We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice accomodations convenient to Colonial Williamsburg”
Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MainStay Suites
Ranked #61 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Hotel is convenient to historical points as well as restaurants and shopping. Room very comfortable. We requested a quiet room and we were away from the road and it was very quiet, The breakfast buffet was excellent and was far more than a continental breakfast. Would come back if in the area again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
3  Thank raepat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 511 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

The rooms beds are tiny not good if Sharing with kids and the free breakfast had sour waffle batter that seems to have gone bad from being left out to long. But the pool was nice for the kids and in the same parking area is Capitol pancake house Wich is awesome. Close to all attractions and restaurants ... all in all if you don't mind a couple of minor Mis-steps the value is great .. saves tons of money and with kids that can be hard.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eyva0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Williamsburg's economy is centered on tourism and thus there are a wide range of accomodations available here. We were looking for inexpensive rooms and we found them in here. Note we found that it can be hard to find non-smoking rooms at Hotels in Virginia, at least at the lower end of price points. It was explained to us that this is because for lower priced rooms, more people smoke and thus the supply of non-smoking rooms is less in Va. We found this to be true and this forced us to make reservations earlier in the day especially during spring break.

The room was clean though a bit dated in fixtures and decor, again as a function of the price point. The biggest complaint was that the wi-fi did not reach the rooms. The breakfast was also more sparse than usual, ie out of eggs and hot items before the end of the breakfast period.

The staff were helpful with tips as to where to eat and how to get around. I would recommend for a economy stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lrswtsn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great Location. Leaving Colonial Williamsburg, typed in address, and was pleased to realize hotel was 4 minutes away. Conveniently located to everything else we did, too.

Stayed in a room with 2 double beds. Beds and pillows were comfortable. Room was clean and everything worked. Nice sized refrigerator. Microwave/coffee maker. We had a room at the end of the hall -- hot water took a really long time to come in both the sink and shower. Shower never got as hot as I would have liked, but it was warm enough, I guess.

Door stuck a little due to a build up of paint. Halls were very bright and looked like they had been painted recently.

Breakfast was fine. Didn't use indoor pool, but it looked really nice and it was in an open area.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DM R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

So prior to arriving at this location we stayed in a LQ property in Norfolk. New, clean well maintained.

We arrived at this location, the lady behind the front desk was awesome! No complaints on that. Upon our arrival I noticed where thing were a little shady, front end elevator didn't work, not a huge deal since our room was in the back. Ramps in the hallways?? I've stayed at a lot of LQ properties and I've never seen this, these ramps are used to get you from one level of the same floor to the next. Room was in serious need of renovation, as was the bathroom. Windows? We had one window that looked out onto a passageway wall about 5' away and the other was completely blocked off. Not sure if this is fire code approved or not but I'll assume it is. Lots of animals staying at this LQ property,

The size and location of the pool was nice although I found a few ants on my hotel supplied towel. As for the price it seems a little high for the condition of this property, it's relatively close to the attractions but not so close as to justify the elevated cost for the room.

I wouldn't personally recommend this property if you are looking for clean or up-to-date rooms. This one is lacking just a bit.

Room Tip: It's not extremely horrible but if you are looking for something "nice" for the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank rickow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Stephlk524
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We rented a 2 room suite, 2 queen beds and one sleeper sofa. I was so surprised when i sat on the queen bed. It was a memory foam bed. We both have herniated discs and it was so nice to wake up and not be in pain. The sleep sofa unfortunetly did not have memory foam. Oh well teens can sleep on just about anything. We only stayed one night but would go back again just to enjoy the beds. :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank kassimer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
0.8 mi away
Best Western Williamsburg Historic District
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Williamsburg Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Williamsburg
Residence Inn Williamsburg
#41 of 73 in Williamsburg
519 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Historic
Rodeway Inn Historic
#48 of 73 in Williamsburg
95 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#6 of 73 in Williamsburg
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Address: 814 Capitol Landing Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4325 (Formerly Mayfair Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range: $57 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MainStay Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
La Quinta Inn And Suites Williamsburg
Laquinta Hotel Williamsburg
Holiday Inn Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing