We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg
Ranked #22 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in September. Was also here back when it was a Marriott, and it's pretty much the same. Check-in was complicated because their computers were freezing up and they couldn't get my credit card to work. It took some time, but they finally got everything figured out. Room was clean and comfortable, but the meeting rooms need some work in terms of heating/cooling. Fitness center was nice, as was the indoor/outdoor pool. I could have sworn that there was a hot tub when I there before, but there isn't one now - that would be a nice addition. All of the staff in the hotel were friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CosmoVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,477)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,367 - 1,373 of 1,479 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

We love it! Having going to this hotel for the past 10+ years. Changing names three times, but the beautiful spacious infrastructure makes this spot unique. Very close to Bush Gardens, Colonial Williamsburg, & the Mongolian Peking Restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Went for a work conference. Used many of the meeting rooms and half were hot and half freezing. The restaurant and café/market didn't have functioning credit card machines and didn't bother to put up signs to inform customers. The manager was unapologetic and said the outage would last for at least 6 more days. The catered food for our meeting was definitely above average. Staff were friendly but many of them didn't speak English very well and we had trouble communicating. Décor and room were nice and spacious. Couldn't access the conference Internet - maybe that was part of the outage that affected the credit card machines.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom C, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

We thank you for taking the time to let us know about the hurdles you encountered during your stay. We are never happy to hear that a guest was disappointed with any facet of their stay. Our computer systems were destoyed by a power surge during the storm. This was very inconvenient for our guests. We are very sorry for the frustration. Though we could not have prevented the outage I am sorry to hear that one of our staff members was less that understanding in regards to your inconvenience. There is no excuse for that. We hope that you will return to see just how terrific our hotel and staff is now that all of the support equipment is functioning. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights on business. Friendly staff. When a bus tour took up most of the breakfast area, the hotel comp'd us a breakfast for the trouble. Computers for restaurant, bar, and snack area were down but helpful staff just wrote up receipts by hand. Room on 6th floor in HHonors area was spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

After reading many reviews, we picked this hotel for a 2-night getaway based on its location and Doubletree reputation. We were skeptical based on the reviews here, but didn't see what most people were complaining about.

But we had a problem of our own, the GF developed a severe allergic skin reaction to the room (flared up all over her body soon after coming to the room, died down outside, flared back up in the room). Process of elimination led us to suspect the in-room AC (the old kind that hangs out of the outside wall), she seemed better with it off. A body-rash doesn't make for much fun, even before considering a hot-weather vacation where one shows a lot of skin. Since she has no other similar allergies and we've stayed in at least 25 other hotel properties over the last 3 years, including other Doubletrees, I suspect it was something specific to this room, probably mold in the AC system.

We contacted Hilton via the Hhonors desk when we got home, and they granted us a few extra Hhonors points (3K, not nearly enough to offset a "didn't have a good vacation" experience-- a night in this hotel would be 35K points), but despite their promising to pass our concerns along to this Doubletree's management, we did not hear anything further.

Bad followup, and I suspect that means the room wasn't checked. Checking / cleaning each of those AC units should be a high-up maintenance priority especially in such a humid climate.

We did also hear a lot of noise from the hallway and adjoining room-- the walls must be very thin. Room-darkening curtains worked well.

Otherwise-- the hotel is larger than many Doubletrees, and has an indoor-outdoor pool and event facilities. The overhyped Busch Gardens is nearby also, and there's a Starbucks less than .5 mile away. The gym is substantial and well-maintained. Staff were friendly at checkin and checkout.

Parking is free. Highway access is convenient, and it's on the side of Williamsburgs closeish to Jamestown and Yorktown.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Omar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom C, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

I am sorry for the delay in responding. We are are very disappointed that your stay was spoiled by your guests allergic reaction. You are absolutely correct that AC units should be checked frequently for dirt and mold. It is regularly sceduled by our engineering department and should have been checked prior to your stay. Occationally people may have a reaction to the type of detergent used to clean our linens but it is infrequent. I would be happy to discuss this further if you would like to contact me @ 757-259-5695. We appreciate your constructive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Great location, staff very attentive, great meeting space... so glad that this is now a Hilton property.... clean room.. super beds.. can't say enough good things.. I am a Hilton diamond member and do over 75 nights a year in Hilton hotels

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were there and had a good time. My husband enjoyed getting in the pool every morning. The closet in the room was very small. But overall, the saty was great. We did so sightseeing downtown. Golden Corral was about 10 minutes away. The food was great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Calvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
5.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg

Address: 50 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-5579 (Formerly Williamsburg Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#20 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#22 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $72 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Williamsburg is the closest full-service hotel to Busch Gardens Theme Park and Water Country USA, offering exciting family entertainment on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Marriott Hotel Williamsburg
Marriott Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing