We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Less than expected for a Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Charlottesville, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Less than expected for a Hilton”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I was shocked to find out at 7:30am that the shower faucet did not work. The faucet would not turn on hot or cold water, 100% out of order. My business meeting in the conference center started at 8:00am. I had to collect and pack all my belongings and transfer to another room. This problem not only was a huge inconvenience but it caused me to be almost 30 minutes late to my conference. I was never offered an apology, or any type of compensation for this inconvenience. I would never expect to encounter this type of dis-satisfaction at a Hilton. I paid $111 for a room that was primarily being used to sleep and shower the next morning! The result was a shower that did not work, and late for the meeting!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    386
    214
    107
    46
See reviews for
560
239
32
349
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The staff is very friendly and helpful. I was shocked to learn that not only did they remember me and my my question from the day before, but followed up when they saw me the next day. It brought a smile to my face that someone actually listened. Try out Food for Thought if you come to Williamsburg; they have great food too!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Darlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel, very clean. Very close to Busch Gardens. Plenty of parking, helpful staff. Easy drive to Colonial Williamsburg. A couple of restaurants within walking disTance. Good place for families. If you are planning on going to Busch gardens, this hotel is super close!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank StephanieSelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a very nice hotel - clean rooms, friendly staff and all the amenities including small gym, both indoor/outdoor pool, and free wifi. We also tried the continental breakfast, and it was awesome. My kids love the cookies and the best part is the hotel is less than 5 minutes away from Busch Gardens.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thai T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The front desk staff were friendly and very helpful. They were always available and I enjoyed the warm cookie each night. The hotel was very easy to navigate and the room was spacious clean and comfortable. The hotel was close to everything while being secluded. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Priscilla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel was nice, and well laid out for conferences. The Bell Boy, Tracey, went out of his way to meet us in the parking lot and carry our bags in and reccomend an excellent Italian Restaurant for Dinner just around the corner.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This was a nicely-appointed hotel, but there were a few problems with my stay. Lack of hot water on several occasions, noise in the hallway, sloooooow service at breakfast - only one waitress and she wasn't very efficient or competent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
5.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
7.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg
Address: 50 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-5579 (Formerly Williamsburg Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#20 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#22 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Williamsburg is the closest full-service hotel to Busch Gardens Theme Park and Water Country USA, offering exciting family entertainment on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Marriott Hotel Williamsburg
Marriott Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing