We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Williamsburg/Historic Area
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Aside from the woman at the front desk who checked us in being rude, unprofessional and frankly, a B, the stay was great. The rooms were very clean and fairly comfortable. Definitely worth the price. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolphinchick014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bharat P, Night Auditor Mark at Super 8 Williamsburg/Historic Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2016

Thank you for your kind word's I was not working here in 2009 but I'm glad your stay was comfy and you had a great time in Williamsburg, Virginia. We hope to see you again soon take care be safe my friend's. Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 466 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2010

My fiance and I stayed here on a recent trip to Williamsburg. We loved it. We didn't make reservations, just showed up and he quoted us the same price we found online. No hassels. Room was super clean, with the exception of a dead fly in the bathroom (but that can happen at the Hilton also!).

We paid $40/night for a king room, non-smoking. Very much a high value for the money spent. Don't go there with high expectations and you'll be pleasantly surprised. A week later we were in Vegas at the Bellagio and honestly, we both liked the Super 8 better. The Bellagio was fun and all, but at $250/night...come on. Seriously. This place has free wi-fi, free continental breakfast (which isn't much, but it is FREE!) and lots of parking.

The location is a bit far from the attractions and stuff, but we made out just fine. We had our own SUV and had no problems getting around at all. There's not much for dining options around, except for Mc D's across the street. We loved the craker barrell! :)

Bottom line, it's cheap, but super clean and an AWESOME value!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdnoethen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bharat P, Manager at Super 8 Williamsburg/Historic Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2016

thank you for your comments, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Check in was fast, man at desk was very helpful and polite.Our room suited us well.The pool was nice.We ate at the Mexican resturant next door and the food was wonderful.I don't understand why people complain in these reviews about this motel.U pay for what you get and I have stayed in a lot worse motels.This motel was very nice compared to some.It just seems to me some people are just not happy about life in general.If you are not in your room much at all why should it matter what the room is like.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
2  Thank bad2thabonemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bharat P, Manager at Super 8 Williamsburg/Historic Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2016

thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

I had originally booked this hotel with Priceline. I had called ahead of time to request 2 double beds and non-smoking since we were traveling with two small children. I was told over the phone that it was no problem. At check-in, we were given a king, non-smoking room which meant our two boys had to sleeep on the floor. The man at the front desk wouldn't even look into it even though there were several vacant rooms and we could have been easily accomodated with two double beds. Upon entering the room, the air was turned off and the room smelled like a Chinese food restaurant. We had to turn the AC on and leave for a while because the heat was unbearable. At night, there was noise, people drinking around the pool and men babging on the outside of hotel room doors to get in. We later found out that a group of men had brought two prostitutes back to the hotel and partied it up by the pool causing a scene. The four of us ddin't get any sleep the two nights we were there and the pool was filthy. Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimtori12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bharat P, Manager at Super 8 Williamsburg/Historic Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2016

thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

The room was nice and clean, the breakfast was fairly good and fresh. However, someone that worked there stole my husband's medication from his bottle. When my husband checked them on his weekly check of the pill bottles after we got home, there had been medication stolen from his bottles. When I contacted the manager of the Super 8 hotel Williamsburg historic area, he was adamant in saying that none of his employees would do anything like that, they had worked for him for 20 years. Hmm, i guess the 20 something year old boy that worked there had been working there since birth!!! I would never stay in a super 8 hotel again, especially not this one! I do not recommend this hotel to anyone! Or if you do stay there, take everything with you when you go somewhere, or it will get stolen!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bharat P, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Williamsburg/Historic Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2016

thank you hope to see you soon. emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We read the last review and saw the "newly renovated" on the website and were hopeful our money was well spent here. Apparently this title just means "newly painted". That's the only thing that seemed new. We had reservations for 6 people in 1 room, they gave us 5 pillows, only 4 with pillow cases. When I asked for more, I was told they were out. It just felt like a gross hotel. The desk clerk and worker were discussing overcharging problems they had and were laughing about it while we were in the lobby. Please don't go to this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank youthprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bharat P, Manager at Super 8 Williamsburg/Historic Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2016

thank you see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

I WAS HORRIFIED BY THE REVIEWS OF THIS HOTEL. I stayed free here for 2 nights on 2 separate rooms/ reservations. I was horrified by the reviews of the hotel. Even though I could get this hotel for free I almost considered paying 50+ dollars to stay somewhere else. I am 100% glad I did not. The Hotel is nothing special (it is just a super 8) but it was just remodeled and it very clean. The rooms are small but adequate. I was booked for a sofa sleeper room for both nights, the first night I wasn't even give the sofa sleeper room, but I didn't really care because I wasn't even going to be there for 10 hours.
The customer service has not been amazing. For example I called a few days before my reservation because I saw on the hotel website that it was recently remodeled and I asked when the last remodel was done and I was told "they do a little bit every year" not that the hotel was recently fully remodeled (which it was) The breakfast is very basic, just cereal, bananas, and donut holes. The room was clean and Cheap!! The rate on a basic room in the hotel during the week when we stay was $40. At that rate it is a STEAL!!. In conclusion this hotel was just remodeled and is MUCH BETTER THAN THE REVIEWS. This is the place to be if you are on a budget!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bharat P, Manager at Super 8 Williamsburg/Historic Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2016

thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#53 of 73 in Williamsburg
146 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#46 of 73 in Williamsburg
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Williamsburg Historic Area
0.4 mi away
Best Western Williamsburg Historic District
6.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Williamsburg/Lightfoot Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Williamsburg/Historic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Williamsburg/Historic Area

Address: 304 Second St, I-64 Exit 243B, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4528
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range: $43 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Williamsburg/Historic Area 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8-Williamsburg offers value accommodations in a central location near Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, Busch Gardens and Virginia Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Williamsburg/Historic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Williamsburg/Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Super Eight Williamsburg
Williamsburg Super 8
Williamsburg Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing