea. Unwind at our complimentary evening reception offering a light meal, snacks, beer, and wine*. Built for travelers on the go, we have a 24-hour onsite market and offer grocery shopping service. Don’t skip a workout at our 24-hours fitness center, enjoy a refreshing swim year round in our indoor pool. Our 24-hour business center features free WiFi, complimentary printing, fax facilities and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Homewood Williamsburg
Williamsburg Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing