We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch Your Head”
Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MainStay Suites
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Tampa, Florida, Usa
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Watch Your Head”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This review will be short and sweet. We are budget-conscious travelers and have stayed in many La Quinta Inns. We would return to nearly every one but maybe not this one. Don't get me wrong, the property was clean and well-maintained, the breakfast assortment a bit more varied than usual and the service was friendly. The Internet worked fine and the price was definitely right. :-)

Here's where I would scratch my head.

First, as you go town the hall to your room there are stairs at two places in the hall. There are ramps for your roller bags but there are two problems:

First, the ramps are only wide enough for the bag so you're either going to deal with the awkwardness of your bag on the ramp and you on the stairs or you're going to lift and carry the bag up/down the stairs. I didn't count but I think there were five or six stairs at each of the stairways.

Second, it's very low clearance at the stairs. i'm 6'1" and I had to duck when using the stairs and most rooms require negotiating at least one flight of these hall stairs.

The hotel is on a slope so I'm guessing that is why they used this stair configuration but it is an awkward choice.

The other item is the huge (and I mean huge) pool atrium. Nearly all the rooms on the same side of the property as the pool have a window that faces the atrium and that would be at least half the rooms. If guests are horsing around in the pool, you will definitely hear them and it could interfere with your sleep. If this matters to you, specify a room on the other side of the property.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    149
    103
    59
    54
See reviews for
272
123
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield Center, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed at the LaQuinta at Williamsburg 11/19 and 11/20. The people were very friendly and the motel rooms were clean and more than adequate although the beds are a little on the small side. Very good breakfast and our grandson enjoyed the pool along with the putting green and shuffleboard. The rate was very good and would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernest W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg VA, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2013

room was decent, but isolated from basic amenities such as convenience stores and restaurants. Had to catch a cab to basically everything. I have stayed in cleaner hotels, breakfast food was luke warm and seemed low quality especially the fruit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Jon Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2013

While the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel was clean, it is in need of some updating. While I did not have the breakfast, some of my colleagues did and said it was good and that it offered warm breakfast items. The pool was nice. It is in close proximity to many attractions in Williamsburg. They welcome dogs and have poop stations set up in two locations for convenience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

spen the night 10/26/2013 while on a weekend trip to Colonial Williamsburg. This hotel is exactly what I expected. Check in was very fast and efficient. Check out was just as good. Front desk personel were polite and quick but not particulalry friendly.

Room.- We booked a room with a King sized bed. Mattress was very firm! Much firmer than we like. It was okay for 1 night but would not like it for any length of time. Mattress comfort is a matter of personel choice so others my be fine with it, just not me. The room was clean and in good shape. The bathroom was what I expect for this price hotel. There was a microwave and a small fridge (Both worked) in the room as well as a hair dryer (Which worked) and an iron and ironing board (which also worked) . We used the microwave but really weren't there long enough to use a fridge as we checked in at about 5:00 pm on Sat night and were checked out by 8:30 the next morning.

Breakfast.- A little disappointed in the breakfast. They had biscuits (Not baked there but out of a package) and country gravy (Cold). Poor. 1 flavor of yogurt which my wife eats but only had 1 flavor which my wife did not like so she skipped it. Toast and english muffins and 1 small pastry available. Poor. 3 cold cereal choices which were poor. Instant Oatmeal avaiable but not really anything to add in like walnuts, granola etc. VERY POOR. They also had the waffles that everyone has, no big deal here.

The hotel was cheap but If I were to stay there again, I would go out to one of the many breakfast restaurants in Willimasburg.

Location-If you're going to Colonial Willamsburg, you can't get much closer. Only about 1 minute away from the visitors center. We ate dinner at Campbells Tavern on Sat night and it took us only 2-3 minutes to get there from the hotel.

My wife and I had taken bikes with us to ride around Williamsburg. The front dest clerk was nice enough to find a storage area for us to use overnight so our bike were secure for the night instead of being left on our car's bike rack out in the parking lot!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

First room had large ( 1 x 1 ft.) plaster finish fallen on rug, floor, counter, sink, plus other poorly done repairs, cracked, and peeling away from ceiling. " Popcorn" finish could have fallen on person sleeping, causing eye or facial damage.


Immediately asked for 2nd room, same problem, but less serious and also showd poor repair.

Pluses: staff was cooperative , helpful and moved us quickly on request. Breakfast room clean and efficient.

Parking better than average and price was reasonable.

But level of interior maintainance is a big red flag

Room Tip: Inspect room before paying
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyomingart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers Point
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel was clean and in a very nice area. We stayed for 3 nights in a very clean room in a relaxing setting. The breakfast was more than adequate with a nice variety. The price was very good and we will be staying again whe we return to Williamsburg in February

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank willie1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
1.8 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Property: MainStay Suites
Address: 814 Capitol Landing Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4325 (Formerly Mayfair Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MainStay Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
La Quinta Inn And Suites Williamsburg
Laquinta Hotel Williamsburg
Holiday Inn Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing