We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay after long day at Busch Gardens” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Roanoke, United States
1 review
“Great Stay after long day at Busch Gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Hotel is very close to Busch Gardens. Parking was rough but staff was really helpful. Clean rooms and I love the white bedding. Breafast dining room folks were friendly and helpful. Although hotel is undergoing renovations, everthing was clean. Great place if you have kids.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tonya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    374
    203
    101
    41
See reviews for
530
235
32
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

The name Hilton implies a quality accomodation. However, the room in this hotel we had was below what you will get in a motel, which costs a fraction of the price. The room was extremely dated and ceiling paint peeling off. I understand that this place is being refurbished but that should be reflective in the price and disclosed so that the person can make his or her decision whether to stay at this hotel. When I make enquiries about the renovation at the time of booking, I was told that the exterior was being renovated. This was misleading. I am assuming the interior of the rooms will be redone as well otherwise one would be better off at a cheap motel, which is maintained properly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

While it appears (at least, from my visit) that the majority of the hotel has been renovated at this point, there are still a few items that need attention or refurbishment (such as water damaged ceiling tiles or the occasional segment of peeling paint on the wall or ceiling). However, having said that, I was really very happy with this hotel. Rooms were large and very clean, with nice new carpeting, fixtures and many rooms have a pretty sizable balcony. No free breakfast, but there are about 20 Pancake/Waffle Houses to choose from within a 5 minute drive. If you're going to Busch Gardens or Historic Williamsburg, I'd highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FunkyManJive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We made a last minute decision to stay in Williamsburg due to traffic and this was the only hotel available. The hotel is enormous and would probably be worth the high price if you stay to use the facilities. The newly renovated rooms are very fresh, beds are comfortable. Unfortunately breakfast was not included. As a retreat, this is a great hotel. As a stopover, you'll get better value elsewhere.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TheFamilyMan-Guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

As so many others have already stated... this hotel is definately being renovated... with that said I had a wonderful stay in a standard king room. Normally I stay in a suite so I was a bit disapointed when they did not have any available... but the size/space of my room was great!!! Very clean, comfortable, well maintained. The internet had a very strong signal which enabled me to VPN. Extremely close to Busch Gardens so at 9:30 pm I enjoyed the free fireworks from the comfort of my room. The pool was indoor and outdoor which was awesome. This hotel is family friendly, set in a romantic arena and easily accomondates the workaholic...lol... the cookies were delicious until they ran out...:(...lol the hotel staff was very warm and friendly... looking forward to staying there again... I was disapointed that they did not have an executive lounge but I did meet some nice people in the pub and cafe

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonzey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

The PM front desk staff went above and beyond with our needs and requests. Traveling with three children is never easy. They provided extra towels, information, dinner recommendations. I recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to Williamsburg, Busch Gardens and Water Country. All within a 5 minute drive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our stay was FANTASTIC!!! The staff members, were exceptional and very nice. They made us feel comfortable and provided great customer service. They are transitioning from the old hotel and doing construction in some areas but it does not interfere with the guest stay. It's situated a Busch Garden's front door! Great Location!! The rooms were VERY Clean!! I would recommend that there be a sign for the cost of the buffet breakfast at the resturant entrance. We had a breakfast package but some guest seemed to think that it was included. I would also recommend a shuttle to Busch Gardens (a few times a day). The indoor pool was said to be heated but it was not. Not sure what happened there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Shelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
7.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
5.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
4.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg
Address: 50 Kingsmill Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Williamsburg Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#20 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#22 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Williamsburg is the closest full-service hotel to Busch Gardens Theme Park and Water Country USA, offering exciting family entertainment on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Marriott Hotel Williamsburg
Marriott Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing