We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We liked it..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg
Ranked #16 of 80 Hotels in Williamsburg
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“We liked it..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

After a long day at Busch Gardens, we checked in around 11pm...No cookies for us though, they were out and considering we checked in late, I was not surprised. We had booked on priceline (96. a night), we were able to check in right away. the room was clean and the beds were comfy. Most of the facilities were closed at that time ( including the bar), but they looked nice. While it is minutes from Busch gardens, it's somewhat isolated in a residential/Business complex area. There wasn't anything walkable ( that I know of), that being said, we would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max02215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    323
    179
    87
    33
See reviews for
461
183
27
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

First and foremost, the staff was terrific, friendly, and very accommodating. The location was what drew us- it's really the closest hotel to Busch Gardens (literally a minute or so drive away). It also appears that there had been a fairly recent renovation- some lobby elements had been updated, and there appeared to be fresh wallcovering and carpets in corridors. The guestrooms were also reasonably nice, updated, and neutral. However, maintenance of elements like ice machines, windows and doors, and even fixtures in guestroom bathrooms was not great at all. There was NO ventilation in guestroom bathrooms, meaning that moisture (and smells) get out of control when the door is shut. The light fixtures were incredibly rusty and gross, the shower rod sagged, and the single water control only seemed to provide water that was scalding, slightly too hot, or completely cold. WiFi was virtually impossible to make work unless we chose to pay (a free option for Hilton Honors members did not work at all, which in my mind is almost inexcuseable). Overall, the experience was just okay- we actually had a better room at another hotel during our road trip that was half the price, had perfectly working free WiFi, and a free breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Icarus922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I'll start with the positives. Our room was clean. Our bathroom was clean. The hotel had an indoor and outdoor pool. The outdoor pool included limited table service with an abbreviated menu from the hotel's bar, which was nice. You received a warm walnut/chocolate chip cookie and chilled bottle of water upon arrival that was quite pleasant after traveling all day. The lobby was clean. The front desk staff was friendly. The waitress that worked the pool table service - named Marinda - was fantastically kind and helpful. I'll now move onto the negatives. First, the laundry chute was wide open for a small child to jump down to their death (door wide open and unattended). Second, the hotel toiletries were paltry. The check-in is 4pm and check-out is 11am - this feels stingy and cheap given the fact that the hotel isn't the nicest for a Hilton property. At least give us until 12:00pm to check-out. Next, the carpet in the room felt slightly dirty and it had stains to suggest so. The balcony for which I was charged an extra $20 was overlooking a basketball and tennis court and was surrounded by in-wall air conditioning units that made sitting outside a bit too loud at times. Overall, the staff and wonderful bedding made this stay worthwhile, but the property would benefit from some updates and greater supervision of staff (that laundry chute was ridiculously dangerous and shouldn't have been left open and unlocked given that this property is right next to Busch Gardens and hosts tons of children daily during the summer).

Room Tip: Don't bother with a balcony unless it's opposite the side of the hotel where the tennis/bask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel has a great location, within 3 minutes of Busch Gardens, a few minutes of Water Country, and a short drive from Yorktown, Jamestown, and Williamsburg. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the hotel was very well kept and clean. Will stay here again for the next visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here on way to North Carolina. We enjoyed the pool, bar and environment so much we stayed here again on our way back home! The staff were very friendly and hotel was clean. If in the area again, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Dorothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockeysville, Maryland
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Hotel needs some work. Telephone system in hotel is really bad. You call to one place and get another. I was charged for internet access which was complimentary with my reservation. I asked for extra towels at front desk and never received them. Four towels for five people and 4 of them girls. Staff was very friendly to your face, but never followed through with my request. Girls loved the pool--one of few good things at hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Gale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed there while driving through Williamsburg as it is a Doubletree, which are generally very nice. Not this ghetto dump! The room was dirty and smelled like mold. The pool had a cool setup (indoor-outdoor) but also was dirty and rusty. The housekeepers knocked on the door at 9am and when we said we were sleeping, they opened the door! and said "when yall leavin, we gotta clean the room!" I got up and shut the door and could hear them talking about us with profanity in the hallway! Not recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spoons23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 878 reviews
7.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#6 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg
Address: 50 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-5579 (Formerly Williamsburg Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#20 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#22 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Williamsburg is the closest full-service hotel to Busch Gardens Theme Park and Water Country USA, offering exciting family entertainment on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Marriott Hotel Williamsburg
Marriott Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing