We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Williamsburg, Va. LaQuinta”
Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MainStay Suites
Ranked #53 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    148
    103
    58
    49
See reviews for
266
122
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have stayed at this locations several times over the past few years. So convenient to walk into Colonial Williamsburg and Second St. Restaurant. During Grand Illumination parking is a problem in town, this is the perfect solution- Nice breakfast buffet, reasonably clean, comfortable, fair price. Earlier we had stayed at the location as a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VGrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

It was a decent place to stay for the night & money. But like others said the place needs a facelift & a working elevator. It's an awkward setup, we had to go down a few steps & down the hall just to find stairs to go up to the 2nd floor. And the stairs were dirty & dingy! You would think if their elevator was broken that they would clean the stairwell that they were making everyone take. Rooms & breakfast buffet were average. But because the pool is not enclosed you had an overwhelming smell of chlorine while eating your breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dans9066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was an excellent value on the night of January 1, admittedly an "off" time in Williamsburg. Immaculate room in a well-maintained hotel in a perfectly safe area. The included breakfast was significantly better than the usual.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sokolker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Carpets could use some updating, and my windows made me uneasy, seemed easy to break into, (don't know if it's a high crime area or not) but all was quiet and the bed was WONDERFUL, not sure if they added a pillow top mattress pad or what, but it was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in, especially for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My friends from College and I chose Williamsburg, Va as the site for our annual reunion and we selected the La Qunita Inn & Suites for it's excellent value as well as it's central location to all of the major sites in Williamsburg. We arrived around 8:00pm after traveling from Eastern North Carolina and checked in quickly. The lobby was very inviting and the staff were eager to assist us. As we walked down the hall, however, it was obvious that their were things that needed to be addressed from paint chipping on the walls and splinted doors to the rooms. At one point, we had to travel down several awkward "ramps" which can cause you to lose your footing if you aren't paying attention. Our "Guys" suite was clean, everything worked well and easily slept 5 of us. Upon closer inspection, we began to notice some of the same issues that were present in the hallway, including the cracked tiles in the bathroom and broken seals around the bathtub/shower. The breakfast area is in the same space as the swimming pool and at certain parts of the day during the summer, the heat can be UNBEARABLE! We had a great weekend at this location, but I feel that this property needs a face lift.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelSnob3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#35 of 74 in Williamsburg
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Property: MainStay Suites
Address: 814 Capitol Landing Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4325 (Formerly Mayfair Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MainStay Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Williamsburg
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Laquinta Hotel Williamsburg
Holiday Inn Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing